We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
$83
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$171
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$58
$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$68
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,262)
Filter reviews
7,262 results
Traveler rating
5,914
1,008
241
62
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,914
1,008
241
62
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera wingbamboo barold wingbomb sheltermacaroonsspices gardenbunker tourle beaulieuchocolate buffetjoan baezgrand premium roomvietnam warbutler servicehistorical hotelvietnamese restaurantfrench colonial styleclub floor
Filter
Updating list...
3,494 - 3,499 of 7,262 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I was surprised that rooms in the new wing are so small there is no space for a separate shower. However, the staff were very good throughout and the city tour in the hotel's 1950's Citroen was a memorable experience, as was the iced cappuccino at the Bamboo Bar after a 'hard day' sight-seeing!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Christo8,

thank you very much for your great feedback!

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding levels of service throughout your stay. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Really nice architecture inside and outside the hotel. Amazing rooms. Great service and excellent buffet breakfast. Very well located close to the Opera House, the Hoam Kiem lake and good restaurants around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikeuribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Kikeuribe,

Thank you for pointing out your very satisfactory stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole in your positive feedback.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were looking forward to our stay as we'd been recommended by a number of people. Disappointed in terms of service as despite highlighting their check in process of a welcome drink and cold towel we checked in on 2 separate occasions and this did not happen. Both times my partner and I were asked if we wanted separate beds and the second separate rooms! It's 2014 and the one thing a French hotel should be good at is discretion! The rooms are very small and despite asking for the old wing for at least one (of 5 nights stay in total) we were told this was not possible. The rooms have one complementary tea bag (between 2) and no milk. We asked to change some money and were told we'd have to wait 3 hours and only when we pushed were we told we could go to the 2nd reception to get it changed. Watch out for charges as well - they seem to add a service charge to every drink even in the bars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Lorraine B,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.
I am truly sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused during your last stay with us. As a matter of fact, the points mentioned in your comment do not reflect our normal standards of service. I willl hence address them to the team in order to avoid any future occurrence.

I trust that the meeting with the hotel duty manager at your departure went well and rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration.
I hope you will give us the opportunity to prove you our high level of service upon a future stay.
Thank you and Best regards,
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Arrived from airport by hotel car. Fantastic. We had booked non smoking club rooms so on arrival had in room check in with our Butler. He was welcoming and eager to make our stay an event. Club lounge magnificent with an afternoon tea to die for and cocktail hours to delight the senses.
Our room is fantastic. Everything you need is present and if it is not dial 4 for your butler and he will ensure that all is as it should be. Food fantastic, staff amazing and we are both enjoying ourselves to the maximum. Like a home away from home, except we don't have a butler at home. Do try this!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PerthBob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Perthbob123,

I am extremely pleased to hear that your stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole made you feel Hanoi like home. Thank you for pointing this out in your feedback.

I also thank you for mentioning our great food and service. These are main signature elements of Metropole Hanoi.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is crazy stylish and most amazing hotel in HanOi. Service is top notch. Rooms are spacious, cozy, well equipped and extremely stylish! I couldnt have imagined such a hotel could stand in the middle of HanOi... location is good, just on the side of all bustling and noise but near enough to walk to Old Quarter. Food at French restaurant was fine but not the best and at Club had really nice club sandwich! Be prepared to splash $ around as it isnt cheapest place to stay or eat but all worth it! Perfect addition to our 2 week vacation..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarunasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Sarunas,

I am grateful to you for pointing out with so much praise our high standards of service.

I am glad to hear that you have so much enjoyed our guest room, location and food at the Club bar of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews