We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,338)
Filter reviews
7,338 results
Traveler rating
5,984
1,013
242
62
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,984
1,013
242
62
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera wingbamboo barold wingbomb sheltermacaroonsspices gardenbunker tourle beaulieuchocolate buffetjoan baezgrand premium roombutler servicehistorical hotelvietnam warvietnamese restaurantclub floorclassic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,620 - 3,625 of 7,338 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We quite liked the hotel, although it does have the feel of a large chain hotel. However, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was very nice. If you don't want a great little character hotel, this is for you. We hadn't realised until too late that there is a tour of the basement which was used as a bunker during the war. This is something to look out for if you are staying here - I expect it's very interesting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Germar60,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our guest room and the breakfast.

We are happy to show you our bunker tour and the path of history of Metropole Hanoi at your next visit to the hotel. Infact we are very proud of our historians in the hotel and the history tour we established for our hotel guests.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

- Rooms are well appointed and clean.
- Staff is very friendly.
- Courtyard is a great place to relax after visiting the busy streets of Hanoi.
- Our room had a courtyard view which was quiet.
- Check-in and check-out was speedy and efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelstyle060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Travelstyle060,

It is such a delight to read our guests' satisfaction. I thank you for your kind words regarding our high level of services as well as the helpful and attentive staff. We love to indulge all of our customers!

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Legend Metropole upon your next stay in Hanoi.

The managemen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived late in the evening to be told that the restaurant would be closed at 10.30, but we could get a snack in the bar. We qickly checked into our room and changed to find the bar quite full,but managed an expensive ( but good) club sandwich (£10), and retired. Having paid for a superior 'De Luxe' room, on waking in the morning, I had expected at least some sort of view from my bedroom window. The windows could not be opened, and there was a wall within 2 meters. We couldn't even see the sky !
I asked to see the manager to complain, and he did offer to change the room, but we were on a tight sightseeing schedule, and couldn't do so straight away. i explained that in my opinion, a 'de luxe room' for which were paying a premium was not just about the square footage, but the whole experience - which includes some view from the window. Room 107 should not be classed as 'De Luxe' which we had paid for.
Regrettably, my wife then became quite ill that afternoon, so changing rooms later was not our priority. i did suggest that perhaps the evening sandwiches might compensate, but the manager thought a bowl of fruit was sufficient compensation !!!!
Needless to say, i cannot share other reviewers enthusiasm, and am very disapointed with both the customer service and experience of this hotel.

Room Tip: do not choose room 107
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank will c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment regarding our Luxury room and the view you had during your recent stay with us.

Please be assured we attempt to assist with all our guests special requests, and in this case we understood your key request was a quiet area of the hotel, which we provided.

With respect to the correlation mentioned of Luxury with views, within our property we do not sell accommodation on views, as the hotel and its layout does not have view rooms. The Luxury and Grand Luxury categories relate to the historical nature of the Metropole Wing and its 110 plus years of existence and our efforts to provide a connection with the past.

The request from any of our guests for compensation is one that we always take seriously, and in this case the fruit selection extended from my team was an offer of good faith.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hanoi soon.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel has two wings... the old which is lovely and colonial in style and the newer wing which is art deco in style. I stayed in the old wing and it felt very grand.. like an old country home. The swimming pool is a great place to relax after sightseeing and you can even explore an old war bunker which was found below the hotel. had a great breakfast and the staff were all very friendly.
had a great buffet lunch in the vietnamese restauratn... this is a must as you will get to try a variety of specialities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Louise 353,

Thanks for your recent post on Trip Advsior, we work hard at continually trying to improve our service to our guests and feedback like yours is a terrific tool for us.

I loved to hear you enjoyed breakfast and great buffet lunch in Spices Garden. A great breakfast is critical in hotels and the team work hard to bring that to life.

We look forward to welcome you back.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The most historic hotel in Hanoi has its own history trail that leads from the lobby down to the bunker where Joan Baez sang folk songs in 1972 while the bombs dropped. The old wing reeks of the twenties and thirties and the end of French Colonialism. Brilliantly located within easy walking distance of the old city and the central lake but just a little bit away from the madness. Three excellent restaurants ( the italian is particularly good) and attentive, polite and uncynical staff complete the deal. It is expensive though but you get what you pay for here which is more than you can say for a lot of so called heritage hotels around the world.

Room Tip: Try and get in the old wing, and confirm it!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Joh G,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed the services and long history of the hotel.

And alot of our guests shared your same view that you get for what you pay at the Metropole Hanoi and really good value for money.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews