We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #40 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Chestnut Hill
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just before you go inside there are two old Citroen Traction-Avant sedans from the 1950s. Theye give a clue to the French-Colonial ambience which still remains here, ever with the large addition. The hotel is near the opera and many elegant shoe and watch stores, which seems a bit strange in the city of Ho Chi Minh. But we found the rest of Vietnam to be a bit of a paradox-what would Ho say? The hotel has wonderful dining facilities, newspaper racks a la Paris where one can linger over coffee and a good croissant. Our room was large, quiet, luxurious and had all the amenities one would expect in a famous establishment. The staff were always helpful and gave us suggestions and directions. It is an expensive place but well worth the experience. It made me want to wear a white linen suit and listen to
a vintage phonograph playing Django Reinhardt.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Lewis S,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our staff customer service skill and the wonderful dining facilities but most of all, it a pleasure to read that you felt everything at our hotel is exceptional and luxury. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

The management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,065
    898
    215
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,112
3,161
286
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
236 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you are into colonial internal decor, you may like this hotel. I didn't. For the price, I would have preferred a luxurious hotel instead of paying for the decor. The rooms were not really large, and my room had lights that were flickering.

The gym was quite big and well equipped, but the swimming pool was squarish and not suitable for lap swimming. Service was quite good and the staff mostly had a reasonable command of English, so communications wasn't a big issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goomba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Groomba81,

I am truly grateful for your feedback and thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi in Tripadvisor.

I regret that you have issue with light flickering in your guest room. I am sorry for this inconvenience caused and will have my team follow up on this.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in the new/opera wing of the hotel and it was definitely an oasis from the craziness of the streets of Hanoi. We loved the outdoor courtyard around the pool area... there were blankets and pillows on the sofas which added to the cozy atmosphere. The rooms were al little smaller than we would have liked but the hotels other amenities made up for that.

The concierge and general level of attentive service in the old part of the hotel seemed to be better than the newer wing but other than that I'd stay here again in a heartbeat but might try the historical wing next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpandi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear bpandi1,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your feedback and special mention of our excellent courtyard around the pool area and the guest room amenities.

We are also delighted that you enjoy the hotel oasis of calm and thank you for sharing your experience to other TripAdvisor surfers.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a Viking River Cruise and our stay in Hanoi at the Sofitel Legend Metropole was amazing! We have traveled all over the world and truly appreciate a hotel that makes you feel as if you are in a fairy tale. I am a true romantic so this hotel fit me perfectly. Just to mention a few of the many outstanding features: the welcoming smiles of everyone was wonderful, the room was immaculate and overlooked the courtyard with the beautiful red paper lanterns and little white lights decorating everything for the Lunar New Year which was on January 31st. We stayed on the 28th and 30th.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding with all the lovely items. We had a light dinner at the hotel one evening with a grilled panini of ham and cheese with fries and salad. Really lovely.
My main reason for writing this review is to let anyone who stays at the Metropole know about their MAGNIFICENT concierge, Nguyen Trong Tuan. He goes by Mr. Tuan. I have never experienced such a knowledgeable and caring concierge! We were at the hotel for only two days, but Mr. Tuan, suggested and helped us arrange experiences that made our stay just perfect. He suggested a restaurant where we could get some western food at reasonable prices. We had eaten Asian food for 3 weeks, which was very good, but we were ready to taste things a little more familiar to our palates. He suggested Restaurant 1911 which was very close to the hotel and had fabulous dishes, reasonable prices, and excellent service. In fact, we ate there twice. Mr Tuan also arranged for us to see the Water Puppet Show and he even obtained front row seats for us. And, of course all we did was mention a taxi and it was instantly at our service. Everything we asked of him, he did to the highest degree and always with sincere pleasure to help us. We wish we could put him in every hotel that we visit. He is the BEST!!! The Hotel Metropole should be very, very proud to have such an amazing concierge working for them. Again, Hats off to Mr Tuan!!! Great Job!!!
Gherry Gustafson - Carrollton, Georgia, USA

Room Tip: We stayed in room 289. It was quiet, overlooked the beautiful courtyard, kingsize bed, and all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leland55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Leland55,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at the Legend Metropole and enjoyed our location in the very center of Hanoi. We are glad you really appreciated the advice of our concierge Tuan for the restaurant, Water Puppet Show and Shops outside the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon, on your next visit.
Sincerely,

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here on two separate occasions and stayed in the more modern wing of the hotel. I loved the art deco / colonial décor my husband hated it - migraine wallpaper !!! Anyway the rooms were beautiful, the twin was much larger than the double but both had plenty of space and were bright, spotlessly clean and little quirks which made each unique.

The pool although small was nicely presented and the bar next to it was wonderful. I loved the hot cider and hibiscus tea and the cosy rugs for later in evening when the temps dropped. Our first stay was a Saturday night and the place was buzzing. Unfortunately this meant finding somewhere to eat in the hotel was challenging, we weren't given any warning of this and frankly if I'm paying to stay I expect to be able to eat there where I want. On our second stay it was mid week and we were so tired after the drive back from Halong we simply had a bar snack so no issues there. We found the bar in the old wing was excellent for a more casual lunch / dinner.

We had breakfast in the Vietnamese restaurant and it was lovely plenty of selection.

I thought the service was lovely my husband thought it was a bit 'pretentious' you can't please everyone I guess !!!

Location wise we thought it was excellent being only a 20min walk from the old town, 10 min (if you don't get lost) from the lake and turtle pagoda.

I think I would best describe it as the Raffles of Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Gingercat_2000,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your feedback and special mention of the hotel nice design, location and quality of breakfast.

Our restaurants close at quarter to 11.00pm but you can order food in our Club bar or Angelina bar until midnight or Room service at any time of the day. I regret that this information is not communicated to you and I am sorry about that.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

At this price, you would expect much better rooms.
The standard room in the Opera Wing (the "modern" one) is small for this category of hotel, with a shower which is not seperated from the bathtube and toilets that are also directly located in the bathroom. And seriously, who though about adding a mirror in front of the toilets?
Looked at from the streets the hotel looks beautiful. However, the new wing (Opera) looks like a strange addition viewed from the garden, same for the access to the Spa and the verranda restaurant. It seems, Sofitel tried to add too many new rooms and facilities to the original hotel.
The inside of the Spa is beautiful. Access to sauna and steam room is for Spa customers only.
On the positive side, the hotel offers a good international and local breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful (not something unique to this hotel in Vietnam though)
Lots of the magic is gone but you can still feel a little bit of the old time athmosphere there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slecombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Slecombre,

Thanks for your recent post on Trip Advsior, we work hard at continually trying to improve our service to our guests and feedback like yours is a terrific tool for us.

I am pleased we were able to get you a room that was to your liking and loved to hear you enjoyed room service and breakfast. A great breakfast is critical in hotels and the team work hard to bring that to life.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Sofitel Metropole is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful position in Hanoi.
The hotel has not lost any of its old world charm,even though it has every modern amenity.
We were on the Club floor. and had a marvellous suite.
The service is quite exceptional, and one feels pampered as soon as you arrive at the airport and get into the hotel car. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Thank you to all concerned. We look forward to being back there in December

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear MelanieM,

Thank you for so much praise in your magnifique feedback. Indeed we try our utmost to satisfy all guests requests and even beyond their expectations.

I thank you also for pointing out our highest standards of service throughout the hotel.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back in December.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 586 in Hanoi
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 586 in Hanoi
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing