We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel full of character and history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #42 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel full of character and history”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are going to Hanoi, this is the hotel to stay in. The Metropole, a fantastic French colonial building right in the middle of the City. 5 minutes walk from the Old Quarter and close to Opera House. Beautifully appointed rooms, full of character. A history tour, including the war bunkers. Lovely food and attentive service without being overbearing. There are two wings, we stayed in the older wing, but had a look at the Opera wing too and it looked lovely.

Room Tip: An internal facing room is probably quieter as there is a busy road on either side where the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Karen Puae,

You have covered all of our assets: full of character, beautiful appointed room, history and high standards of service. Thank you so much for emphasizing on those points.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,105
    906
    216
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,127
3,185
286
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed a night at Sofitel Metropole.
My first impression was the atmospere and the location. the location is convenience to walk to the old quarter. moreover, there are many restaurants and shopping store around.
I love all cakes and macaroons which bought at the store near the lobby.
The room was also very nice with a comfortable bed.
Good turndown service.
the cafe outside was also very nice, sitting there and enjoy a drink was a good way to relax after working hours.
I'd love to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear MyB,

I thank you for such excellent a feedback! We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. It is therefore a great satisfaction for us to hear that you have had such a wonderful time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in our centrally located hotel.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

at the Legend Metropole!! We loved this place, we stayed for three nights as part of our honeymoon. At check in they gave me a bunch of red roses and upgraded us to a beautiful room in the metropole wing. There a wonderful hand written card, more roses and a box of chocolates were waiting for us, it was amazing. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable! The staff at this hotel was very professional and extremely helpful and friendly. We loved the bamboo bar, and tried the restaurant spices garden which serves some very delicious Vietnamese food. We also did the hotel bunker tour which was very interesting. This hotel is a landmark!! Thank you legend metropole for treating us so special for our special occasion, we had a wonderful time!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hase1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Hase1,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure for us to hear satisfied guests as we genuinely love to look after them. We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My first impression from this hotel was far from great. I arrived in a shuttle from the Halong Bay cruise together with other people and even though we told the check in staff many times we weren't a party they still treated us as one group. When they finally got that we were individual parties they took really long time to check me in, and we walked between the new and old wings two times. I had a reservation for a room in the new wing, but was upgraded to the old wing. The room was really nice and the cleanliness and service level of the hotel was stunning. If you stay here for long, do the history walking tour where they take you to the bomb shelters of the hotel (featured on BBC World News)

Room Tip: Book the old wing for the genuine touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Hagander,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We sincerely regret the issue that you had during check-in with group guest. This is not typical of our standards of service, and we regret the inconvenience that it caused you. Please rest assured that we have addressed this issue with team to avoid it from happening in the future.

We hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

It was a neat experience, with all the bonjour, bonsoir and neat French breakfast. We stayed in the Metropole wing and had a room facing the wall :( it felt like I am visiting my grandparent's house. They moved us the next day to the street side it was different with all the beeping noise from the street early in the morning. My wife liked the second, I would have rather stayed in the first. Heard there are much nicer rooms facing the garden but I guess we were not that lucky. We enjoyed the most the restaurants they were fabulous but as if the room I would give it a 4 star in respect to all the history... We stayed in the old quarter after we returned from Halong bay for the fraction of the price and funny enough we enjoyed it much better. So my advise stay here 1 night in your lifetime for the experience and only once.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear World_traveler_MA,

Please allow me to thank you for your kind words following your stay at our hotel and I felt very proud of all staff members when reading your message.

Hence the team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only, arrived late and left early again but that was enough time to realize that this place is run properly. The reception staff was knowledgeable, efficient and was pro-active enough to understand quickly that I wasn't looking for that typical stereotype Sofitel treatment but a more casual approach. The cocktails created in the bar were amazing, they made a big show out of it and they tasted great! Room is comfortable, amenities well presented and requests were followed up on swiftly. 1 point for improvement though; the breakfast is certainly not the best I have had ... limited selection available, very Western.....could do better
all in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Gonzalez 17,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our staff and on the restaurant, but most of all, it a pleasure to read that you felt valued, happy and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

Kind Regards,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 588 in Hanoi
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#14 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing