We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm in a bustling city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #43 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Netanya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old world charm in a bustling city”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Metropole is a wonderful gem with a great location. We stayed in a renovated room with access to the executive club. We had a butler available to us all day and the service was incredible. Our butler outlined walking tours for us, restaurants and knew us by name when he saw us. The club lounge is superb with a wonderful cocktail hour and beautifully presented food. The rooms were well appointed and the bathtub stunning. The Spice Garden restaurant was a real treat as was the Bamboo Garden poolside restaurant. The staff was very accommodating and even came around with small ice creams cones as we sat at the pool. Beautiful grounds, a real oasis in an otherwise bustling city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoshiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Shoshiw,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed Club Floor and our butler services. It is one of the favourite spaces in the hotel according to our guest and agree superb with a wonderful cocktail hour and beautifully presented food.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you,

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,138
    911
    219
    55
    32
See reviews for
1,146
3,196
287
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Sofitel Legend Metropol is the perfect location for exploring the historic old part of Hanoi by foot.
The best part of this hotel is the breakfast as this is probably one of the best in Asia. Book your room with breakfast ! Besides offering a small pool, Bamboo Bar and a very good Vietnamese restaurant, there is also french cuisine fine dining available. Whatever your choice, the food is extremely good. The fitness center is a bit small for such 5 star hotel but daily routine exercise can be achieved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquarius1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Aquarius 1962,

I thank you for your praise regarding the high level of service provided by the whole team at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

I am very pleased to read that you have had a "fantastic breakfast" as we proud ourselves in using only the freshiest products on the market.

We look forward to your next visit.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hochiminh
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to celebrate our birthday on September. It was the wonderful moment for my family. Everything is perfect , the rooms are beautiful, very efficience and perfectly clean. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. We especially love the tour to Bomb shelter of the hotel . It was very impressive and interesting to us! It seems bring us back to the old time ... We were extremely moved when we listened to the scream and crying of the poor war victims at that moment.
Cannot say anything but excellent and a good choice for us !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhatanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear NhatAnh,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our guest room and the breakfast.

We are happy that you enjoy the bomb shelter tour. Infact we are very proud of our historians in the hotel and the history tour we established for our hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visited this hotel when I was on a business trip in February. Everything about this was spectacular. The rooms, the surrounding, the staff, the service.

I can highly recommend the afternoon tea. So much choice, traditional sandwiches and cakes, plus a few surprising extras with the chocolate fountain!

As I had an early flight to the airport, they arranged for a car to take me to the airport. Inside awaiting me was a steaming hot cup of coffee and a bag with warm pastries in - now thats what I call service!

Room Tip: They are all good - but ask for the old section
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lilithlondon,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure for us to hear satisfied guests as we genuinely love to look after them. We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sofitel Legend Metropol in Hanoi. We upgraded to an Executive Room in the Opera Wing which was fine and were delighted in the facilities. Staff are friendly and being a member of Le Club meant that we could access the facilities on the 7th floor, which included a happy hour (and free cocktails) from 5:30-7:30 each evening. My only complaint would be that there was a smell emanating from the bathroom much of the time - there were some problems with drainage. The hotel are upgrading their facilities and this might be part of the issue but it does need to be addressed.

Room Tip: Think about joining Le Club Accor prior to booking with the Sofitel - gets you access to the extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 237nikkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear 237nikkid,

I thank you for such excellent a feedback! We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. It is therefore a great satisfaction for us to hear that you have had such a wonderful time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in our centrally located hotel.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The refurbished Metropole is able to retain its' premier status among the special hotels of Asia. This historic property has expanded and retained and in some ways improved the facilities offered. The Bamboo Bar area is gorgeous and open to the pool. The rooms, while small by American standards, are exquisitely appointed and cared for. Hotel now offers tours for guests through the bomb shelters they found underneath the hotel while doing the rennovation. Four takes 45-55 minutes and is a fascinating journey through history-don't miss if you are staying there. The french restaurant in property is exquisite and the Spice Garden where the breakfast and other lighter dining are quite good. Angelina, the Italian Restaurant, also got good reviews but in Asia I do not look for Italian food! Service is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sally R,

Thank you for your detailed, very personal feedback.

I was extremely pleased to read the summary of your comment in such words of praise. We genuinely put a lot into exceeding our guests expectations and I am truly glad to hear that we have achieved our aim with you.

Thank you for recommending us so well.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in Metropole 3 times so far. Can't complain about anything. The service was great, the room is elegant (small but with that perfect location, who complains), I love the pool area so much with all the restaurants around. It's the perfect place for afternoon tea in the whole Vietnam. The only thing that was just average is the food. The a la carte menu was so much better than the buffet and the Western buffet was much better than the Vietnamese. But still, I love the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Haiven,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 591 in Hanoi
2,189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing