We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best hotel I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #45 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best of the best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stay at this hotel for 3 nights and couldn’t complain about anything. Everything was fabulous. You leave the bustling city behind you once you walk through the door to the hotel. I love the little lovely pool and the garden area- we actually were lucky enough to have a room overlooking this.
The staff is friendly and efficient. Wow, they even remembered my name (because I checked in too late!?) so whenever they saw me, they smiled and say hello with my name
The thing that surprised me is that they are ranked No.19 on Trip advisor. Can’t believe it is so low.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingos_battle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

It was an honor that we had the possibility to make your stay extra special and we all hope to welcoming you back soon.

We receive on numerous occassions the same feeedback that we should be number 1 hotel in Hanoi and infact we rank number 1 as luxury and business hotel in Hanoi in Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,145
    913
    220
    55
    32
See reviews for
1,150
3,199
287
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,332)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is classic and elegant. It reminds me of Hotel Peninsula in Hong Kong. We stayed 4 nights at the Opera Wing.,Club floor. We had breakfast and evening cocktails everyday at the Club Lounge which was sophisticated and impressive, food and drinks quality is very good. Head Butler and Supervisor of the lounge is very friendly and helpful and professional. Gym is good size with good equipment but pool is a bit small. This is a hotel that we would love to come back again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms that is not facing the busy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Celine T,

Thank you for your kind feedback.Our guests's satisfaction is always inspiring.

Our hotel decoration yet ambiance are greatly enjoyed by our guests and we are happy that the service of our team have enchanted you .

Thank you and look forward to your next visit to the Legendary Metropole Hanoi.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in this magnificent hotel for two nights in September. It was a a great experience.
The Metropole is steeped in history as it is one of the oldest hotels in Hanoi. Walking around the hotel you can feel the history.
Staying there is amazing. The rooms are wonderful with such style and the beds very comfortable.
The service is more than first class.
The breakfast buffets were very good.
An essential experience is to have a Charlie Chaplin Cocktail in the Bamboo Bar - quiet wonderful.
If you want style and class the Metropole is the place to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ghwill,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such as enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are glad you consider Metropole as the Place to Stay in Hanoi and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and all the facilities we are offering as well as the historical features of the hotel.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the hotel.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was absolutely marvelous - it is well maintained and the history makes it that much more interesting. One of the most interesting parts was the tour of the bomb shelter that was used for the hotel patrons during the Vietnam War - this was incredibly interesting and offered for free by the hotel - sign up when you get there, though, because there are limited spots. There are so many influential people who have stayed here and it's great to hear about that during the tour, too. The rooms were adorable and the bathrooms were very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable - we got a very good night sleep! The food at the restaurant was great and the breakfast had everything you could possibly desire and more. They also recommended a great local spot for us to grab some Vietnamese food - the staff were very helpful. We loved every second of our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesToTravel327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear lovestotravel327,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our guest room and the food served in the restaurant.

We are happy that you enjoy the bomb shelter tour. Infact we are very proud of our historians in the hotel and the history tour we established for our hotel guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I’ve stayed in the Historic Wing a few times - however this was my first stay in the Opera Wing.
We had a few hiccups on arrival however the issues were handled diplomatically & promptly.
We had a great stay enjoying the complimentary afternoon tea & evening cocktails ( extensive drink list) most days. The Club Lounge also serves breakfast, has a comfortable lounge, library and apple computers.
What makes the Club Floor a standout though are the Butlers - they helped us unpack, pack, organised sim cards, found specific items in shops ( make a query and there would be a printout of what I wanted along with address & map on my desk within an hour) we were delivered a surprise coffee one morning because they knew we were leaving early and came to help pack, made appointments, organised taxis, tours etc, monitored our return and were waiting on steps of hotel... all done with such a respectful & friendly manner. Although staying on the Club Floor would be a smart choice for anyone - I would definitely recommend it for guests staying on their own, or for first timers to Hanoi.
I would like to acknowledge too the honesty of the staff - I left behind a wallet with a large amount of cash at breakfast one morning. Although we had checked out to go on a tour - within half an hour of our departure a butler had tracked us down and was on the phone to the guide to say it was secure before I even knew it was lost.
Whilst the breakfasts were enjoyable we didn't eat much else in the Hotel - what I had I found disappointing.
Book a historic bunker tour (for guests only) it is very informative and a moving experience.
Save your feet shopping - the hotel’s Boutique is a very good source of lovely well priced pieces of lacquer, jewellery or Metropole memorabilia etc for yourself or gifts - then let them pack it well for travel and send it to your room.
Finally give yourself a treat and have at least one pampering experience at the Spa... the whole experience is exquisite.

Room Tip: Choose Club Floor Opera Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Flyingstars,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and share your experience following your stay with us.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer like our Club Floor and the Spa.

It seems that your arrival experience was not as smooth as it should be. Could you please let us know some details at h1555-gm3@sofitel.com so we could check and follow up with our team?

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lijiang, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for only on night and it was truly a great experience.

A gorgeous hotel steeped in history as it was once of the oldest in Hanoi, it has housed all sorts of personalities across the years, just looking at the history of the hotel is quite an experience.

But besides that staying there is amazing, great, comfortable rooms, first class service, mind blowing breakfast buffet, and we had a chance to visit the Le Club bar and it was great, perfect martinis and jazz, what else can you ask for?.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear David R,

You have sum up all of our key assets and I thank you for such great a feedback. I am truly glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience with us. I look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Legend Series of Sofitel are amazing.
The Hanoi Metropole is a historic hotel in a fabulous area of the city.
We had a wonderful and luxurious stay with fabulous service - a thoughtful gift for my wife's birthday
The Chocolate Buffet is an awesome must try
As is the Legend Hotel Tour

Room Tip: Select a Legend Suite! Don't Miss the Hotel Tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Quais,

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi during your recent trip to our city.

It was a real delight that you have enjoyed the Chocolate Buffet and Path of History Tour. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 592 in Hanoi
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 592 in Hanoi
2,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#17 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing