We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A lovely hotel and part of the sights, sounds and history of Hanoi. We stayed for three nights on our honeymoon. Room was nice and the service in the various bars and restaurants was excellent. After a busy day around Hanoi it was fantastic to relax with a cocktail around the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dowks120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Dowks 120,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay at The Legend here on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that our hotel facilities and Ambassadors were able to turn your honeymoon into a legendary moment.

We are looking forward to making any future visit you wish to make to Hanoi again worthy to remember.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,403 - 3,409 of 6,617 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel exudes a time travel effect. It's very location in the heart of the colonial district is understated elegance at it's peak. Loved the ambience of Le Bar especially in the evening and Le Beaulieu for breakfast is unbeatable! Within walking distance of the hectic Old Quarter and serene Hoan Kiem Lake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Shernhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure for us to hear satisfied guests as we genuinely love to look after them. We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is not just a hotel steeped in history, it is a hospitality institution. Incomparable, no wonder it is a hotel of choice for the art and government elites of the world. Location next to the Opera and dont miss the jazz nights. Breakfast was excellent and I got an upgrate as a preferred accor member.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing this wonderful review regarding your stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is an absolute honour to read your lovely words about my team.

We are very proud to have loyal guests just like you who are always enjoying their stay and who are looking forward to their return to hotel.

The entire team looks forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank apollora
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I chose to spend our first night in Vietnam on our honeymoon at the Metropole. Family had visited earlier in the year and highly recommended the hotel.

We had not spent a lot of time researching the hotel since it came so highly recommended by people we know and on tripadvisor. But from the moment we arrived any expectations I had were completely surpassed.

The old world charm of the building, and the welcoming service from the staff set the scene for what was a very memorable but too short one night stay.

We had an upgrade to the historical wing, which was much appreciated and a very nice surprise. Even though it seemed there was some kind of works (floor drying of some kind) happening in the vicinity of our room it caused no problems for us.

The room was beautiful and provided a real sense of the history of the establishment and also of Hanoi itself.

But what really set this place apart was the service as is often the case. Friendly, attentive and very informative whenever we had questions, what a great team !

We sampled as many of the facilities as our time allowed. The bamboo bar was a perfect setting by the pool and made some great cocktails for us, and we had dinner at the spice garden restaurant. What a great experience. The food and bev manager stopped by for a friendly conversation and when he found we were on our honeymoon arranged some special treats for us as well as good recommendations on wine to accompany our meal.

After this we spent time in the main inside bar (near reception) for a wine/whiskey to finish the night, luckily we were there on the night of the live jazz performance. Atmosphere was excellent.

I also managed to find some time to visit the fitness center which was well equipped and a great spot to work off the jetlag from the journey.

This hotel has a very interesting history which adds to the experience. We wish we had been able to join a tour of the bomb shelter but we were on a tight schedule.

Thanks for a great stay - an experience we will remember in the years to come.

Room Tip: historic wing adds a different dimension to the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavePerske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Daveperske,

We were enchanted to welcoming you for your honeymoon. This is such a special occasion that we had to pamper both of you all the way!

We were extremely proud to hear about our high level of services and we thank you for mentioning it in your feedback.

We look forward to your next stay.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Vietnam is a country of contrasts, supposedly Communist, yet capitalist under the skin, so that in spite of the history of resistance to French colonialism, and then the US involvement in SE Asia, one shouldn't be surprised at finding a superb, luxurious, still predominantly French hotel in the capital city. We arrived here from the Tanglin Club in Singapore, but were still impressed by every aspect of the hotel. Yes, it's expensive, but you get what you pay for at this level. We were there during the Tet holiday, so most nearby restaurants were closed, but given the spread of options within the Sofitel, from the Bamboo Bar upwards, we were still very happy with what we experienced. The decoration of the hotel with lights for Christmas and Tet was magical. The staff were all incredibly helpful and both rooms (as we went to Halong Bay and then back to Hanoi) were quite excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Sarum_Castle,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently stayed here for our 1st holiday in Vietnam. We have previously stayed in 5 star hotels in London Paris and Rome and I can say without a doubt the service here was just the best we have ever experienced in any hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jersybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Jersybull,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We are rated as number 1 best business hotel and luxury hotel in Hanoi (if you go to hotels in the same page) and alot of other guests are also very surprised that we only rank this high in Tripadvisor.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 599 in Hanoi
2,338 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#43 of 599 in Hanoi
793 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#80 of 599 in Hanoi
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $235 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing