We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #39 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
armenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A wonderful ambience complimented by attentive staff. It has everything you could want. Great location. Wonderful pool, rooms are really special in the old wing and nothing is too hard. It was an anniversary trip for us and I was met with red roses and a heart box of chocolates. Just do it......

Room Tip: STay in the old wing......it adds to old Hanoi.....take your togs.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyArmenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Missy Armenia,

We would like to thank you for sharing this wonderful review regarding your stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi . It is an absolute pleasure to read your lovely words about great location, pool, guest room and our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,014
    888
    215
    55
    30
See reviews for
1,102
3,133
281
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before our 3 week holiday in Vietnam, and what a great start to our trip. Thinking we would check out Hanoi during our stay, well we were wrong, couldn't leave the Hotel there was no need! Great variety of restaurants to eat, Vietnamese, Italian, French and the others a mix of these, fantastic gym, pool service, and breakfast was great at both breakfast locations.
We chilled by the pool the full day we had there, our daughter was happy playing in the pool, while we were there we had free ice-cream in cones twice, fruit, cold towels and a drinks bought to us. We had our lunch by the pool, and all this came with great service.
We tried most of the restaurants all had great food including La Braserie, Angelina (Italian), and Spice Garden (Vietnamese), yes more pricey for Vietnam but saying that it is worth the treat in such a beautiful Hotel.
Our room was lovely in the Opera Wing, quiet and we were facing the street, great amenities, size of room was small but adequate for our stay, and the bed was amazing.
Sofitel Legend Metropole is a charming place to stay, it exceeded all our expectations and we would definitely return, no complaints for us, and all staff were great during our stay.

Room Tip: Opera wing was great, King bed good size if a child needs to share bed with you. We looked at a twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Alyson H,

I am grateful to you for your compliments following your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

I am glad to hear that you have so much enjoyed our great services and delicious food serving in all our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The French colonial charm dominated the hotel interior and exterior. When you're in the hotel and its surrounding you just feel that you're not in crowded Hanoi. The room is big, clean, and the hotel smells very nice every where. The staff is very friendly and serve you like a king. You could leep well cause the bed was so comfort. Even, the cleaning service always tidy up your room everytime you're not in the room. You're just surprised when you got back to your room and find out everything just clean again!!

Room Tip: Every room is a grat choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lahmazani Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Lahmazani Y,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the housekeeping staff on their high standard of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice rooms, lovely staff, good location, good value for money, smells amazing throughout the hotel. Pool area is nice and staff lovely but quite small so you may have to wait for sun loungers at busy times. Good gym. Italian restaurant in hotel is expensive but ok, I would venture out to surrounding restaurants- there are lovely ones very close to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orwell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Orwell1,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our location and services. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel exudes French colonial charm, decades after the end of French presence in Vietnam. It consist of a city block in which two renowned establishments of the old days have been joined back-to-back, forming a lush tropical inner courtyard which contains a restaurant, the swimming pool and a bar. It is a quiet oasis in noisy downtown Hanoi. The rooms are relatively small, well appointed and resemble four-star hotel rooms in Paris. Except for the rather inconvenient bathtub/ shower combination, the bathrooms are quite nice. The lobby and the picture-lined hallways are the centerpiece of the hotel' s elegant colonial ambience. There is a lot of staff everywhere who are very friendly and helpful . The 3 restaurants offer a wide variety of dishes of decent but not outstanding quality, but they are rather expensive compared to other upscale restaurants in the same vicinity of Hanoi's French Quarter. This would be a fine choice for travelers who are looking for an elegant place to stay with an abundance of charm and history. It is not for those whose priority is value for money, because Hanoi offers many other less expensive five-star choices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are far away from downtown traffic and much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other Tripadvisor surfers. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and enjoyed colonial features of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I have just checked out of this hotel this morning. As a resident of Hanoi for the last 5 years I am a regular visitor to the Hotel Metropole over the years regularly using Le Beaulieu restaurant (fantastic breakfast buffet), drinking in Angelina's and having a quiet Chocolate mousse and a coffee at the wonderful renovated Bamboo Bar.

As a premium Accor card holder my girlfriend had a free night she needed to use within July and instead of travelling to BKK or SGN we thought why not stay in Hanoi but stay at the Metropole since I had never actually slept a night there. Check-in was wonderful and efficient as we sat in the new wing lounge, we were then shown to our fantastic room which I found to be very tastefully designed and had all mod cons. We tried to book a couple spa but the spa was full which was unfortunate, nevertheless hanging around the swimming pool in the rain was fun. Evening was spent on the town and nightcaps in Angelina's. The next morning after a great breakfast but a lengthy check out (about 15 mins!) we to get the car parked right next to the hotel where the other cars (including the hotel cars!) were parked too. A scruffy man came up to us and it's unclear what they were saying but they kicked my car. This is right next to security guards from the hotel. If you stepped out the car you would be on the hotel pavement! I got out the car and he picked up a brick and attempted to throw it at me. This was in front of everyone at 12:30 on a midday afternoon. At no point did hotel security come out and help. We got back in the car, drove around the block absolutely infuriated and then I returned to the hotel to complain.

The Vietnamese manageress was unable to take any kind of action and suddenyly there 15 people stood around me and the car and my girlfriend was livid creating her own hassles. I put her in the car and we drove away.

What an awful end to one of my favourite places for what was meant to be peace and quiet.

I am looking forwards to hearing clear steps as to how they can protect their guests from these animals in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ACF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Owner at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Falter,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us this past weekend. We were very pleased to read that the overall stay was an enjoyable one. That being said, we were concerned to read of the issues relating to the car parking between yourself, your girlfriend, and the security guard from the Government parking company.

The hotel does not have a car park and the parking on Le Phung Hieu street is handled by a Government parking company including the security guard and they collect a parking fee for all cars parked on the street, regardless of whether the car owner is using the hotel facilities or other surrounding businesses. Additionally, when drivers pop in and out for a few minutes there may not be a parking fee applied.

We have investigated the situation with the parking company along with our security team that attended at the end of the altercation. Their security guard who knocked on your car window and tried to stop your car wanted to collect the normal parking fee knowing that you have not settled the parking fee with them. The strength of the action taken by the guard has also been addressed as this is not accepted at all.

Unfortunately at the time of check in at the hotel we were unaware of your parking the car and did not have the opportunity to inform you about the arrangement and applicable fee that would be incurred.

Mr. Falter, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to one of your favourite spots in Hanoi for the peace and enjoyment as you have come to enjoy over the past five years of being a regular patron.

Best regards,

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sofitel Legeng Hanoi I must say is one of the best hotel I ever be. The services is at other level from the moment you enter the location until the moment you leave. All restaurants, bar, lounges, etc are amazing, mainly because the people attending guests. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocandlu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Ocandlu21,

Thank you for recommending Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am delighted that your stay in Hanoi was an enjoyable one and you made the most of services provided in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#68 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing