We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #40 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in the historic wing of this hotel for 4 nights and can't find a single bad thing to say about it ... its was a brilliant place to stay on our trip to Hanoi.

The Hotel is very close (5 minutes walk) from the central lake and Old Quarter. If your going further out taxi are always on hand and the doormen make sure you know what the cost of the ride will be.

The room was great, overlooking the courtyard and when ever we got back to the room from our touring it had always been made up to the highest standard.

Food choice and quality was top-class, although wine was maybe a little pricey, but other drinks OK.

Would recommend to anyone and look forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Martin P,

It is such a delight to read our guests' satisfaction. I thank you for your kind words regarding the high level of services provided by our ambassadors.

A great thank you for recommending Hotel Metropole Hanoi as well as our food choices and hotel location. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,947
    882
    214
    55
    30
See reviews for
1,095
3,098
280
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hakodate, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a grand premium room with club benefits as a couple. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay but not always due to the service.

The hotel has a fine history to rely on and they use that well. The building is beautiful and the inner courtyard is very atmospheric. There really isn't an alternative when it comes to that.
The grand premium room is wonderful and compared to other rooms seems to be worth paying a bit extra (also for the club benefits) unless of course you can afford the suites, which will set you back quite a bit more.
Breakfast is good. There is a decent selection of local and foreign food.
Enough options for dinner but don't forget you'll be paying luxury hotel prices. Think from $15-$25 for main dishes, which is of course a lot more than you would pay when you eat outside. This is how it works. Wines are most expensive. Cocktails are cheaper at around $10 but sometimes prepared in a hurry. Angelina Lounge is your best bet for a good cocktail (especially the unique Joan Baez cocktail, whose preparation is a feast for the eyes).

The Club Lounge: Champagne (Deutz) was included when we were there and wines, spirits and cocktails from 17:30-19:30. Snacks were also nice albeit you might get a bit bored with the lack of variation after a few days.

The service varies quite a lot depending on who you're dealing with. We had the feeling that there was a lack of a uniform service policy. Unless we specifically asked for something, our needs were usually not anticipated. We were able to share our feedback during our stay and the service did seem to be better towards the end of our stay but improvement is needed for that price (try Elegance Ruby-we also stayed there-for a lot less and excellent service).
The pool is very small for a hotel of this size. Expect to find it hard to get a poolside bed during the summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Windmills-and-Sushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Windmills-and-Sushi,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful words about your stay here at The Metropole Hanoi and for taking the time to share this on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that we had the opportunity to welcome you at the Legend hotel. I agree with variety of guest comments that a guest's happy stay is not always due to the service but also of the beauty and atmosphere of the building. The hotel is with traditional French design with incorporated details of the rich history of the building, but we have also taken our service to the next level.

Dear guest, it was an honor that we had the possibility to make your stay extra special and we all hope to welcoming you back soon.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quite simply, the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Magnificent rooms, great location and superb staff.
We stayed in the original part of the hotel, and every aspect of the building from the staircases, to the corridor lamps and carpets oozed class.
Our room was much bigger than most hotel rooms, and had a huge bathroom with dual showers and a massive tub. Furnishings were very classy, and in great condition, and the bed was very comfortable.
The location meant it was just a few minutes walk to the lake and Old Quarter, but there was little traffic, and the hotel was a wonderful respite from the smog and motorbikes of the nearby streets.
We had a wonderful experience in the spa, and took the hotel's market and cooking tour which far exceded expectations, with a fabulous tour, finished off with us making a 6 course meal in the hotel kitchen, then eating in the restaurant.
But the greatest single greatest thing about this hotel is the staff. Discrete, extremely professional, warm and very helpful.
If you ever want one splurge in your life, make it the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear LucyKate,

What a wonderful experience you had at The Metropole Hanoi! Thank you for sharing this on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed located in the heart of the city and we offer an oasis of tranquility. It is a pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed your stay as well as the food offered by our restaurants and the Spa treatment.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Hanoi itself is an extraordinary place with so much traumatic history. The hotel captures the French Colman fel mixed with the modern Vietnam which provides quite an experience in itself. The rooms are very good and the restaurants exceptional. The various bars have different atmospheres and live music producing more atmosphere. I went ona convention with 100 people and they serviced the meeting briliiantly. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Canny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Canny C,

It was a pleasure having you and the group you were part of at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We try and do our utmost to fullfil all of our guests expectations and I am glad that, on this occasion, we have achieved our aim.

We then look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in the historical wing of the hotel, which had a truly charming colonial feeling! I chose the hotel based on trip advisor reviews and did not regret it.
The room was spacious with a separate corridor where we could fit our daughter's bed. Quality of breakfast was nice and the Vietnamese restaurant became a regular dining spot (especially the terrace). The hotel is indeed greatly located, a few minutes taxi from Hanoi main attractions and walking distance from many shops.
Our daughter received a few toys on arrival and the babysitter service went very smoothly to allow us some couple time for dinner.
I recommend the airport transfer which was a very smooth way to start our holiday trip in Hanoi, without having to choose from the numerous taxi companies waiting outside!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the historical wing which is more charming than the newly developed area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeromeF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jerome F4,

I thank you for recommending Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi to TripAdvisor surfers either for leisure or business purposes. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

I look forward to your next visit very soon.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just spent a week at the Sofitel. I agree with all the marvelous posts. However, it is most unfortunate that their WiFi doesn't work properly and they are unable to fix it. It was the worst speed I have ever experienced in a decent hotel, and I do travel frequently to all the continents. So expect to be very frustrated if you need to get some work done. There is also room for improvement at the Concierge desks: their recommendations are hit or miss, they were good less than 40% of the time--so do your homework and obtain info on restaurants, shopping and hair salons from another source.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Susana E,

Thank you for sharing your great experience during your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

I regret that the wifi service was not working properly during your stay with us. Please rest assured I will look into the wifi issue with the IT manager to see how we can improve the speed since we do not have any record with wifi speed in the recent past.

Once again I am thankful to your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fabulous historic hotel located in the center of Hanoi. Many attractions within walking distance. We had a very nice room with a comfortable queen size bed on the Opera side which is a more recent addition. The original side was also very nice from the lobby. Didn't see a room. Our room was on the street side of the hallway and there was barely any noise which was amazing for all the honking from the hoards of motorbikes! There are two locations for breakfast buffet along with an Asian and Italian restaurant onsite. The Bamboo Bar is very casual and convenient to poolside. The Spa was very busy and unfortunately we did not have time to take advantage of it. Maybe next time. This is a fantastic get away for a long weekend, just don't go in the rainy season. Concierge is very helpful! Great place to come to after two nights in Halong Bay.

Room Tip: Inside rooms wrap around the pool which was noisy due to all the kids on holiday with parents. Out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfromm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Kfromm,

It is a great pleasure for our Hotel to have been given a chance to accommodate you recently.

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay at our Hotel, especially with our service quality, the staff, the rooms, location and breakfast options. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing