We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,985)
Filter reviews
6,985 results
Traveler rating
5,667
985
235
62
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,667
985
235
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera wingbamboo barold wingbomb sheltermacaroonsspices gardenbunker tourchocolate buffetle beaulieujoan baezgrand premium roomvietnam warbutler servicevietnamese restaurantbeautiful hotelfrench colonial styleclub floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,054 - 4,059 of 6,985 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

There is no denying the beauty and splendour of the Metropole. It is in a perfect location, has been furnished sumptiously and has some fantastic restaurants and bars - really an example of colonial architecture at its very best! The hotel's history is also fascinating.
However, although the room itself was not too pricey the incidentals are incredibly expensive and you do come away with a sense that you are being somewhat ripped off.
I shall give one example - breakfast was not included in our room rate and so we went for a simple Continental breakfast. The total cost including taxes and service was over £30 which, believe me, in Hanoi is very expensive! What was particularly frustrating though was that even with this cost you receive only a tiny glass of orange juice - at that price point comparable hotels would allow you do refill your glass as many times as you like. Frankly, having stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world this was a real disappointment.
Ultimately, it's a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location but, like the Oriental in Bangkok, you do pay a significant premium for the experience. Only you can decide if this premium is worth it since, in terms of style, service and history the hotel more than delivers!

Room Tip: Go for the old as opposed to modern wing to really indulge in the hotel's heritage.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanielHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear NathanielHook,

Thank you for your great feedback following your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel during your stay with us and took the time to share your feedback with other Tripadvisor surfers.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Although we didn't stay here, we had friends that did & they raved about it. We stopped by for a look and it's an impressive hotel (inside & out). Great location with French, Italian restaurants that are all top notch. Did have a drink @ the Bamboo Bar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Ronald G,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our restaurant and bar.

We are also delighted that you enjoy the Metropole Central location and thank you for sharing your experience to other TripAdvisor surfers.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Metropole has been the favourite resting place of celebrities, politicians and other visitors to Hanoi for many decades. Following the recent restoration work it is once again the place to stay at in Hanoi. The restoration work has cleverly preserved the historic character of the hotel while also adding all the expected modern comforts. Our room was particularly charming and a delightful place to stay. The staff are extremely welcoming and capable, offering an exceptionally high level of service. The bar beside the pool is a wonderful place to relax and to escape the hustle of city life. The restaurants were also generally very good. This is a great hotel and it is a real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Charlie 1001,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and enjoyed our location in the very center of Hanoi. We are glad you really like our guest room, the bar and appreciated the service from our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon, on your next visit.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Second time we have stayed in this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed both our visits.
Hotel restaurants were excellent and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The location is within walking distance of shopping areas.
A walk around the lake for coffee is well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank pattoHollywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Accorhotels.com traveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Sofitel Lgend Metropole Hanoi. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurants.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property again soon!

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As always, the only choice in Hanoi...Central, elegant, amazing service, great food....
a bit too family friendly (come on parents...) but everything else is perfect
The executive club is particularly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank hkgnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Accorhotels.com Traveller,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such as enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are glad you consider Metropole as the only choice to Stay in Hanoi and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and all the facilities we are offering as well as the historical features of the hotel.

We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews