We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay in Hanoi - almost the best tourist site in town as well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #42 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must stay in Hanoi - almost the best tourist site in town as well”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Amazingly beautiful hotel with so much character and history.
We went to Hanoi during Chinese New Year with almost everything closed. Hence the city actually didn't leave much of an impression. But we LOVE the hotel. We booked the old/historical wing with friends' suggestion, and it was the right decision. The French colonial architecture and over 100 years of history of the hotel make the hotel very speiclal.

The service is outstanding. And the food at the Vietnamese restaurant is worth trying.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay_Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that you and your family have had a lovely stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi during your recent trip to our city.

It was a real delight that you have enjoyed our service, history background and especially the colonial character of the hotel. Your satisfaction is our utmost reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,105
    906
    216
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,127
3,185
286
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

stayed for two nights for business in Hanoi. impressive building with nice atmosphere. i stayed at the new wing which was a good combination of new room with classic design and not too heavy. service is great and location is good too. great choice however a bit pricy given other options in the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience
I am glad that you appreciated the service, the location along with the impressive building with nice atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently en route to Siem Reap. The building is beautiful and its history interesting (the free tour including the bomb shelter is worth doing). Our room was in the newer Opera wing and although it was elegantly decorated it was small. The shower was over the bath so would be tricky to get into for many people. My husband had previously stayed in the old wing and said it was much more spacious. Our room rate included the breakfast buffet which was excellent. I would stay here again but would probably opt for the old wing.

Room Tip: New wing rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The best part of our 6 day vacation in Hanoi and Ha Long Bay was the time we spent here.
Rich with history and a beautiful atmosphere.

We upgraded our stay to include massages every day and it was well worth it. Beautiful spa and very well staffed.

Even if you do not stay here, you should join the hotel tour.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the old section of the hotel and take the hotel tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENELRAD_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed the the rich history, beautiful asmosphere and our Spa service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We are on a return trip to Vietnam and could not resist to come back to this legendary hotel. There is little you can say that whilst the price is high, the people, the food the ambience and the history is worth the experience. Will come back again. The only disappointment were the other travellers, the staff were invisible to them and they are part off the experience. They beam if you greet them with a simple hello in Vietnamese and the our experience even better.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the kind words. Always nice to receive positive feedback. It is very kind of you and I am sharing your message with my team here.

Thank you for taking the time to write to me and hopefully we can welcome you back to Hanoi one day.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 588 in Hanoi
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#14 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing