We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #40 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

6,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,947
    882
    214
    55
    30
See reviews for
1,095
3,098
280
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Azusa, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was our first hotel on our 10 days "North to South Tour of Vietnam". From the moment we walked through the doors, we were immediately surrounded by the feeling of luxury and comfort. How relaxing to come to a room that was always clean and fresh, after a tiring day tour of the city's tourist spots. Everyone were extremely polite, helpful and very nice at all times. Buffet is great. Ambiance is fabulous. Guest were given a complimentary tour of the excavated bunker used as wartime air raid shelter during the Vietnam war. All 5 star from the day you walk-in through the day you check-out. Great stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very delighted to welcoming you on your 10 days North to South Tour of Vietnam recently and thank you for complimenting that your stay in our hotel was "Five Star all the way".

I will pass on your kind words to my team as an encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service.

We look forward to your next stay and thank you.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had heard much about the Metropole in Hanoi and the experience lived up to it. You can feel that you are stepping in the footsteps of those famous people of years gone by. The service remains top class. Our room was in the new Opera wing which was fine till I saw the original rooms recently refurbed which were even better. The tour of the air raid shelter is worth doing. The guide was top class and really enjoys what he does. He was one of the few Vietnamese who not only knew but had been to my country Malta.

We had dinner at the Vietnamese Spice Garden restaurant which was good if somewhat contrived. Sometimes 5 star hotels try too hard, at times a more simple and genuine fare is better. We spent 2 nights there and would return anytime. The American jazz singer and the Grey Goose at the Club was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanDeCesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and share your experience following your stay with us.

I am delighted to read how much you have enjoyed our service and the bomb shelter tour. Infact we are very proud of our historian in the hotel and the history tour we established for our hotel guests.

Thank you very much and please visit us again.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Metropole Hanoi is all it has been over the 100 or so years of its existence. We stayed five days prior to a Backroads Bike trip that started at the Metropole and the hotel's old quarters are the way to start any trip. The services, from the room to an excellent business center are 5* for sure. All the restaurants, bars, room service and so on are great. The history walls bring back memories of Joan and Jane in '72 when they stayed here and spent time in the bomb shelter that is now open to visit. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. The hotel is in the middle of lots of action and allows one a sense of being in it... but also part of an oasis from it, when one is needed. The management has trained the staff, and the Bonjour and other French phrases used by all the staff harken one back to the French colonial days (although the French is limited to greetings, the staff tries and welcomes some education beyond Hello).
This hotel was a great start to our Backroads trip... we would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueknowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other Tripadvisor surfers. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi and enjoyed historical features and excellent services extended by our staff member of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Located in the heart of Hanoi, this hotel is an excellent place to stay on vacation as well as business. The room was large and very clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice with a big selection of both Vietnamese and western food. The spa with massage service was excellent and very reasonably priced. Would stay at this hotel again. The service and staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing that we are suitable for both leisure and business purposes stays. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Metropole Hanoi and we look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Sofitel Metropole over the Lunar New Year holiday. It was a wonderful experience that exceeded our expectations. We booked a room in the new wing on the executive floor which is of great value with daily breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktail all included in the price. Although the breakfast ends at 10:30am (it is normally kept open till 11am anyways) in the lounge, we had the option to order breakfast in the room up till 12noon which was great on those days when we just wanted to have a late start of the day. The butler service was the icing on the cake. All staff on the butler team are very polite, helpful and attentive.

We tried all three restaurant the hotel (Beaulieu, Angelini and Saffron Garden). This is not a complaint but the waiting staff in all three restaurants seemed to be very stretched. The services were less attentive compared to the other areas of the hotel. Angelina is more of a bar than restaurant. Its menu offered limited choices. Spice Garden was crowded and noisy. My family loves vietnamese food and frequented vietnamese restaurants in Saigon, north america, and other cities in Asia. The food in Spice Garden is relatively bland and lacks the aromatic flavours we love about Vietnamese food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade_Rose_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to show my appreciation regarding your gracious words about our butler service and the whole team from the club floor of the hotel.

Nonetheless, I regret to learn that your experience at our restaurants was not according to your expectations since it is not a true reflection of our restaurant offers and I shall re-iterate this with my team.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
487 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

There's the old, mahogany side of this hotel. And there's the new marble side that seems to cater more to business travelers and Americans. Both sides are impressive. Rooms are lovely. Food is good. But use the concierge in the new part -- they are much better at English.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed our concierge service in the new wing and I take on board your comment about the English communication of our staff in the historical wing which I will ask my training department to reinforce on the training.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing