We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRULY MAGNIFICENT ~EUROPE IN ASIA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #42 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“TRULY MAGNIFICENT ~EUROPE IN ASIA”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Sofitel Metropole was OUTSTANDING! This hotel was pristine, clean and the decor was superb. You would think you were in Europe not Vietnam staying in this wonderful luxurious enclave. It is PERFECTION: the Softel chain is the BEST! HERMES products and toiletries, the bathroom we had was immaculate complete with claw foot tub. I felt like a Queen. The rooms are not that big but they make up for it in decor and cleanliness. Service was discreet and efficient. We had a club room floor and they serve breakfast and afternoon tea- the chef made beautiful little canapes and petit treasures that were just soooooo yummmy!
very romantic and you feel like you're in another era. So peaceful....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinityperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our service and on the food, but most of all, it a pleasure to read that you felt valued, happy and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,104
    906
    216
    55
    31
See reviews for
1,126
3,185
286
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We didn't chose to be in the old building and not having stayed in the newer Opera wing I don't know what the rooms there are like but I was really pleased with the old wing room. It also has a different entrance on a different street and it was a lovely entrance taking you back in time and you can walkl through to the new wing. The buffet breakfast is excellent, nice basket of rolls delievered to your table, omlettes cooked for you. The bar was a lovely place to relax at any time but especially at the end of the day, either outside which I preferred or indoors with a bit of music. Service was excellent, an all round very nice place to stay indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your fantastic review about your recent stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are delighted to hear you had such a memorable time during your stay. We truly appreciate the tips you are giving to future guests. We are really looking forward to your next visit at the Metropole Hanoi.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the most wonderful couple of days here. From the moment we arrived we felt pampered and important and looked after!!! Our room, although not huge, was beautiful, with exquisite linen and toiletries. The daily maids even sewed on a loose pyjama jacket button!!! It seemed that nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Breakfasts were wonderful, and we would definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Thoroughly recommend this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is so pleasant to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

I am so happy that you appreciated the service of our maids who sewed on a loose pyjama jacket button for you. As a matter of fact our daily main aim is to make our guests happy and we genuinely put a lot into it to provide the highest standard of services. I am most thankful to you for your kind words which are a true encouragement for the whole team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a gorgeous old hotel which has been beautifully restored. The rooms are quite small but lovely. The beds are very comfortable. The breakfasts are great and the buffet lunch at the SApices garden restaurant excellent. Good location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mother00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had come here from the Park Hyatt Saigon and was used to the excellent service at the latter. The service here had some kinks in comparison and not nearly as refined, polished and spot-on. I was annoyed at first. The rooms are good, if not small; not the selling point of the hotel. By day two I had a better attitude and enjoyed a lovely breakfast although there were a gazillion tour groups coming through the hotel and made for a scene. What made this hotel stand out to me was the historical tour given by Duc at the hotel, free to guests. This made the hotel an experience for me and certainly made my annoyances dissipate. Do this tour and you'll see. Just an hour and given daily.

Room Tip: Stay in the historical building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El_Mudo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that you have had a lovely stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi during your recent trip to our city.

It was a real delight that you have enjoyed the path of history tour conducted by our historian and I agree that this tour made the hotel an experience for the guest.

I am looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you very much,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Before I booked this hotel, I was told that it was an award winning hotel in many travel magazines. Therefore, I chose this hotel for my 1st anniversary treat with my husband. The hotel was beautiful and classy with a French colonial-style and it’s located in the heart of Hanoi. Before I stepped into the entrance, there were many local couples taking wedding photos there. I bet this hotel is definitely one of the most famous and beautiful hotels in Hanoi for photo shooting. As soon as I stepped into the entrance, the staff had already found my name and guided me to my butler. We booked grand premium room with club benefits in the Opera Wing (the newer part of the hotel). They provided a personal butler service who helped us for check in, welcome drink and delivered a bunch of roses for me for my anniversary which was very sweet and thoughtful.

The room was spacious, comfortable and elegant. They had also decorated our room with heart shaped roses petals + heart shaped box chocolate. I especially loved the open plan design with a free stand bath tub + Hermès amenities in the bathroom. Also the butler provided few choices of pillows for us and the pillows are definitely one of the best pillows I had ever slept with in my life. Moreover, there were lovely silk pyjamas for us.

We tried some of the restaurants in the hotel, Le Beaulieu was brilliant and it was worth a try! Since we have the club benefit, we spent most of our time in there for delicious afternoon tea, cocktails and breakfast. There were even free champagne during weekend breakfast and cocktails, and the pianist’s performance was amazing!

One drawback was the swimming pool was not heated and it was quite small. Also their sauna and steam were located with the spa services. That’s mean if you do not purchase their spa services, the sauna and steam are not included.

Nevertheless, our stay was lovely and I could not imagine a better place to celebrate my 1st anniversary in Hanoi! The staff could not be nicer nor more accommodating! A perfect experience! I believe their hospitality was second to none, the anniversary amenities, the breakfast, afternoon tea, cocktail and dinner cannot be faulted! Room was so comfortable and luxury and we did not want to get out of it!

I had a perfect 1st anniversary and I definitely hope to stay in this hotel again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very delighted to welcoming you for your first anniversary. This is such a special occasion that we had to pamper both of you all the way!

We were extremely proud to hear about our high level of services and in particular our butler on the executive floor of the hotel. I will pass on your kind words to my team as an encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service.

We look forward to your next stay and thank you.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#69 of 588 in Hanoi
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#14 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing