We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our cambodia and Vietnam trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #40 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“our cambodia and Vietnam trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is steeped in history. Public areas are incredible. Unfortunetly rooms while decorated well are VERY small. Breakfast is outstanding as is the overall service in the hotel. A room requested near the elevator did not happen. The beauty parlor is a joke - about 7x10 and no ventalation - but all the designer stores are lavish.The L'Orangerie and ClubBar restaurnats were excellant. Our breafast server (Mrs. Binh at Club Bar was outstanding)

Room Tip: #204 was small - and made smaller by the two overstuffed chairs in front of the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests.

We sincerely regret the room near the elevator was not available during your stay with us since we had a state visit delegation with majority of the rooms being prebooked and blocked in advance therefore we do not have much flexibility in term of room assignment. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and we hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,947
    882
    214
    55
    30
See reviews for
1,095
3,098
280
567
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is a perfect location to explore Hanoi. It is within easy walking distance (or short tuk tuk ride) to the old quarter. The building is historical and luxurious. I stayed here twice, the first time in a standard room which was spacious and clean. On my return visit I stayed in a suite which was sheer oppulance with a deep bathtub and toiletries supplied be the Hermes shop. The housekeeping ought to be commended on their efficient service. On my return, I was contacted by housekeeping who returned my shampoo that I had accidentally left in the room on my previous visit. I hadn't worried about the loss and the return of the items were completely unprompted. I was touched by the efficiency and honesty of the housekeeping staff. The service at the pool side bar and restaurants was friendly and very efficient. The pool was very serene and a welcome break from the hustle and bustle of the old quarter. The restaurant and bar are both reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If the renovations are still being undertaken I suggest requesting a room in the newer part of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwinaMoffat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us!

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our location and historical features of the hotel.

The honesty and efficience of our housekeeping team have been appreciated alot by our guests and thank you for mentioning it again .

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi very soon!

Best regards,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

It is hard to find fault with this splendid hotel. It is one of the best, if not the best, city hotel I have stayed at, and given that it is in an emerging economy, that is a tremendous feat.

The property wears its history lightly, unlike the Disneyfied Raffles in Singapore, with which it is often bracketed. The staff are attentive. The food is excellent. The kids' menu is a tremendous bargain. The pool is a little small, but the pool scene is relaxed and fun.

It is worth visiting Hanoi just to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you are happy with the service of our team and the quality of our food.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon!

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of our holiday in Vietnaman and had been told it was the only place to stay in Hanoi, however, I didn't expect it to be as overwhelmingly beautiful as it was. Truly like taking a step back in time. As other reviewers have mentioned, from the moment your arrive you enter a place of old world charm with wonderful service and incredible attention to detail in every way. We stayed in the Opera wing and found the room very nice, and suitable for our requirements as we were out most of the day ( although I would loved to have had more time to just sit and enjoy the ambience of the lobby in the older section, beautiful comfy lounges and an opportunity to just watch the world go by! The pool area was also a relaxing place to be. The floral arrangements throughout the hotel were magnificent and attended to each day by the in house florist. The breakfasts were a wonderful way to start the day and although we tended to eat most other meals out of the hotel, those that we had there were very good. Wonderful hotel Wonderful staff. Wonderful experience - can't wait to enjoy it all again sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Opera wing with room on the street was fine - no traffic noise when sleeping at night - it also had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spent a night here while on business. Wonderful old world feel, but with super efficient and kind service, modern amenities and great staff. Rooms in the old wing are best and enjoy some time in the bar/restaurant next to the pool...like stepping into the past. GREAT spa as well at the end of the trip

Room Tip: Old wing rooms are special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially your room in the history wing of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The best hotel I have been in for a long long time. Food was fantastic. Facilities amazing. We had a wonderful time and it made our trip to Hanoi amazing. It will be hard to find another hotel to compare when I go on my next trip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is truly rewarding to read such positive feedbacks as yours and I thank you for that. I will pass on your kind words to my team and in particular to the Food & Beverage Department as it will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
587 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is over 100 years old and its arquitecture shows it. it is just beautiful .
The courtyard restaurant reminds you of a gazebo meeting place from way past when.
I would give the service a good 10 stars. All of its staff is fantastic. I have never been so pamepered.
The food in all of its restaurants is delicious and beautifully served. Their breakfast
buffet caters to everyones taste. They offer chinese, vietnamese, european and american
type food. Also a fantastic 10 stars.
One has to eat at the Spice Garden with its delicious Vietnamese specialities.

Room Tip: Our room in the new wing was unusually large and beautiful.. I didnot see the other rooms so couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syan0vich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.4 mi away
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#67 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing