We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel , pity about the loyalty card”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

There is something of a guilty pleasure when entering some hotels, perhaps still with the glow of success of realising one is still alive after crossing the road in Hanoi traffic, and the door closes behind you and there is cool, organised silence. The metropole is such a hotel.

However despite some rather gushing previous reviews our room, while extremely well furnished was compact and bordered on the ordinary. The small window, o wooden floor and furnishing making it rather dark.

In recompense the service was indeed excellent. I can hardly remember a time when almost every member of staff I talked to offered that little unexpected and unasked for extra. The service while checking out was exemplary, considering they were checking out a bus load of tourists at the same time

Having said that, I was disappointed to find that the hotel does not credit ones stay to the Accor loyalty card, if one books through a travel agent or third party booking website. Neither the Hilton or Intercontinental seem to have such qualms, and it seems somewhat contradictory to have a loyalty card and not reward people loyal enough to stay with you.

Unfortunately I am soon staying at La Veranda in Phu Quoc and La Residence in Hue, both Accor hotels, luckily in HCMC it's the Asiana, which I believe is Intercontinental.

We cannot be the only people on bespoke holidays through travel agencies and can choose their hotels, I know some people will think this very "Anglo Saxon" and mercenary, but we are going through a global economic crisis and the Hilton is only across the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on the service of our staff and the central and quiet location of the hotel.

The loyalty card program is our global policy and we are unable to do otherwise at this moment. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and hope that this experience will not detain you to come back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you once again for your email and feedback and best regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,106 - 4,112 of 6,615 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Our second visit here, quick two day stay this time. Quite a lot of retail development around the hotel since our last visit eight years ago making the position excellent for shopping, not that there is much to buy! Staff very friendly and helpful. We ate at the Italian restaurant Angelina in the hotel which was good and a Vietnamese restaurant directly opposite the Opera exit of the hotel which was good, banana blossom salad excellent. Rooms excellent, very comfy beds, tea making facility in room and free Wifi. The hotel has an illustrated map which details various shops walking distance from hotel. Would get acquainted with that Day One.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

I love to read such positive feedbacks about Sofitel Lgend Metropole Hanoi and I am thankful to your kind words.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is a real asset. After a busy day, guests are delighted to enter a peaceful atmosphere mixing Vietnamese tradition and French elegance.

We were very proud to hear that you have had a great food and service experience at our restaurants during your stay with us.

We all look forward to your next stay.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was one of the most beautiful hotels and experiences I have ever had. I stayed at Christmas time and the staff were so welcoming and warm to us.
The selection of restaurants and bars was amazing. The high tea and the Croque Monsieur are food highlights I still think about today.
If you are looking for a bit of indulgence, you cannot go past this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor and the interconnecting is a great option for groups travelling together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonialivestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

we look forward to your next stay,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beautiful hotel from another era. Outstanding food. Succumbed to lamb and a lovely glass or 2 of red wine, having dined on asian cuisine for several weeks. Gorgeous rooms with wonderful soft beds and a top sheet. Why do so many hotels have doonas only?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneJMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

By far the best hotel on this vacation. We were privelliged to stay on the club floor, which has a lot of extra privelliges. The Breakfasts were fabulous and wse had a butler servive on our floor. We had a couple of very pleasant nights just eating out onn the outside of the restaurant (on the street) and watching tyhe peole go by.Again as it seems to be in this part of the world eb=veryone is very polite and the servic is great.

Room Tip: try toi get to stay on one of the club floors
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank denbeeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear guest,

It was great to read such positive a feedback like yours and I thank you for that.

We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. Our utmost reward is to hear our guests satisfaction. This is the reason why my team and I were so happy to read your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is the BEST hotel I have ever stayed in for the money spent. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels across the world, but for US$405 per night having your own butler service, amazing room, complimentary breakfast daily on the same floor or choice of 3 other venues within the hotel, I cant go past this place. Food and drink are not cheap by Vietnam standards, but for 5 star hotel standard it is reasonable. The foreign exchange service is great too, same rate (close to spot rate) for buying and selling and 0 commission. This is definately an anomaly in the 5 star hotel world. Three restaurants within the hotel (Vietnamese with fusion, Italian and French) with poolside ordering from the glass gazebo cafe alongside which has a chocolate buffet daily - devine! Spa is excellent too, but not cheap and inline with other 5 star hotels. This is my new weekend away hotel being based in HK, only 1.5hrs flight away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKAussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback following your recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you felt very well looked after by the entire team especially our team in the executive floor and that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us.

We certainly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great ambience, staff very friendly and informative. Buffet breakfast excellent and can be taken in restaurant in old part of hotel or the new opera wing. The spa is wonderful would highly recommending taking a treatment. Also the tour of the hotel and bomb shelter was very interesting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CycloneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 600 in Hanoi
2,338 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#44 of 600 in Hanoi
793 reviews
2 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 600 in Hanoi
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $234 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing