We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel will make your stay in Hanoi perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #43 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“This hotel will make your stay in Hanoi perfect”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having just spent two nights in this hotel recently, I must say that it is simply one of the best hotels I have stayed. You almost can't find any fault in the hotel. Room was beautiful, staff service was excellent and food and beverage quality is definitely one of the best I have encountered in all my stay in other 5 star establishments.

We were welcome with a drink of our choice, then told that we were upgraded to their Opera Wing Premium Club room. Room was spacious and beautifully decorated and every small detailed was looked after well...there were even silk night wear in the closet..how thoughtful is that!!

We took the tour to visit their recently opened bomb shelter and our historian guide, Ms Yen was very knowledgeable and it made the tour so worthwhile to be able to actually be in the bomb shelter and felt how it was during the war times. After the tour (which lasted about 45minutes), we were offered cold towel and a drink to freshen up (again, how thoughtful that was and I wasn't even expecting it so plesantly surprised).

The hotel was so comfortable that on our last evening, we decided not go eat out in the busy streets of Hanoi and instead dined at the Le Beaulieu French brasserrie. The degustation menu was an excellent choice, food were delicous and service, like every where else in the hotel was impeccable. We ended the evening with a drink by the poolside's Bamboo Bar before retiring to our very comfortable bed.

Definitely the place to stay if you want to give yourself a little treat..of course prices are steep by Hanoi standards but look beyond that and you will find that you will have an excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YenYenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,138
    911
    219
    55
    32
See reviews for
1,146
3,196
287
596
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just got back from a long weekend trip to Hanoi. I've stayed at the Metropole before for business, and also the Hilton, but would say hands-down, the Metropole is the best place to stay in Hanoi. Both times at the Metropole I've stayed in the Opera (newer) wing, which I gather the rooms are smaller than the historic side but were fine with me. The Hilton rooms are bigger, but it definitely feels like a business conference-type hotel with drab room furniture. The Metropole Opera rooms have enough space to be comfortable, decor is beautiful, bed is comfy, good bathrooms (good water pressure in shower, l'occitane products). We got breakfast included in our rate, and they serve a nice breakfast buffet at their Le Beaulieu restaurant. Plus the rest of the hotel is beautiful and historic. Location is great too - you're two blocks away from Hoan Khiem lake, easy and pretty walk around the lake to the Old Quarter, and walk south a few blocks and you're in the French quarter.

My only quibble is that we arranged for their shuttle to pick us up from the airport since we arrived at night, and they kept us waiting for over half an hour even though we were the first to come out to the arrival area, and then watched as they promptly shuttled other passengers (from our same flight I might add) off. We were eventually given our own van shuttle, so not sure why we were kept waiting. However, the return trip to the airport was handled well - we ended up just taking a taxi and they made sure to take down the taxi number and fixed fare so there would be no issues at the airport. Also, the pool is definitely smaller than the photos make it seem, but it was nice (in their internal courtyard area). We did not spend any time hanging out by the pool as there was too much to see/eat in Hanoi in our limited time there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our beautiful guest room, historical charm, nice breakfast and central location.

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the shuttle van delay and shall re-iterate this with my team to ensure that it won't happen again.

We look forward for your next stay.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

After the crazy drive from the airport in the chaotic Hanoi rush hour, the Metropole became our haven of rest and civility! What a pleasure to be welcomed into it's cool interior, with modern rooms, polite and efficient staff and a Spa that is one of the best we've experienced in many years. The breakfast buffet is a good introduction to Vietnamese food, while also catering to the diets of Western eaters. Dinner in the French restaurant, whilst pricy, was a sumptuous affair with a good French wine list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure reading such positive a feedback as yours and I thank you for sharing with us and Tripadvisor surfers.

I will pass on your kind words to my teams which will serve as an encouragement to all of them to keep on providing high standard of services to all of our guests.

We look forward to your next visit to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi.

Sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On our recent visit to Hanoi we stayed at the Sofitel Metropole for four days . We were totally mesmerised by the beauty , history , heritage and service of this hotel. Everything was just immaculate including display shelves with artefacts in the room . To top it all it is at a fantastic location in the heart of the city and yet away from the crowds on a very colonial looking quiet street . Would love to stay there again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minoo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with Tripadvisor travellers your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I am delighted that your stay in Hanoi was an enjoyable one and you made the most of our central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesseneck, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I spent just one night at Sofitel Metropole. Such an amazing hotel. Good service, great location, wonderful room, excellent service. The most impressed is the architecture and hotel decor. Restaurant was also nice. Perfect choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a very beautiful hotel in a great location with excellent service. The only thing I could fault is the pool temperature is much to warm and defeats the purpose of going for a refreshing swim. All the little extra touches like the turn down service, choclatesin your room , ice cream around the pool made this a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. I thank you for your kind feedback and your special mention of our excellent service and central location.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What can one say that hasn't been said previously ? A timeless oasis in the middle of this vibrant, amazing city. Such attention to detail; beautiful architecture; exquisitely presented staff, a relaxing pool; and so many little things that represent such nice touches. Have never stayed in a hotel where the hotel alone is reason enough to come back to the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.7 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#68 of 591 in Hanoi
1,826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 591 in Hanoi
2,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Property: Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#16 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing