We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Hanoi, mixed service and way too small pool area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #45 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had booked the Sofitel Metropole to enjoy a last relaxed night and day in all luxury, after a busy and tiring three week trip through Cambodia and Vietnam. Prior to the Sofitel Metropole we had also stayed for two nights at the Hilton Opera Hotel, but that was not to be repeated.

Of course the welcome at Sofitel Metropole was great. Especially as we got an upgrade of our room to the (newer) Opera Wing. Originally we had booked a DeLuxe room for 3 persons, and I think we were upgraded to a Premium Room.
Especially impressive was the bathroom that was half open and did spread over the full length of the room. Very nice, and not seen before.

This for sure must be the best hotel in (busy) town Hanoi. Location is great, quite close to the old city center. And all the benefits of a 5 star + hotel. However; why were we not that impressed?
The hotel failed us in the following:
- very mixed service. Beyond excellent in the Vietnamese restaurant and below poor at the pool.
- the pool was way too small and you had to sort of fight for a chair.
- reception was not responsive. Had to cary own suitcases down after repeated requests.
- awkward lay out of the hotel. Actually it feels like two hotels: Historical wing & Opera wing

We enjoyed diner in the Vietnamese SPICES GARDEN RESTAURANT.
It was superb. As we did not appreciate the reserved table, immediately another table was offered and prepared. Service and advice was friendly and personal. Food was beyond belief; definitely the best as we experienced it during our 3 week trip. Taste and decoration was great. The only thing that I liked to have seen different was the price tag....but it was worth the money.

As good as our experience was at the restaurant, as poor was it at the pool.
As a start the pool is way too small. An average cruise ship has a bigger pool nowadays.
Second there are not sufficient pool chairs, or actually chairs in general. At our first visit it took us a while before we were able to sit down. There was also no support from the staff finding a spot for the three of us. Obviously they had given up a long time ago......

After some time we were lucky and got ourselves into 3 pool chairs. However when taking a swim, the staff removed our personal belongings and were about to give the chairs to other guests. If there would not have been any personal items at the chairs I could have understood the misunderstanding, as we might have left, but it is NOT done ever to remove personal items. We were able to 'capture' the chairs again, but not a nice experience. Not for us and not for the other quests who were also quite embarrassed.
This fight for chairs was ongoing for both days we stayed at the hotel. Not acceptable.

The hotel is sort of split in two.
The old part called the Historical wing and the new part the Opera wing.
Next time I do not think I accept an upgrade to the new wing and request a room in the old one, as the atmosphere in the Opera wing is more of a modern kind of hotel lacking the history. Actually looking back and taking another look at the hotel website, I wonder whether it was an upgrade or just a room switch presented and an upgrade.
The idea that you are in two hotels is emphasized by the fact that the Opera wing also has a separate entrance. Great to confuse your driver..... And getting from one entrance to the other, yourself or your driver, takes some time.

Breakfast was OK, but not great. Had expected it to be better and have had better breakfasts in Cambodia and Vietnam in cheaper hotels.

Departure was a challenge, not only because of the two entrances, but also because no porter showed up to collect the luggage. Finally we carried them down ourselves, where staff took over to bring them to 'the other' entrance.....

The Sofitel Metropole is a great hotel, and I would love to stay there again. But it has some issues that need attention.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,424)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,029 - 4,035 of 6,424 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here before and after Halong Bay. The room design is impeccable as is the gym, pool, restaurants, music they play - everything is orchestrated to connote classic times of French colonialism (rather ironic). The service is very good and the club floor definitely worth it for afternoon tea and a drink.

We ate at the pool side restaurant and got food poisoning from the ribeye, which was probably a mistake to order but well-handled by the manager who took it off of our bill the next day after his inquisition of every moment we spent throwing up until calling him.

Would definitely stay there again, it's on point.

Room Tip: Get a club room in the new wing
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank map_the_world_anew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and feedback on Tripadvisor.

I have noted your dis-appointment in regards to the food poisoning from the ribeye from the pool side restaurant and will re-iterate this with my team. I apologize that this experience happened and I really look forward to welcoming you back to the Metropole.

Thank you once again for your feedback and best regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Charming, perfect location, tremendous history, beautiful rooms, contemporary Vietnamese art at every turn, historically rich setting, high caliber French food, attentive and warm service, great turndown service...the list goes on. If you're planning to come to Hanoi, it is worth the relatively affordable splurge to enjoy this level of experience, which matches the unique atmosphere of this gem of a city. Promise to end your stay with spring rolls and a cocktail at Le Club bar...with jazz music and sun shining in.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HK-squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Pure luxury.

Most days we accepted defeat by the heat and were all too excited to rush back to our oasis of a hotel to relax. Walk through the lobby which boast tremendous air-conditioning, nice musical selections and friendly staff wearing traditional uniforms of the highest standard. Walk through another set of doors and you are in a slice of heaven. A fantastic drink at the pool side bar (do not dismiss the non alcoholic options, those are the ones which showcase the creativity and the bartenders are happy to add your choice of poison to it) and all thoughts of chaotic motorbikes and sticky heat fade away.

This hotel understands it is all in the details that they do everything well. Well selected brands are present in your bathroom and the mini bar is stocked full of only the finest. Each night the staff stop by your room and give you a small bag with truffles, macaroons, or other goodies from the chocolate shop which is located on the ground floor along with other shops such as Hermes.

There are two sides of the hotel, one is the older wing and the other was recently built and boasts a more modern look. We chose to stay in the older wing but were given a chance to see rooms in both areas before making our choice. The room in the modern side was a bit larger but we found the comfort and history of the first wing to be superior.

The pool staff is absolutely charming. They will work to remember your name and your drink preference. When you first arrive they lay a towel down for you and present you with a tray of goodies. Throughout the day they come around offering treats such as mango sorbet in homemade cones and fruit skewers. The scene is lovely and throughout the hotel there is strong wifi so if you have work to do or want to post pictures to make friends back home jealous it is possible.

There will be days when you don't want to leave your bed. Luscious sheets, pillows that feel like clouds, and a mattress that is far superior to what I have at home. If you ever do decide to leave the hotel the staff are ready with maps and correct directions on how to get around. Within just a few blocks are some of the best restaurants and lovely places to walk about.

A hotel of the highest standards.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is quite enjoyable to hear that we have met and may I say exceeded your expectations in terms of standard of services.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

An excellent hotel with three exceptional restauarnts. We stayed in both the old wing and new wing. Both rooms were first class with the room in the new wing having the edge in that the AC was better and the room was slightly bigger and better appointed. The French Restaurant is very good indeed with a fantastic wine list and V V good creme brulee. The service throughout then hotel is first class - unobtrusive but attentive. You get a real feel for the history of the place and it feels like you are staying somewhere special. You don't get the same feeling in the chains like the Hilton etc. The hotel is well situated to walk to the water puppet theatre and several temples. You can walk to a couple of markets . It feels very safe even at night. The other restaurants are very good as is the lounge bar and bamboo bar. Even when the hotel is busy you don't feel crowded out

Room Tip: Go for the slightly better rooms in the new part - what they lack in history is made up for by comfo...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

It is really rewarding for us to hear positive feedbacks from our guests and I thank you for taking the time to share your satisfaction on TripAdvisor website.

Our priority is to have all of our guests have a magnifique experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi I am proud of my whole team who have met your expectations in terms of high quality of services.

We look forward to your next visit.

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

One of the best hotels I ever stayed in. It is central, very clean and has excellent restaurants and bars and the staff is very helpful and one feels at home.
They can assist you with sightseeing and pick up and return to the airport which unfortunately is about 1 hr away.
Otherwise nothing further.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manfred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Although I have only stayed here once, the Sofitel Metropole Hanoi is immediately near the top of my list of all-time favourite hotels. Imagine a combination of the elegance of Singapore's Raffles Hotel and the charm of Colombo's Galle Face Hotel. The buildings are classy and elegant, the rooms are very well appointed, the staff are polite and attentive and the location is very convenient in central Hanoi. Both the pool and gym are somewhat small, but if you go at the right time you won't have a problem with crowding. I had a very nice meal in the hotel's Vietnamese restaurant, and the jazz band that was playing in the bar was one of the best that I have heard. I can't wait to come back to this property on my next visit to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all of your complimentary and kind words regarding our high standard of services. We genuinely have a passion for all of our guests and we are glad that they can feel it like you did.

We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#93 of 596 in Hanoi
2,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 596 in Hanoi
1,862 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#78 of 596 in Hanoi
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $217 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing