We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$135
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$77
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$104
$80
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hanoi La Selva Hotel(Hanoi)
$51
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$55
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$123
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (7,244)
Filter reviews
7,244 results
Traveler rating
5,900
1,004
241
62
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,900
1,004
241
62
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopera wingbamboo barold wingbomb sheltermacaroonsspices gardenbunker tourle beaulieuchocolate buffetjoan baezgrand premium roomvietnam warbutler servicehistorical hotelvietnamese restaurantfrench colonial styleclub floor
Filter
Updating list...
5,713 - 5,718 of 7,244 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed at the Sofitel Metropole Hanoi for three nights at the start of our three week holiday to Vietnam and Cambodia. After a 12 hour flight to Bangkok change of planes and arrival in Hanoi we were tired to say the very least. Having arrived at 10am we were expecting that we wouldn't be able to get to our room and were very pleasantly surprised to find that this was not the case.

Having heard so much about the renovations we had already arranged to move from the new wing to the old wing. Whilst I didn't see any of the rooms in the new wing the quick tour I had round its reception area made me glad I had switched. The older wing is absolutely gorgeous with beautiful colonial fixtures and fittings so it really evokes a sense of stepping back in time.

I have to say, however, that I was slightly disappointed with the room. Well not the room itself, but the view out of the windows was of a brick wall and over what looked like a storage area for the hotel. However, I was quite thankful not to be overlooking the road as I imagine the noise of the hundreds of motorbikes would have kept me awake all night.

The room itself was great. Very spacious, large and very luxurious bed and a gorgeous bathroom with shower and jacuzzi bath.

We only ate one night at the French restaurant in the hotel (the Metropole) and the food was fantastic, although the restaurant was slightly lacking in atmosphere - principally because other than us and the waiters there were only 4 other people in it. The breakfast buffet was very good, however, they really do need to sort out the situation with the freshly cooked eggs serving. There is only one poor woman who has to cook eggs for an ever increasing queue of customers. This can also mean that breakfast takes far longer than expected.

We had drinks at the bar every night and sat outside round the pool. I'm not sure whether it was just due to it being Christmas but the lights all around the trees and the candles round the pool were gorgeous and made you feel like you were anywhere but the middle of a capital city.

Staff service was also excellent. We used the concierge for a number of bookings for restaurants, water puppet shows, taxis, etc. and everything was always sorted exactly how we wanted it.

Overall, it was a fantastic start to our trip - I only wish we could have seen some sun while we were in Hanoi!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RobM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and were able to upgrade our reservation originally made by a travel agent. We suggest the old building and a room facing the garden. The front desk was very helpful and showed us three rooms available for an upgrade. We picked a room on a non-smoking floor which was beautifully decorated. The service was excellent. As demanding guests which we are, we couldn't find anything wrong about the room service. They were able to provide different kinds of pillows, accomodate our request for a quiet room, certain type of fruits in the room, etc. The Vietnamese restaurant is faboulous both for lunch and dinner. The French restaurant is on the expensive side but the lunch buffet is a good deal. The dinner in the French restaurant is recommended despite the expensive menu due to the ambiance and the great live guitar music. The two guitar players while we ate left us with a memorable evening which we thought was worth the money we paid. We only ate one dinner (Green Tangerine) and one lunch (Indochine) outside of the hotel highly recommended by the conscierge. Green Tangerine was O.K., but we regretted going to Indochine and couldn't wait to get back to the hotel to have lunch at the cafe near the pool. We also tried Bobby Chin, highly recommended in travel books but walked out finding the menu for lunch very limited and the ambiance not so good. We highly suggest guests to stick with the restaurants in this fine hotel as nothing we have seen outside compares well. The location of this hotel is central. Some of the major sites are within walking distance. The hotel conscierge arranged a car and an English speaking guide that took us on a tour of some of the sites. As world travelers we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PHIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

This hotel was very elegant and beautiful.The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel.
Hano is a fascinating city and we fount the people very friendly and helpful.
I would strongly recommend a visit to Halong Bay-awesome!.

Stayed: November 2005
1  Thank CJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed at the Metrople December 23rd -26th, kicking off a long visit to Vietnam and Cambodia.

The hotel is beautiful, a gorgeous white and green landmark in the center of old colonial Hanoi, around the corner from the Opera House and a short walk to the lake.

Our suite in the old part of the hotel was on the first floor, spacious and beautifully restored, with every imaginiable amenity and convenience. Dark wood floors and creamy white walls, with large shuttered windows overlooking the pool and garden. Very comfortable bed, iPod docking station (increasingly a must, yet so few hotels have!), sumptuous bath, and large parlor separated from the bedroom with very grand double doors.

The Bamboo Bar by the pool is lovely and perfect for a late afternoon cocktail; the convivial atmosphere makes it easy to meet fellow travellers. The main restaurant had a fabulous breakfast featuring Pha, the ubiquitous vitenmaese clear broth soup, that we started each day with.

The newer wing, called the Opera wing, was noticeably scant on charm and felt like a big hotel anywhere, but people we met who were staying there raved about their rooms. Other than breakfasts, our only dining experience in the hotel was at the Spices Garden restaurant. We don't usually like eating at the hotel, and just went there for our first night since the jet lag was pretty bad, and venturing out for dinner seemed much to adventurous to our tired old sleves. We woke up though, when the food came...smartly westernized Vietnamese presented beautifully and full of flavor...this restuarnt is a big cut above your average hotel dining room.

Try to stay in the old part of the hotel for that colonial charm, and splurge on a suite if you can possible afford it...very few hotels deliver a more luxurious and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike14c14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

I stayed here in April of 2001 for about a week with my parents. We slummed it for most of the trip but this was one of the exceptions. I aboslutely loved this hotel, it is beautiful, great location. It made me feel like I was in a colonial French hotel. I just loved the atmosphere. The service was also great. I highly reccommend this hotel to the people who can afford to splurge a little.

Stayed: April 2004
Thank Dispatchernv911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews