We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Ranked #46 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Absolutely beautiful place to stay in busy Hanoi. Loved the old world charm & a great 5 star service. A real treat.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamburggirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,597 - 4,603 of 6,804 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

When you walk into this historic hotel, you know you are in a special place. The history is everywhere. The staff could not have been more friendly. The rooms are very large as are the fully equipped bathrooms. The bars and restaurants are wonderful, offering French, Italian, Vietnamese, and British foods. The property is well maintained and the location is excellent. While not luxurious, you certainly feel pampered here, especially in slightly third world Hanoi. It is fun to watch all the young Vietnamese engaged couples show up on Sunday around the hotel to have their pictures taken in their wedding clothes. High tea is great whether by the pool, in the bar, or at the sidewalk cafe.

Room Tip: I only stayed in two different rooms in the older section which were great. Street side rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great compliments following your recent stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive each day to provide our guests with the finest hotel experience. Your kind words are most appreciated and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much for your great support and interest, and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pham Thanh Ha
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a club lounge room in the opera wing. The opera wing is newer than the main wing but in keeping with the design. Very beautiful room with Hermes products in the bathroom. The club lounge offers butler service and they are extremely attentive. Nothing is a problem. They booked restaurants, dry cleaning and in fact anything you needed they did.

Room Tip: Club rooms are in the opera wing. Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feliceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Pham Thanh Ha
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Built in 1901 with rich colonial influence in the architecture located in the French Quarter, the building itself is a landmark, where it frequent by couples taking wedding shoot around the exterior of the building. High end and luxury brand outlet fill the facade of the buildings. A patisserie frequent by both locals and tourists. A few restaurants with French, Vietnamese and Italian cuisine and English afternoon tea and chocolate buffet which are sought after. This hotel has plenty to offer. It has a classical and romantic setting which is unique. Of course, the city has plenty to offer too in terms of local culture especially the Old Quarter and picturesque Halong Bay.

It is a luxurious and memorable stay for my honeymoon in early February. Swift check in at reception, where the receptionist briefly explain everything and usher me and my wife to the room and surprisingly our luggage reach earlier than us. The room in the Heritage wing is facing the street directly above La Terrasse and Le Beaulieu , classic French settings, marvelous spa tub in room, noise is bearable than I expected considered the traffic in Hanoi. While the Opera wing present elegant modern deco, no separate shower so had to stand in the bathtub for shower. I felt myself making the right decision in choosing Metropole as it provides comfortable bed, good service, perfect ambiance, Loccitane amenities, turn down service with refilled bottle water and delicious chocolates and macaroons; and not forgetting the honeymoon gift as a little surprise to us.

The Italian Angelina and Spice Garden are not disappointing, but nothing extraordinary – though service is good.

Overall, the stay has made my honeymoon trip to Vietnam more memorable. Although it is expensive but money well spent. If you are visiting Vietnam soon, do give this hotel a try.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room do ask the front desk to put you to a room which face the inner garden in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyCheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Simply the best. From location to room- the standard of all areas - clean, well maintained, great breakfast! Chief Concierge – Mr. Thinh was very helpful. Well worth the money and make our trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I was staying at this hotel during my short break to Hanoi and Halong Bay in February 2012, and understood from so many comments on the net that this is the best address in town. To begin with, definitely this is a very charming property. The trace from the grand French Indochine time is still very much apparent, especially on their original section of the Hotel. There are 2 wings available, the original heritage wing as well as the Opera wing (new building) where I was staying for 3 nights. Hence don't be confused, not the whole hotel is a heritage building, if you booked yourself on a premier room then you will end up on the new building.

The room was very nice, luxurious and up to my expectation for a 5 stars accommodation. Please specifically asked for a higher floor room, otherwise you may end up with a room facing a courtyard with a limited view to gaze at. Bed is very comfortable, big bright marble bathroom and the sweet smell of aromatherapy in every corner of the hotel creating the perfect luxurious ambience. Breakfast was excellent, generous selection of delicious western and vietnamese options, with the later I was craving for every morning. The street side cafe on the Heritage Wing was our favorite place to have strong vietnamese coffee and delicious French pastries or dessert in the afternoon, watching the world passing by. Service in the other hand is slightly inconsistent, some of the hotel staff on the front desk and breakfast restaurant could be a bit ignorant and unhelpful but other than that, all seems very attentive and polite. Recommended for a luxurious stay in Hanoi, this is the prime address in town.

Room Tip: Rooms with a higher floor and off street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAZJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. Your feedback is extremely important to us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as we strive each day to provide our guests with the finest hotel experience. Your kind words are most appreciated and have been shared with the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our hotel and we look forward to being of service to you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pham Thanh Ha
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a classic colonial hotel built in 1901 in the centre of Hanoi. Bedrooms are roomy and well decorated. There are both Western and Vietnamese restaurants of good quality. There is a swimming pool and fitness center. The staff are very attentive and polite. This is a luxury establishment and a very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshirevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLMHHanoi, Manager at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your recent experience at Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We were very pleased to read that you had an overall excellent stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your kind words on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and rest assured that it will be passed on to the whole team. This will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming back to the Metropole Hanoi in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Pham Thanh Ha
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
2.8 mi away
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
Lotte Hotel Hanoi
#41 of 607 in Hanoi
855 reviews
4.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#102 of 607 in Hanoi
2,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#77 of 607 in Hanoi
2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi

Address: 15 Ngo Quyen Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#9 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#18 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $222 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primary photo: La Terrase ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Accor Metropole Hanoi
Sofitel Hanoi
Sofitel Metropole Hanoi
Hanoi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing