We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful,friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Legend Hotel
Ranked #47 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful,friendly place to stay”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here..Our last visit was nearly 2 years ago, when it was still the Golden Sun Legend Hotel.Since then the only thing to change is the name,now just the Golden Legend Hotel.It may have lost part of its name, but it has retained all of its charm and friendliness.Mr &Mrs Sunny still run this hotel,and are a lovely couple, welcoming and happy,with a good memory for patrons and very good language skills.The young man who mans the desk in the evening(ashamed to say I have forgotten his name :P ) is a joy, he has a warm , bubbly personality, and always made us smile.All the staff are pleasant and a tribute to the hotel.Location wise, this hotel is ideal, with plenty of eating places nearby,and a wide variety of shopping close as well.The water puppet show is an easy 10-15 min walk, and the lake is near as well.I would definately recomend this hotel ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLS1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our property. As we always strive to create magnifique stays for our guests, I am so happy we were able to accommodate you and provide you with that experience. I will pass on your kind words the team, and I am sure that it will certainly serve as an encouragement to them in keeping up their good work.

We thank you again for sharing your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon to Golden Legend Hotel

Yours sincerely
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    131
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
189
390
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I recently stayed 12 nights at Golden Legend. The room was clean and modern, with make up services every day. The top floor has a wonderful little breakfast area with excellent staff and a wide range of breakfast treats including fruit, fruit drinks, crepe-like "pancakes", omelets or eggs how you like them, or a selection of Vietnamese style breakfasts including pho or steam buns, all included with the cost of the room. A great way to get you going in the morning!
Location is excellent for visiting around Ha Noi. A short walk to Hoan Kiem Lake, Old Quarter, Water Puppet theater, History Museum and much more. The neighborhood of the hotel also has many interesting shops and excellent eating spots, especially places where the locals go for cheap and good food.
But the icing on the cake is the staff. Mrs. Sunny and Mr. Ha helped with everything from getting tickets to Water Puppet theater, calling museums to check on hours, suggesting shops for "best prices" and helping with all things. Mr. Ha organized our travel out to Co Loa with two of the young hotel staff on the back of their motor-bikes! It was cheaper and quicker than going by car or tour bus. Plus they were able to ferret out all the places to see in the huge archeological and historical ancient capitol. This wonderful day included visits to several temple sites, earthworks and other features off the beaten path. We popped into a local roadside pho shop for lunch while waiting for the museum to open in the afternoon.
It was not hard to feel very much at home with the staff and to feel that our business was very much appreciated. I will stay there on my next visit to Viet Nam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Bob,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of our property! Your kind comments in regards to our great staffs, good location, the cleanliness and the service are much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I do hope that you will choose Golden Legend Hotel again the next time you are visiting the city.

Yours sincerely,
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed about 4 nights, with a break in the middle where we spent some time in sapa. All the staff were fantastic- from the front desk, to the doormen, cleaners, kitchen staff and the hotel car driver. They gave advice of what to do, booked day tours for us, organised numerous hotel transfers, and even lent us cash when we were running late to catch our train.
Don't expect the Hilton, but the rooms are extremely clean and comfortable and the room rates very reasonable. I could gripe about the shower (water pressure etc was pretty bad) but not enough of a problem to detract from the benefits of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 72narelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Narelle Dickinson
Thank you very much for your nice comment following your recent stay at the Golden Legend Hotel. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the services from our team as well as the enthusiastic staffs and your satisfaction about trip arrangements.
However, we sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incidents in regards to the water pressure problem. Please rest assured that we will definitely look into this and appropriate measures will be taken to ensure such inconveniences will not reoccur in the future.
We thank you again for sharing your experience and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We recently stayed here for 5 nights with our 2 kids in a connecting room. It was great as was the location, and really well priced at $80 p/n. The staff were a standout - happy, helpful and very patient, especially with our noisy 2 year old and our 9 year old who insisted on racing up and down the stairs to beat us in the elevator every time we went out! A special mention to the young night manager ( I'm sorry l have forgotten his name) who let us go straight to our room when we arrived at 4.30am after an overnight train trip and who organised our 5.30 am departure. His service was outstanding as was the lovely woman who served us breakfast each morning. The rooms are big and very comfortable with clean modern bathrooms, a desk and computer as well as chairs and a table. There are only 2 rooms per floor so we had a floor to ourselves. Each night they delivered a little card and chocolates which the kids loved and on departure they presented us with a lovely framed picture which was very unexpected. Overall our stay at this hotel was fantastic and the staff were a major reason why.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mrs. Jo Whatley

Thank you for your staying with us recent stay and for your very nice feedback on the TripAdvisor! I am glad that you found the location pleasant, breakfast service, and our staff's, especially Hung's service( the night manager) . I have passed on your comments and he was very happy to hear that his efforts are being noticed.

Our staff were only too happy to help you take care of your child. Many of them understand the feeling having children themselves and are dedicated to making each guest's stay with us the best they can. I have passed along your comments and they were happy to be of service.

Please take care of your Angels and enjoy your life!

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back in the no distance future!

Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A friend and myself stayed for four nights during a 2 week trip touring north Vietnam and would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are terrific and service is superb,great breakfast and being in the old quarter close to cafes and shops,The rooms are well appointed and very clean. we will be back again and will be staying here one more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffM449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Geoff

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to give us the comments. We are glad that you were pleased with the services offered as it has always been our desire to deliver excellent service to all our guests. Your comments are valuable to us in our effort to improve our standard of service to serve all our guest better. You will be glad to know that we have already conveyed your compliments to all the staff which will definitely boost their morale and spur them to provide only the best to all our valued guests like your good self. Thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 4 days in Hanoi on our trip in Vietnam. Not many days to see a lot, but at arrival at the Golden Legend Hotel we got fantastic service and advice to get the best out of our time in Hanoi, and so we did! The Legend Hotel staff is wonderful. The roms are neat and clean. For breakfast you choose from a great meny, and you can order anything you like. Fantastic! Always fresh fruit on the table, and smiling people around you makes your stay very comfortable. I can sincerely recomend this hotel, You will not regret!

Ingrid C. Nielsen
Norway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5231Paradis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ingrid Crowo Nielsen

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our property. I appreciate your kind words and detailed response in regards to our services and facilities. As your satisfaction is always our utmost desire, it is so rewarding to know that our team did their job in creating a great experience for you.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and I do hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the Golden legend hotel during a 3 day stay in Hanoi. The hotel was recommended to us and i wouold definitley recommend it to others.
The location of the hotel is great- very close to a myriad of shops and places to eat and within walking distance of everything.
The room was very neat and larger than we had anticipated.
The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. They arranged our trip to Ha long Bay and were more than accommodating with our luggage, laundry and even getting us our breakfast when we arrived late the first day.
The only thing they could improve on would be the maintenance in the bathrooms. It is by no means terrible, but a lick of paint wouldnt hurt. Also the bed in our first room was uncomfortable, but the second room was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleH_CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management10chancam, Front Office Manager at Golden Legend Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. Nicole

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Golden Legend Hotel.

It was a great pleasure welcoming you at my Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the quality of service that we are providing. I am glad to hear about your special mention of our Ha Long Bay trip arrangement. I will pass on your kind words to the team as it will certainly motivate them to keep up their good work.

However, I am well noted about your opinion about the bath room, and please rest assured that I will definitely have them reviewed with our team.

We look forwards to the opportunity of welcoming you back to enjoy a more memorable experience on your next visit to Hanoi.

Sincere yours
Mrs. Sunny
Golden Legend Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Golden Legend Diamond Hotel & Travel
0.0 mi away
Serenity Villa Hotel
Serenity Villa Hotel
#54 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
Blue Hanoi Inn Hotel
#51 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#53 of 580 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#50 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Legend Hotel

Property: Golden Legend Hotel
Address: 10 Chan Cam Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Legend Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at one of the wider, but nevertheless calmer streets in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, Hanoi Golden Legend is located at the heart of this mysterious and beautiful city. Perfectly designed in each detail of architecture, guests will feel like staying at a very special place. All the rooms in the hotel face the front street and are equipped with large European windows which make the rooms particularly bright and airy. From the lobby to the 9th floor where the restaurant serves breakfast, it offers panoramic views of the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing