We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Boutique Hotel in Hanoi Old Quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca
Ranked #223 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small Boutique Hotel in Hanoi Old Quarter”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights arrived at around 12 AM with the transportation arrange by hotel at $20/way/car. My friend told me that it cost around $13 to town but since I arrived midnight it;s better to ask hotel car so that can arrived there right away and no need to bargain with taxi driver in airport. However, the driver send us to another Church hotel in Hang Ga.

Check in process went smoothly and fast (but no welcome drink since I arrived midnight). The hotel room is small but clean. Amenities in room is complete with shaver+cream, comb, etc. They even provide turn down service and gifts (chocolate) and welcome fruit for the whole 2 days i stayed.

On 2nd day, i went out and back to hotel at 3pm feeling sleepy and tired. I found out that my room is not make up yet. But since i am so sleepy i did not ask for Housekeeping to clean it. They could have clean it earlier, and i checked whether i put DND sign on, but i did not.

Their room is not sound proof, i can even hear my neighbor coughing and she probably hear me snoring as well :) Their bathroom is with glass if you go with friends, reconsider it unless every time you go shower you ask your friend to go out from your room. Breakfast served on the first floor near lobby area. It can fit only 4 tables if i am not mistaken so during high season this can be a challenge if all guest come to have breakfast at the same time.

The hotel located in the old quarter and is within walking distance to the lake but far from the railway station. For those who travel to Halong Bay after check out, you can leave your luggage in the hotel then pick it up later.

Overall, I am satisfied with the hotel since the price is not reasonable but they really need to improve on the sound proof in the room and their housekeeping service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are honored that you have selected Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, an H&K Hospitality Management property, for your recent visit to Ha Noi. Thank you for your patronage.

First of all, please accept my personal and sincere apologies for the service that you experienced.

Church Boutique Hotels is dedicated to providing you with the finest in personal service and amenities to enhance your vacation experience. You, our valued guest, can only measure our success. We would therefore like to thank you for providing us with your comments and feedback helps us keep our standards at the highest level. On this occasion this was obviously not the case.

I have noted your comments with regards to the housekeeping timing as well as the bathroom. Please be assured that all the information, which you have provided, will be used in planning ways to serve you better in the future and I can assure you that I have taken measures to ensure that this level of service experienced does not happen again as this is not the standard we like to give our guests as we strive for complete customer satisfaction.

Yours Sincerely,


Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
45
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A brand new hotel and is conviniently located at Old Quarter. Walking distance to Hoan Kian Lake, Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre, Ancient Home, Opera House etc. Nice interior decor, rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Room 801 at roof top is super if you want to have a fantastic feel of Old Quarter. Complementary fresh fruits, chocolates and bottled drink are provided daily to your room is a total surprise. Staff are friendly, helpful and polite. Breakfast is average is you are not choosy. Will definitely stay here if we come to Hanoi for holiday again next time.

Room Tip: Room 801 is the best among all as you occupy the whole floor with a big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fjbfjbfjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Exceeding guest expectations is our endeavor and we are extremely happy to know that we have managed to do so.

On behalf of the management and team CBH, I would like to thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while Ha Noi.

We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for one night and although the room was a good size and the staff were helpful, we left feeling disappointed.
Room was a good size and well appointed. Glass panel between bathroom/bedroom, flimsy curtain provided no privacy or soundproofing. Fridge in room was warm, as it is in a small cupboard. No milk, real or dried for coffee.
Dinner in hotel was not good. We ordered pomelo salad, not available, and croque monsieur. Also ordered wine from the heavily promoted offer. Caesar salad instead of pomelo salad was horrid. Waitress ran out to buy toasted sandwich maker and bottle of wine as promoted wine not available! Croque M'sieur was made from 'plastic' ham and cheese. Wine was costly and no reduction offered as wine promotion one not available.
Breakfast was better. Staff did their best to be helpful.My advice to the hotel, if you aint got it, don't offer it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are honored that you have selected Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, an H&K Hospitality Management property, for your recent visit to Ha Noi. Thank you for your patronage.

First of all, please accept my personal and sincere apologies for the service that you experienced.

Church Boutique Hotels is dedicated to providing you with the finest in personal service and amenities to enhance your vacation experience. You, our valued guest, can only measure our success. We would therefore like to thank you for providing us with your comments and feedback helps us keep our standards at the highest level. On this occasion this was obviously not the case.

Please be assured that all the information, which you have provided, will be used in planning ways to serve you better in the future and I can assure you that I have taken measures to ensure that this level of service experienced does not happen again as this is not the standard we like to give our guests as we strive for complete customer satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your patronage. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

There are three Church Boutiques hotels in Hanoi and I stayed in the one, while on a recent business trip, in Hang Gai Street which is right in the centre of Hanoi's Old Quarter (as are the other two). This is a relatively small 35 bedroom hotel in a building that has been recently modernised to a high standard.

The location could not be better in the Hang Gai Silk Street just a few hundered metres from Hoan Kiem Lake and close to numerous bars, restaurants and other tourist oriented services such as tour booking and souvenir shopping.

The room was a good size and well equipped with free wifi and mini-bar. A limited room service menu was available but not sure why you would want to use this giving the other options in Hanoi. My room was on the top floor and offered a good view over the Hanoi rooftops. The slightly strange feature was having no curtain or blind in the shower with only a pot plant to seemingly protect ones modesty from the outside world. I am sure no-one can see in but the perception remains unusual.

The inclusive breakfast was more than adequate and all staff polite and efficient.

The hotel has an excellent location with a very reasonable room rate. If you're for a clean, comfortable, inexpensive hotel and don't need a host of facilities then give this place a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night only but despite of that, the hotel was great! The hotel looks as brand new, and the room is nicely decorated and clean. It is centrally located in the old quarter of hoan kiem, and very convenient to travel around. The staffs also are very friendly. I would love to come back and stay in this hotel the next time I will be in Hanoi.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nelson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Greetings from Church Boutique Hotels!

We are grateful for your kind comments on our property.

Our endeavour is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our precious guests.

Your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards.

Please feel free to contact me whenever you are in Ha Noi , I would be delighted to assist you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

It has a nice interior decor and conviniently located. Front desk staff were really nice and really helpful. Sometimes there were miscommunications with what they didn't tell us.

We booked a room on the premise a few days advance as we wanted to stay here after coming back from a short excursion out of Hanoi. Our reservation sheet only had the office address of the hotel group instead of the actual hotel location so we were really confused when a taxi driver took us to an unfamiliar place when we came back to Hanoi. Also, we asked a front desk staff to book a table at a restaurant we wanted to try. While she was really helpful and managed to get us a table right away, she failed to mention the restaurant we wanted was closed and she actually made a booking at their new location.

Despite all these each front desk staff was really hospitable which details I omit here just because I don't want others to assume they get the same treatment as we did.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ponkich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Church boutique for two non consequetive nights and we were so impressed with the hotel. Its location is perfect because it is in the old quarter so everything is within walking distance. The rooms were beautiful and clean and had everything you could need. The cheaper room was a bit squishy but the larger room that we stayed in on the second night was awesome!! The rooms dont have windows but it didnt bother us at all. The staff at the hotel were mostly amazing, they stored our bags for us when we went to halong bay and sapa between the nights that we stayed there and the young lady at reception could not have been more helpful when there was a mix up with our bus to halong bay, she was fantastic. The breakfast was limited but still quite good. The only things that let it down was one particular staff member who is so completely incompetent that I don't know how he managed to get a job there, time after time he buggered things up. The other thing is that we requested a car be booked to take us to the airport but instead they booked us a taxi. During our 3 weeks in Vietnam, we had many hotels arrange airport transfer for us and it has always been a private car company which hasn't resulted in any dramas. On this occasion, the taxi driver was driving around Hanoi in circles because he didn't know how to get to the airport, what should have taken 45 minutes took an hour and a half, we're lucky that we didn't miss our flight!! I would have given the hotel 5 out of 5 if it was not for these two things. I would definitely recommend this hotel to people looking for a quality hotel in Hanoi and I wouldn't hesitate to come back and stay again next time

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amycleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 49 Lan Ong
0.3 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Trong
0.3 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
0.8 mi away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#198 of 589 in Hanoi
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca

Property: Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca
Address: No.21, Hang Ca Street, | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 589 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Boutique Hotels are a group of newly built and refurbished hotels which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international standards and exquisite services. Each hotel has its own unique blend of contemporary style, unrivalled character and sheer elegance which make the hotels, the perfect place to stay for all visitors to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church Boutique Hotel Hang Ca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing