We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at a good price.”
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 2,575 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Vietnamese, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the hotel and we ate here each night. The food and service was great at a good price. They had a good selection of local and western food.

Thank BonnieMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,201 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had 2 brilliant meals at this place.

Initially ambience may seem a tad intimidating when you first walk in (more high end restaurant feel than café), I say this because we walked in wearing shorts and tees :-).

Staff were attentive and extremely knowledgeable.

Must try - one of the diy spring roll dishes; when in Hanoi this place is a must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jkcw6862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My friend and I went here one night with pretty high expectations, we love vietnamese food and weren't sure if just cause we were paying more than the street food that it would be that much better. Not necessarily hugely better but wow, great food with the classic flavours of vietnamese cooking and one dish which was beef cook in bamboo which the waitress had recommended was a sensory delight, so much so that we ordered a second one as soon as we finished the first!!
The waiting staff were also very friendly and attentive but not the sort of attentive where you can't actually have a conversation as there are so many interruptions. They also had a great cocktail and wine list to make the night truly complete!

Will definitely go back there when next in Hanoi, hopefully very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoseE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Essence hotel may be one of the best in Hanoi, but the restaurant is a little disappointing. We had a mix of Vietnamese food and western food. The burger was very good, the rolls were average, the ravioli boiled to death and the Australian Rib-eye Steak was dry and tasteless. Shame on you for using such fine words for such a dry and tasteless piece of old no-good milk cow meat.

3  Thank Thordane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoielegancehotel, Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear valued clients,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our restaurant. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apology.

Regarding the Australian Rib-eye steak, according to Chef’s advice on cooking process, after draft frying, a steak will be covered by pepper sauce then baked in the oven. By that way, pepper sauce will be absorbed to the steak and make it soft and tasty. From the very first time, if you had not ordered pepper sauce and steak separately for your own taste, we think it would be tastier and make you satisfied.

For the ravioli, it is fresh and easy to be well done. We agree with you in saying that perhaps, our cook boiled it a bit longer than usual. Had you raised your opinion while talking with our waiting staff or captain, we would be more than happy to make a change for you.

And the last you ordered was Vietnamese rice pancake not rolls. It is our traditional pancake and very delicious. It may not be pleasant to some people’s taste even Vietnamese since it is served with some other kinds of Vietnamese herbs and we understand your idea.

We all understand that it is not easy to satisfy all guests but your constructive comments will help us keep on improving the level of the service as well as food quality.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

After reading reviews on tripadvisor, and being the closest rest near our hotel, we decided to come in for a meal. Prices were more exp than typical viet but was a nice atmosphere to have one of our last dinners in vietnam. The clay pots were delicious as were the spring rolls. Unfortunately they must use MSG to make this super tasty as I woke up thirsty as after this meal! However was really tasty and they even asked us our feedback on a new dessert they had on the specials. Staff were so attentive and nice to have that level of customer service in a non pushy way after 2 weeks in vietnam!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eiei581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing