We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hotel and people at Essence, Hanoi”
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 2,240 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“amazing hotel and people at Essence, Hanoi”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Service, food and most of all the staff. Mr Long the Hotel Manager was an excellent service orientated professional. The care that they gave my family and I was one of the best we ever experienced. They made all arrangements for us including the rtip to Halong Bay. Well done guys!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank devarajarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,530
    409
    100
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

There is a good variety of food here and the service staff are quite attentive. We had eaten here for 2 nights and still there were items that we would have wanted to try.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RavenLynskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I went here feeling a little down
I had a thick slice of salmon with red and green capsicum, zucchini carrots, (I think they were roasted) and mashed potato with a fancy design. The sauce was a orange sauce.
Cost $15.30usa oh yeah I had a nice orange juice
When I left it was feeling a lot happier

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent service although touristy”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Vietnamese food that has been westernized for foreigners. The restaurant was filled with tourists. The menu is even listed in USD and not VND. The food was really good and the staff was so attentive and friendly. We definitely enjoyed our meal and it was very reasonable. It is definitely good for families or for the less adventerous.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgal926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my 6th visit to Vietnam, the last one being over 6 years ago and it is remarkable how rapidly the society has changed and yet still retains the chaotic but exciting ambience of yore. To replace the zillions of bicycles whipping through the streets oblivious to any pedestrian attempting the suicidal mission of crossing a street, there are now throngs of cars and of course the always present motorcycle. In the midst of this chaos in the Old Quarters of Hanoi, Essence Hotel manages to present a small, quiet oasis where one finds an extremely warm, friendly bilingual (trilingual?) staff ready to assist you with each and every request and demand. The rooms are cozy, clean and most comfortable. We dined there one evening as the breakfasts are an epicureans dream, as was the dinner.
The cost was most reasonable for such an elegant hotel. I highly recommend this Boutique Hotel to all travellers, especially to those who are visiting Hanoi for the first time. Thank you to the staff for making our stay in Hanoi a most memorable and wonderful stay and hopefully, I will have the pleasure of staying at the Essence someday in the very near future!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing