We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all true...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 2,169 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's all true...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Finally.... Un-westernised Vietnamese. Fragrant and flavours of Vietnam. The service was Perfect, right from greeting to hailing me a taxi for my trip back. Beautiful staff, beautiful food... Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GazAndMandz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,500
    399
    100
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vietnamese food in Hanoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Saw the other reviews on TA and gave it a go! It was lovely, very nice attentive service and atmosphere. The food portions are large and we majorly over ordered but was lucky enough to cancel two dishes before they were cooked. Overall a great first meal in Hanoi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Culinary Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My fellow reviewers on Tripadvisor rarely let me down but, on this occasion, the raves for this restaurant were well off the mark. I'm always reluctant to write a bad review for a restaurant and the staff here certainly tried hard. In fact, they proudly announced that they had a new French Chef and handed us a Western menu to go with an already comprehensive line up of dishes (probably the menu is trying too hard to be all things to all people). We decided to stick to Vietnamese fare and this may have been our mistake. Perhaps Vietnamese food isn't favoured by the new French Chef. Whatever the reason, our visit to this restaurant was a culinary disappointment and I'm sorry to say I could not recommend it to my fellow travellers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great menu options and presentation for breakfast and dinner.

The homemade yogurt was the highlight of the breakfast, whilst the fish in clay pot (which includes some pork) was sensational for dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excelent food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The restaurant is located in the heart of old quartier, a few metres of the nightlife street. It is perfect to have dinner there and then go out and have a fresh bier. The food is vietnamiese genuine and the service couldn't be better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmarinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing