We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fresh food, great staff and lovely ambience!”
Review of Essence Restaurant

Essence Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 2,240 Restaurants in Hanoi
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the ground floor of the Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa, the artfully designed Essence restaurant offers you various tasty authentic Vietnamese dishes and standard Western menu for lunch and dinner. Accomplished with an extensive menu of beverages including fresh fruit shakes, coffees and wines, the restaurant ensures you a wholesome meal with great food, excellent service in the right ambiance and fine spirits, all at a price guaranteed most reasonable in town. Wifi-internet & iMac is available, free of charge.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great fresh food, great staff and lovely ambience!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked table at this place ( a must) upon rating on tripadvisor and glad I did it.

Food was so fresh and tasty although a lot of carbs-they served rice noodles with almost every dish. Quality of the herbs we're so fresh we were impressed.

Favorite dishes included fresh spring rolls, fish in tamarind sauce and BBQ pork soup was super tasty. We opted for the autumn and summer set menu which were great value.

Staff- every single staff member was kind, humorous and friendly which made such a difference to the meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sakura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,530
    409
    100
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So love the food”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Food is superb. great presentation. The waitresses are very accommodating too. They tell you how to eat what I ordered. The Mango salad with shrimp is heavenly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank margieen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Australia
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Essence Hanoi Hotel has a great restaurant, you wouldn't want to eat anywhere else, love it. Great selection on the menu.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Up market feel - great food with lots of good western choices”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Some times when travelling across the Far East there are days when you just can't face anymore rice. This restaurant, although it does have great Vietnamese choices, also offers a range of excellent western meals (I have exceptional fish and chips and someone I was with had a great club sandwich). It's a perfect restaurant for a romantic meal with exceptional service and lovely food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TigerLilyVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoielegancehotel, Manager at Essence Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our restaurant both in terms of quality and service. Your commendation is a great encouragement for us to keep up our work.

We agree with you that the apart from the excellent Vietnamese food, we have recently upgraded the Western menu with a recruitment of a professional French chef and intensive training to all staff. That leads to the fact that clients now can equally enjoy both Vietnamese & Western menus.

We thank you once again for the support and look forward to being of continuous service to you all.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good enough to go back to many times”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent service, food and ambiance at a very fair price for the services. We returned several times as we wanted high quality Vietnamese food at a decent price. This restaurant delivers in every category. The chef brought us new menu items to taste and then sought our feedback on the food and everyone in the entire establishment delivered top quality service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobandCarol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Essence Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Essence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing