We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service and cheap rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai
Ranked #147 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad service and cheap rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just to give some context , I have never written a bad review in over 10 years of travel. However we were severely disappointed with our recent stay at the Church Boutique Hotel .
We checked in for 3 nights in a delux room at $85 US a night and on arrival noticed the that we had been placed in a room right next to the lift on level 5 . The bell in the lift was so loud even in our room, I asked if we could move but we were told the hotel was fully booked.
Upon showering the bathroom flooded with water and would not drain, I also notified the desk but was told the shower heads are too big for the drains and this was a known issue !!
The last straw was the bed- it was rock hard, I didn't sleep at all and my husband got very little sleep as well. I may as well have slept on the floor!
We checked out the next morning at 7am, tired and unhappy with the response of the hotel which was - sorry but all out beds are the same and we know about the shower flooding !!
I requested at least some compensation for the 4 nights we'd already prepaid given they could not find us another room without the same issues, but I was declined ANY compensation by management and told to read the terms and conditions.
Given our short - less than 12 hour stay and the legitimate complaints that I went to management with I expected a better level of service to say the least.
IF YOU WANT A DECENT HOTEL - look no further than Hotel Essence - what a contrast - amazing service, huge comfortable rooms for the same price including breakfast , and staff that would do anything to make you happy . This Hotel needs some lessons in customer service !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlliBAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Allison,

I have read your review with lot of interest as per your private email to us stating that “If no refund was done it will result on a bad review and you will regret it” – it is a shame that some people would attempt to blackmail hotels basically if they don’t have it their way by simply misusing tripadvisor.

I am sorry that you didn’t have the chance to experience Church Boutique Hotels’ service nevertheless it is a huge dissimilarity your review with the rest complimenting our product, service and staff.

Ms. Nharung, I do understand your frustration and disappointment nevertheless is not fair on us, you trying to tarnish our reputation and hard work simply because you can abuse this medium.

We hope to welcome you back to Church Boutique Hotels whenever you are in Ha Noi.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    120
    32
    11
    9
See reviews for
44
135
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This boutique hotel provided a surprise room upgrade when we checked in after a wet flight from Ho Chi Minh City for the second leg of our vacation. Their front office staff was very courteous and fluent in English providing very helpful directions as we sought for late dinner after freshening up. Surprisingly, Church Boutique Hotel was walking distance to anywhere in the Hanoi Old Quarter.

The room that was given to us was a spacious room with a very avant garde design and a color palette that was bright and refreshing. Even the restroom was very modern with sliding frosted glass doors and stainless steel accents. This is one of the most memorable rooms we have ever booked. Breakfast was complete in terms of variety and sumptuous in terms of taste.

My only regret is the fact that we couldn't stay longer as our Halong Bay cruise was scheduled to start the following morning. Nonetheless, Church Boutique Hotel provided a very restful respite and an indelible mark in our travel treasure chest of memories.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lam-ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and within the tripadvisor community. We are extremely grateful for your kind comments on the product and services.

We hope to welcome you back to Church Boutique Hotel whenever you are in Ha Noi.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This little and very modern hotel features a very good location on Hang Cai street, clean and spacious rooms (ask to be upgraded to a suite) and a good quality breakfast. Nice details provided by this hotel are a daily fruit platter and evening towel freshening and bed turning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Alex,

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review.

Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai is always striving for the best personalized service and experience.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon in Hanoi.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is new. It has big and clean rooms. Bathroom was clean and very big too. Staff spoke quite fluent English and were friendly. Breakfast was good. Rooms are very clean and I just wanted to stay in that hotel and not go out because it was really comfortable. I definitely will recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernd_Domingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Mr. Domingo,

Thank you for sharing your with experience with us and within the tripadvisor community. We are extremely grateful for your kind comments on the product and services. Our promise is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our invaluable guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Church Boutique Hotel whenever you are in Ha Noi.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

This Hotel actually has three branches in the City and we stayed at two of them as we came and went on side trips, one on Hang Gai and the other at Hang Ca. Streets close to the frenetic but interesting Old Quarter of the city and well placed to be able to walk to most places of interest or go by Cyclo to those further afield. The hotels are relatively small possibly only 18 and 10 rooms respectively . But both had good restaurants for breakfast ( serving both western food and traditional Vietnamese breakfast such as pho ga (chicken noodle soup ) which was the nicest I tasted in the City . Lovely friendly and informative staff all of whom spoke English. Fantastic personal attention . They are accommodating when it comes to early morning arrivals and late afternoon departures making rooms available if they have them

In fact although this was not the swankiest hotel we've ever stayed nor had the best views. We would say that this was probably the nicest time we have ever had in a hotel anywhere in the world. They just have the knack of making you feel like you belong.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aba09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Exceeding guest expectations is our endeavor and we extremely happy to know that we have managed to do so.

On behalf of the management and team CBH, I would like to thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation while Ha Noi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home in this wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Bright with large window, separate area for writing table. Good sound insulation (Hanoi streets full of vehicle) honing. Location was superb. Welcome fruits and good night chocolate, these are definitely more than a 3 star.
Shopping is so convenient, Hang Gai is the Silk street, just walk in any direction. We spent days exploring this area. Just walk down at different time of the day, it's totally different.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and within the tripadvisor community. We are extremely grateful for your kind comments on the product and services.

We hope to welcome you back to Church Boutique Hotel whenever you are in Ha Noi.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto A. Pérez
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

was pleasantly surprised to find that this 3- star boutique hotel had well appointed rooms comparable to a 4-star hotel----bright modern interiors, complete toiletries with a blow dryer, a safety deposit box, and a well stocked bar/ pantry. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping were all very courteous and helpful. It was a plus that they spoke english as we had trouble communicating with most of the locals in the area. The hotel being centrally located made it easy for us to get around. Restaurants, banks, shopping area, even the lake/ park was just walking distance from the hotel. Daily breakfast was satisfying and they had a good selection of ala carte dishes on their menu. whether for business or holiday, this hotel is an excellent choice.

Room Tip: the ninth floor corner room has a spacious balcony and less noise coming from the motorcycles on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YnaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHG, General Manager at Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Greetings from Church Boutique Hotels!

We are grateful for your kind comments on our property.

Our endeavour is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our precious guests.

Your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards.

Please feel free to contact me whenever you are in Ha Noi , I would be delighted to assist you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Hang Trong
0.1 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 58 Hang Gai
0.2 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Church Boutique Hotel 49 Lan Ong
0.0 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#49 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#53 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai

Property: Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai
Address: 95 Hang Gai | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Boutique Hotels are a group of newly built and refurbished hotels which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international standards and exquisite services. Each hotel has its own unique blend of contemporary style, unrivalled character and sheer elegance which make the hotels, the perfect place to stay for all visitors to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church Boutique Hotel Hang Gai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing