We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Hanoi”
Review of Pots 'n Pans

Pots 'n Pans
Ranked #77 of 2,239 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Pots ‘n Pans is about innovation. Vietnamese cuisine infused with an international flair.Our food takes the best ideas from modern Vietnamese and puts a new spin on them. The flavours are familiar but done differently. We don’t want to detract from what we believe to be the core of Vietnamese cuisine which is a big emphasis on fresh and local ingredients. However, we believe that the produce found in Vietnam should lend itself to a wider range of cooking techniques and presentation.Pots ‘n Pans is a dynamic partnership between Know One Teach One (KOTO) and its training program graduates along with its international partner; Small Giants. KOTO is a not-for-profit organisation in Vietnam that is changing the lives of street and disadvantaged youth through vocational training. Small Giants is a boutique Australian impact investment company that is dedicated to businesses that are changing the world.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Hanoi”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Staffed mostly by graduates of the KOTO program and extending its mission to aid underprivileged youth this restaurant offers a sophisticated menu and interior design. Located in a renovated old house in the French Quarter it is not too far to walk from the Old Quarter. We ordered the businessman's lunch menu which was outstanding, not only in terms of food quality and presentation but also value. They have a good wine list. The service was impeccable, professional and attentive without being intrusive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pots 'n Pans R, General Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Debra D,

I would like to thank you for sharing this wonderful review regarding your recent dining experience with us at Pots 'n Pans. Thank you for supporting our social mission. It is very important to us that we contribute positively to the society and ensure our impacts are beneficial to our community and our people.

Once again, thank you for your lovely words and review. We really look forward to welcoming you again at Pots 'n Pans.

Thao Nguyen & The Pots 'n Pans Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    102
    30
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really good, pricy, are other options..”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had very high expectations for this place because of the price and reviews. Was it above good? Yes. Was it sublime? No. Had the most expensive dishes; the foie gras for starters (which was excellent), lobster for main (ok, nothing special) and something I can’t remember for desert. Staff very friendly, bill easily highest from my Vietnam trip. Yes good, but I rather go back to essence restaurant twice for the same price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pots 'n Pans R, General Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear David B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent dining experience at Pots 'n Pans. Your post is very much appreciated. Our price, while in the higher bracket for Hanoi, is regarded as reasonable for the quality of experience. I'm pleased to learn that you enjoyed our food and friendly service.

Thank you and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back at Pots 'n Pans.

Thao Nguyen & The Pots 'n Pans Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
2 reviews
“One of the very best in Hanoi”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have been in Pots'n Pans many times, and never have been deceived.

The ingredients are always very fresh, and they are cooked in a real creative way. The restaurant's claim (to put a twist in the traditional Vietnamese cuisine) holds true.

As service in Hanoi is generally poor, it is refreshing to see that the restaurant succeeds to get professional staff (friendly, knowledgeable, good language skill) to serve you.

Add to this that the decoration is trendy without being showy, with soft colours,proper lightning (intimate) and enough room for privacy.

To sum it up, we definitively love this place and we will come again back to Pots'n Pan !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pots 'n Pans R, General Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share with us your lovely experience you had at our venue. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our food and thank you for your lovely words emphasizing on our excellent service and I'm glad that you like our minimalistic design. I will share your feedback with our team and I'm sure they will be very pleased as (again) they have done a great job.
We truly enjoyed having such great customers like you and we hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back again with us at Pots 'n Pans.

Thao & The Pots 'n Pans Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Come With A Very Empty Stomach”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Perfection from start to finish. One of the best meals I've ever had. If I was going to the chair tomorrow, this place would definitely be doing some of my last meal catering. By Vietnamese standards, it's expensive, it's a splurge meal. But, it is sooo worth it. I wish Vietnam wasn't so far from where I live, if I ever find myself in Hanoi again I will definitely return here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pots 'n Pans R, General Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear PAF36,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor sharing your recent dining experience at Pots 'n Pans. It is always encouraging for me and my team to learn that our customers are satisfied with our food and services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at our pace

Thao & The Pots 'n Pans Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in Hanoi!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Whether you are in town on business or enjoying your holiday, Pots and Pans offers great food (a mix of Western and Asian cuisine) that you should not miss out on. Coupled with the friendly service, cozy atmosphere and reasonable prices, it is definitely worth a visit. I've been dining here since it opened and have been impressed time upon time by the consistent quality. Highly recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pots 'n Pans R, Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Yves9000,

We thank you for taking the time to post a great review about Pots 'n Pans in TA site and thanks for recommending us to other travelers and diners. We highly appreciate your great support and we are happy that you have been coming back from time to time and every time you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you at our venue in your next visit.

The Pots 'n Pans Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pots 'n Pans also viewed

 

Been to Pots 'n Pans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing