We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Food”
Review of Pots 'n Pans

Pots 'n Pans
Ranked #95 of 2,294 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pots ‘n Pans is about innovation. Vietnamese cuisine infused with an international flair.Our food takes the best ideas from modern Vietnamese and puts a new spin on them. The flavours are familiar but done differently. We don’t want to detract from what we believe to be the core of Vietnamese cuisine which is a big emphasis on fresh and local ingredients. However, we believe that the produce found in Vietnam should lend itself to a wider range of cooking techniques and presentation.Pots ‘n Pans is a dynamic partnership between Know One Teach One (KOTO) and its training program graduates along with its international partner; Small Giants. KOTO is a not-for-profit organisation in Vietnam that is changing the lives of street and disadvantaged youth through vocational training. Small Giants is a boutique Australian impact investment company that is dedicated to businesses that are changing the world.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Extensive well thoughout menu - exotic, impressive. Quaility was fantastic and warm, sophisticated feel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coniferhotel_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PotsnPans R, General Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Coniferhotel_GM,

Sometimes the best messages are short and sweet - like yours! Thanks for taking the time to drop us your kind review. It really is appreciated.

I wish more people took the time to provide us with valuable feedback, no matter how small the comment is. It really does help us.

We hope you get a chance to come back as the pleasure was all ours.

Warm regards,

Thao Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    102
    30
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“High expectations. Average experience & food execution”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The decor and style heightened our anticipation of a great food and service experience. Staff attentive, warm and polite. Menu descriptions beautifully written and whetted the appetite. We had a party of 5 and each chose a selection of entrees and mains. Quail starter was dry (overcooked) and under seasoned. But nicely presented. The lobster starter was nicely done but one small 'spring roll' containing the seafood was underwhelming. Belly pork (2 servings) tough, overly fatty (not a good balance of fat and meat) and also under seasoned. The sea bass was fresh with variable crispy skin and slightly over cooked. The duck was tender but again under seasoned. The lamb was ok. We looked forward to the panna cotta but too much gelatine, so was rubbery. Could not discern the young coconut. Tried to like the trifle but our western palate did not appreciate the spice flavouring or the soggy brioche. This is potentially a great restaurant if the menu descriptors were delivered in the execution. Sorry, but being honest. Also, please have workman in when closed - the drilling near the ground floor bar travelled to level 2, plus we did notice tools over the floor when we walked in. Would not rave or recommend this restaurant based on the food execution.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced restaurant that needs important improvements”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We picked the Pots 'n Pans as we needed a smart restaurant with a decent setting to treat our special guests. Upon our arrival on the first floor, the AC was too weak to cope with Hanoi's August blazing heat. The staff seemed to recognised the problem and after several attempts to bring down the stuffy temperature in the room via the AC control panel, they failed to resolve the problem.

The food was nothing special. The 3 courses set lunch, stood at a wooping USD 35 per head (in Hanoi, this sort of price tag is categorised among very high-end fine dining) was far from the fancy description appearing in the menu and was rather poorly executed.

Worst of all, towards the end of the lunch, everyone ignored our presence as there was an army of young men entering the room under the direction of a middle age woman, they started to decorate the restaurant's walls with some canvas paintings. This middle age woman kept shouting and giving to the young men orders in a extremely loud voice. As the unpleasant scene went on, we politely asked the nearest standing by waitress to reduce the noise so we could hear each other but she did not do anything! Understandably, she could jeopardise her job if she dared to tell her boss to lower the voice!

Meanwhile, the shouting was getting louder and the room was full of people marching back and forward with more wall decorative canvases. Deeply disappointing, we had no choice but to pay the cut throat bill and left the place. Ironically, the middle age woman who managed crowd of young men seemed to shout even louder to show off the importance of her presence in the room in front of us.

We all thought that what a bizarre way of doing business for an expensive restaurant!

With below average food and poor customer service like what we experienced today, we wonder how a fresh face Pots 'n Pans could survive the fierce competition in the gastronomical city of Hanoi where tourists and locals have been always spoiled with choices of truly wonderful restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Giang T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PotsnPans R, General Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Giang T,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I sincerely apologize for the stuffy temperature on the ground floor and the fact that our staff didn't solve this problem in an appropriate manner or period of time. I'm looking into this matter personally, which has so far involved the servicing of our airconditioner and a group meeting with the staff.

I'm also very sorry for the inconvenience caused by our friends hanging new art works on our wall. The woman you mentioned in your review is employed by our gallery partner. However, this was undoubtedly poorly handled by our team, and the art installation should never have been allowed to impact so negatively on your experience with us.

I believe that the true worth of a business can be measured by how they respond and improve based on experiences such as this. I hope we can prove to you that we have improved if you are once again in Hanoi.

I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us, but I deeply thank you for your feedback.

Thao Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food but Very Overpriced”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food is good here. We had two different set menus and a bottle of wine. I felt slightly ashamed that we spent over $150 on a meal in Vietnam. No one should pay that much for a meal here. This is fusion restaurant, so not truly authentic Vietnamese food. Excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A special evening for a special birthday”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was agonising over where to take my Mum for her birthday. There are lots of options in Hanoi and I eventually settled for Pot 'n Pans. It did not disappoint. The food, atmosphere and service made for a very special and enjoyable evening. There is a nice bar downstairs where you can sit to leisurely contemplate the menu. Upstairs is the main restaurant in a beautifully revitalised modern style which respects the antiquity of the building. The food is beautifully presented and flavours are artfully combined to leave a lasting impression. Portions at first appear on the small side, but were so rich and delicious we did not leave hungry. My only criticisms would be that the restaurant doesn't have any soft furnishings which makes it rather loud with the noise of people chattering and the staff were at times a little over attentive. But overall it was a splendid evening and I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexanderRMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PotsnPans R, General Manager at Pots 'n Pans, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear AlexanderRMorris,

We are glad to hear that your experience at Pots ‘n Pans was pleasurable, even happier to hear everyone was full and happy. We love having our guests celebrate their special occasions with us, and happy your mother enjoyed her birthday here.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the best,
Thao Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pots 'n Pans also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Pots 'n Pans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing