We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great Old Quarter Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Ranked #96 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great service, great Old Quarter Location”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Silk as it was booked by our travel company, so we had a very good price. We had deluxe rooms that looked out, but not on the street. We found the rooms to be large, very clean (contrary to other comments) and very comfortable. The bath is behind a glass wall, but felt private enough based on location of the closet.

The location on the edge of the Old Quarter is perfect - you can easily walk throughout the quarter, you are only 3 blocks from the lake, perfect.

Breakfast was quite good -- great pho which we ate every day. Other selections seemed ok.

We found the service to be very friendly.

I recommend this hotel for its location, price and comfort!

Room Tip: Do request a room that has windows to the outside, it's worth it. Some didn't like the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Karen H,

Many thanks for your positive feedback. it is always pleasure for us to hear satisfied guests as we genuinely look after them.

Karen H, thank you again for sharing experience and we look forward to welcoming back to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel.

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    347
    86
    18
    11
See reviews for
120
386
49
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel as a last minute booking as a result of changed plans (flooding in Central Vietnam).
We found the service to be fantastic and unrelenting.
The rooms were great (though you need to pay extra for an external view), spacious and very clean.
It's a great location so close to Hoan Kiem lake as well.
Thoroughly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Petabarnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Petabarnard,

Thank you so much for taking time to write review about your stay at Golden Silk boutique Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed our "fantastic service and spacious & clean room".
Petabarnard, should you have plan to visit Hanoi again please feel free contact me at any time.

Looking forward to welcoming you back "home".

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Staff were not welcoming and for the price we paid we expected a lot better. Breakfast was average, room was nice but only if you pay extra for a city view otherwise you get a window which looks inwards into the hotel lobby or stairwell.

Stayed a total of 3 nights all day in different rooms as it was our base between our travels around Vietnam. The 2nd night was terrible, we stayed in room 304 which was right above the restaurant, I was awoken by chairs squeaking and chatting at 5.45am, our air con also started blowing out cigarette smoke that I can only assume came from the staff out back. After complaining we were upgraded to a luxury room supposedly worth $100. The room was good but I would have never paid the asking.

The location is the best part of the this hotel, but there are plenty of others that are much better priced within the area. Hanoi's a fantastic place to be out and about in, save some money and choose a nice b&b ,get out and enjoy the city.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Eri Y,

Warmest greeting from Golden Silk Boutique Hotel. Thank you for sharing experience after your stay with us.

We sincerely regret the issue that you had on your 2nd night staying here. Please rest assure that we take this matter seriously and will review with our team.

Again thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope that you will present us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We wanted to stay in the Old Quarter. This hotel was perfect. We walked out the door straight into the Old Quarter. Nothing like getting into the culture straight away. Very central to everywhere we wanted to go. Felt very safe and comfortable.
Room was very comfortable not that we spent much time there. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff very helpful.
Would definitely go back and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't mind what room we had as long as it wasn't noisy. No view but very comfortable. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Suzy P,

Many thanks for your 5* review. it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
We are very happy to hear that you were enjoyed your stay and had a comfortable room at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel.

Suzy P, once again thank you for sharing your experience and we are all looking forward to welcoming back "home" in the not too distant.

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andernach, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the lively center. Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull in all respects. Quick check in and out, porter for luggage, free soft drinks in the room and good breakfast. Although located in the lively area, traffic noise is low even with open window.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Winfried4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Winfried4,

warmest greeting from Golden Silk Boutique Hotel.
We much appreciate your 5* review. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feed back.
We are trying all the time to create a feeling guests love and in your case our team have succeeded. we are very happy to hear that you found out "Staff at Golden Silk is extremely friendly and helpful".

Should you and your friends have plan to visit Hanoi please feel free to contact me at any time.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back "home".

Kind regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff was very friendly and our room was spotless. The bed was also very comfortable. My only issue with this hotel is that the bathroom doesn't have a door. I'm a female and was traveling with two male friends, so the bathroom situation was a bit awkward. A lot of trendier hotels seem to be designing their bathrooms this way which can either be really romantic or really awkward.

All in all though, this was a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Puja S,

Many thanks for sharing experience after your stay with Golden Silk Boutique Hotel.
It's great to hear that you found out "the beautiful hotel, great location, comfortable bed and friendly staffs" here. I will share your comments with our team and I'm sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Puja S, Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We also stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our Vietnam holiday. We liked the hotel and I liked the surroundings but my husband couldn't stand it. It is like running an assault course each time you step out the door. The disruption from the building works was also relentless, starting with public announcements and music broadcasts before 6 am. But none of this is in the hotel's control. Nice staff, nice room, good breakfast, and even the meal we had brought to our room one day because i was unwell was surprisingly fresh and tasty.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Babette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanhGS, Director of Sales at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Babette O,

Many thanks for sharing experience after 4 nights stay with Golden Silk Boutique hotel.
we very much appreciate your kindly understand the surroundings of hotel. which are strengths point and also are weakness point of us.I am very happy to knew that you are satisfied with our staff, room and breakfast.
Babette O, thank you again for your nice review and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warm regards,
Hanh Chu
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#103 of 588 in Hanoi
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#70 of 588 in Hanoi
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#121 of 588 in Hanoi
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#75 of 588 in Hanoi
1,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#98 of 588 in Hanoi
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Address: 109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Silk Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elegance in Exclusive Luxury" 55 rooms and suites opening 01 March 2012, captivating vistas of Hanoi's old quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Silk Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing