We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Close”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Ranked #96 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Close”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was beautiful. The beds were comfortable, except for the 3rd added bed as in all our hotels in Vietnam, as was the room. Free drinks in the mini bar was an exciting bonus and the breakfast satisfactory. It is so close the night markets (Fri-Sun Nights) and the staff were simply fantastic!

One note, the bathroom has a glass wall. This was a bit of a mouth opener! But the pull down curtin was a relief!!! All fun!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissM277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    350
    86
    18
    12
See reviews for
120
389
50
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We used this hotel as a base for one week. We left twice for overnight excursions and the hotel stored our luggage, had rooms ready for us upon our return and generally made us feel very valued as customers. The rooms are small but very clean with good bathrooms. The help is devoted to their customers. Two comments. The dining area is on the small side altho the food was very good. We had a smoker in the room next to us and smelled their smoke frequently. Simply ask to be sure you are with nonsmokers. Crossing the street is an experience and the doormen are quick to help you. Mind you, crossing any street in Hanoi is a learned skill which you will master in a few days. The traffic is busy with few rules about who goes in what direction or on which side of the street. All the while they are blowing their horns. It is a fun thing to observe.
Lots of silk stores near the hotel. It is also a short walk to the lake with the temple. And some good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmcdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here on a Business trip in Hanoi recently. It was very nice, free drinks in the mini bar was a bonus. AC was cold. Hot shower and bath. Buffet was better than expected for a 4 star hotel. I would Normally book a 5 star hotels in Hanoi but we had a large group on a budget, so I was very surprised that many details were equal to larger 5 star hotels. This is the perfect choice in Hanoi for the price point/

Room Tip: Good option for budget travelers who want some luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were courteous and attentive, the price was good - however the problem was the bathroom. Had read reviews about it beforehand but chose to live with it. Totally impractical, leaning over the bath to close the blinds if you wanted to used the toilet to block the view straight into the small bedroom which was annoying. Regardless of how the shower curtain was positioned the floor alwlays flooded and being marble was very slippery. The breakfast was huge and very edible. Otherwise a nice hotel. Don't ask for a room with a view cos you will get a room overlooking the back of the hotel

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with a view the view could possibly just be one of the back of the hotel. With...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenne1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

If you want to be in the heart of the chaos of Old Town Hanoi where the locals work and live but retreat to a clean, comfortable, luxurious room at the end of the day, this is a great place to stay.
1. Staff is friendly, professional, courteous and always at attention to help with your agenda, taxi, answer questions or just to open the door for you.
2. When you step out of the grand lobby you step onto the sidewalk where the action is and the surrounding markets, shops, neighborhoods can all be accessed on foot (if you can learn the art of walking on the street with cars and motorbikes whizzing by).
3. Our room was clean and comfortable (upgrade from Junior suite) with a glass bathroom that looked into the bedroom
4. Breakfast buffet is complimentary with a nice selection of western and asian dishes
5. If you don't like noise (constant honking outside) the quietest hours are between 12am - 5am.
6. During our stay they were in the process of building a fitness and spa center in the hotel. Otherwise, there are many spas in the surrounding area for different prices.
7. The pho on the hotel restaurant menu was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Two separate short stays in October, both in rear-facing rooms.

Nicely renovated medium-sized property in heart of Old Quarter with all the positives and negatives associated with such locations.

Pros:

Extremely eager, professional and sincerely helpful staff who went the extra mile for me.
Solid breakfast; good pho but nice omlettes and other Western fare.
Comfortable, clean rooms; rooms in back at least were quiet, as well.
Had a feel of tasteful luxury and a welcome haven amidst the chaos of the city.

Cons;

Not sure about spa; was sent out (no problem; other spa paid for taxi).
Front rooms could be noisy.

In short, a solid 4 star experience at a reasonable value. Top notch service that was attentive and effective.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semanon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very fine. Good decoration and taste. Big and clean room and the best bed ever!. The buffet breakfast is very good. Good location and service. Friendly crew how suggested to us the best restaurants around. I hardly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marabaichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#105 of 592 in Hanoi
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#72 of 592 in Hanoi
1,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#120 of 592 in Hanoi
662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#74 of 592 in Hanoi
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#94 of 592 in Hanoi
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Property: Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Address: 109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Silk Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elegance in Exclusive Luxury" 55 rooms and suites opening 01 March 2012, captivating vistas of Hanoi's old quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Silk Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing