We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveler rating
370
379
96
19
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
379
96
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold quarterpiano barhang gai streetpresidential suitehalong bayluxury roombusy streetwithout windowsno windowother hotelshoan kiem lakecentral hanoilarge roomwater puppet theatrebuffet breakfastthe hotel is clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
752 - 757 of 876 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

After playing Don Quixote with the traffic for a few hours this place is great.
A sanctuary. We found this place as a walk in and have stayed for a couple of days great staff - friendly and unobtrusive.. The showers and toilets are excellent like you expect and the place is really! clean. Oh and they sell Belgian beer and you can have a pho or bacon and eggs for breakfast.

Room Tip: all pretty good
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Was in Hanoi for a business trip and we chose to go for this hotel. It is rather new, less than 8 months old. Situated in the Old Quarters, it is really good value for money. Clean sheets, good room ventilation and pristine toliet. Helps that the room that we got came with no extra charge to the mini bar.
Only peeve we had on that stay of 2 nights was the shower area was choked on the first night. It was however quickly rectified and the reception is always close at hand to ask if all is in order.
Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you are keen to see some 'skyline' and to avoid the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstherYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed in 2 different rooms. One with a window on the top floor = very good but the wifi was not working up there and the second time on the 3 floor with no window, noise from the elevator and the hot water in the shower did not work. Check rooms!!!
Staff very helpful, very clean and great location since you can do everything by foot

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rootsrock18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have booked 2 studio suite rooms with my 2 daughters to stay for pre and post night while heading to Ha Long Bay cruises. We come to know from the hotel web site that the hotel has just in operation for 2 weeks. This hotel beside being brand new and the price is also reasonable and afforable since the hotel located in the central convenient area where Hoan Kim lake just a short walk from it. We are happy that we make the right choice to stay at this hotel as this is a much better hotel as compare to some of the older hotels we have stayed before in the old quarter. Full set of toileteries and in the bathroom and there is free soft drink and beer in the minibar which is being replenished everyday. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choices and the staff very attentive and courteous. Therefore I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking to try a new hotel and rest assured that you will be in good hand since the hotel staff are very willing to help with customer request.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZHANG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked our 2-night stay even before the hotel was inaugurated, so it was really a bet on this one. We paid about 80 usd through Agoda, which was a very competitive price considering what we got in exchange. Being a soft opening, some last-minute works were still going on, but they were restricted to daytime working hours, and did not interfere with our experience.

The good:

- Hotel has a great location, in the heart of the old quarter. It's a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem lake, and within walking distance from many landmarks in Hanoi (Temple of Literature, One-Pillar Pagoda, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, etc).

- We got a room on the seventh floor which was modern and had a nice design. It's really a nice feeling to enter into a brand new room, especially when it has been decorated with good taste like in this case. We were facing the back of the hotel, so no noise at all could be heard from the street. The bed was very comfortable (pillows were great) and there was a big flat-screen TV with plenty of international and local channels. As advertised, we also had the free minibar with soft drinks and beer.

- Staff were super friendly. Special mention to the waiters in the breakfast area, the ladies at the reception and the bellboy. All of them were eager to help, and made our short stay really special. A nice detail was the chocolate gift and card that were given to my wife upon check-in, as it happened to be Woman's Day.

- Free wifi with good speed is available everywhere in the hotel, with a single password. As I always say, this is a lesson to learn for all 5-star hotels which are still charging for this basic service.


The not-so-good:

Our stay at Golden Silk Hotel was really great. The minor points listed below are just a piece of constructive user advice, in case the management gets to read this review:

- Safebox is not attached to the wall. Some extra plugs would help, but this is just my wife being too picky.

- Water pressure was not so good in the shower, particularly in the morning. I'm not sure whether this is a general problem in Hanoi or it was just in the hotel, but it's definitely an issue to be addressed.

Breakfast had its pros and cons. It was a la carte, so don't expect the typical buffet spread here. This also implies that you should factor some time, as everyone is served in their table. You get to choose whatever you want from a limited set of options, which includes both eastern and western alternatives (the latter perhaps a bit limited).

Golden Silk Hotel was a pleasant surprise, as we had all the advantages of a brand-new hotel and the staff looked really trained (which is not the norm when it's been just one week since the opening). As long as they keep the service standards and pay attention to the maintenance of the hotel, I have no doubt it will make it to the top spots in Tripadvisor. We will definitely return next time we are in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews