We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, depending on the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
Ranked #96 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed in 2 different rooms. One with a window on the top floor = very good but the wifi was not working up there and the second time on the 3 floor with no window, noise from the elevator and the hot water in the shower did not work. Check rooms!!!
Staff very helpful, very clean and great location since you can do everything by foot

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rootsrock18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for Golden Silk Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 823 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have booked 2 studio suite rooms with my 2 daughters to stay for pre and post night while heading to Ha Long Bay cruises. We come to know from the hotel web site that the hotel has just in operation for 2 weeks. This hotel beside being brand new and the price is also reasonable and afforable since the hotel located in the central convenient area where Hoan Kim lake just a short walk from it. We are happy that we make the right choice to stay at this hotel as this is a much better hotel as compare to some of the older hotels we have stayed before in the old quarter. Full set of toileteries and in the bathroom and there is free soft drink and beer in the minibar which is being replenished everyday. The buffet breakfast has a lot of choices and the staff very attentive and courteous. Therefore I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking to try a new hotel and rest assured that you will be in good hand since the hotel staff are very willing to help with customer request.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZHANG96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked our 2-night stay even before the hotel was inaugurated, so it was really a bet on this one. We paid about 80 usd through Agoda, which was a very competitive price considering what we got in exchange. Being a soft opening, some last-minute works were still going on, but they were restricted to daytime working hours, and did not interfere with our experience.

The good:

- Hotel has a great location, in the heart of the old quarter. It's a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem lake, and within walking distance from many landmarks in Hanoi (Temple of Literature, One-Pillar Pagoda, Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, etc).

- We got a room on the seventh floor which was modern and had a nice design. It's really a nice feeling to enter into a brand new room, especially when it has been decorated with good taste like in this case. We were facing the back of the hotel, so no noise at all could be heard from the street. The bed was very comfortable (pillows were great) and there was a big flat-screen TV with plenty of international and local channels. As advertised, we also had the free minibar with soft drinks and beer.

- Staff were super friendly. Special mention to the waiters in the breakfast area, the ladies at the reception and the bellboy. All of them were eager to help, and made our short stay really special. A nice detail was the chocolate gift and card that were given to my wife upon check-in, as it happened to be Woman's Day.

- Free wifi with good speed is available everywhere in the hotel, with a single password. As I always say, this is a lesson to learn for all 5-star hotels which are still charging for this basic service.


The not-so-good:

Our stay at Golden Silk Hotel was really great. The minor points listed below are just a piece of constructive user advice, in case the management gets to read this review:

- Safebox is not attached to the wall. Some extra plugs would help, but this is just my wife being too picky.

- Water pressure was not so good in the shower, particularly in the morning. I'm not sure whether this is a general problem in Hanoi or it was just in the hotel, but it's definitely an issue to be addressed.

Breakfast had its pros and cons. It was a la carte, so don't expect the typical buffet spread here. This also implies that you should factor some time, as everyone is served in their table. You get to choose whatever you want from a limited set of options, which includes both eastern and western alternatives (the latter perhaps a bit limited).

Golden Silk Hotel was a pleasant surprise, as we had all the advantages of a brand-new hotel and the staff looked really trained (which is not the norm when it's been just one week since the opening). As long as they keep the service standards and pay attention to the maintenance of the hotel, I have no doubt it will make it to the top spots in Tripadvisor. We will definitely return next time we are in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernan_y_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gonzalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Eastsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, General Manager at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Etschi1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, General Manager at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Uschi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Tổng giám đốc at Golden Silk Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Silk Queen Hotel
Silk Queen Hotel
#107 of 597 in Hanoi
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
Hanoi Pearl Hotel
#69 of 597 in Hanoi
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
Hanoi Imperial Hotel
#122 of 597 in Hanoi
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#77 of 597 in Hanoi
1,570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#57 of 597 in Hanoi
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Silk Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Silk Boutique Hotel

Address: 109-111 Hang Gai Street, Hanoi 21200, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $55 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Silk Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Elegance in Exclusive Luxury" 55 rooms and suites opening 01 March 2012, captivating vistas of Hanoi's old quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Silk Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing