We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful moments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Ranked #119 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect. Walking distance to town center, market, river and bus station for local buses. The hotel also arranges transportation from / to the airport for a reasonable cost. The rooms were at a very good standard. We had a room towards the back and it was very quiet. The receiving is impeccable, you are greeted very nicely. The staff was very outstanding and helped with all kinds of transportation and tours. I was impressed by this hotel and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 521 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent 6 nights in total at the Rising Dragon Villa hotel - one night by myself and then the rest with friends. While Hanoi hotels are known for excellent service and hospitality, this hotel goes the extra mile. While there are several Rising Dragon hotels, this one is exceptional! We were a group of mainly teachers - noisy, excitable (annoying?) etc etc but nothing was too much trouble for the lovely Cathy, and the staff, who attended to our every whim, whether it be train or theatre tickets, hotel bookings, sim cards for phones, trips to Sapa or Halong Bay or even posting excess baggage home! Not only did we receive amazing service but we became friends with all the staff. It really felt like home! When we went to Sapa by train one of the staff members even went with us to the train station to check we were on the right carriage!
All the rooms were lovely - with windows (something to look out for in Viet Nam - cheaper rooms either look out onto a wall or have no windows at all!) - and all the expected mod cons (but no robes - who really needs them!). Bathrooms vary - some separate, some glassed in cubicles but all clean and provided with quality products. Wonderful breakfast. Amazing choice - both Western and Vietnamese, and good coffee.
This hotel is in the Old Quarter and so walking distance to everything you should see, including Hoan Kiem Lake and the Water Puppet Theatre. The staff provide maps, directions and suggestions for eating (all great!) and site seeing, so no chance of getting lost!!
Thank you once again to the amazing staff, but especially Cathy, Tui and Phuong (hope I have the spelling right).
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hanoi!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent! Ask for a separate bathroom if glass cubicles bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jccoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was absolute bliss! From the moment we walked in, the staff were extremely welcoming and nothing was ever too much for them. The staff provided us with excellent street food recommendations and were always willing to go the extra mile for their guests. Rooms are great, beds were comfy and bathroom was clean. Great price for such an excellent stay. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissKMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The services that this Hotel has to offer are flawless, being one of the best places in Hanoi, especially if you are looking for a well priced hotel. The atmosphere here is very nice and welcoming, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. I also really liked the fact that they provide rides from and to the airport, and they organize tour arrangements. The staff working at this hotel is really friendly and helpful, and everybody here made sure that we enjoyed our stay as much as possible. This is definitely a hotel I would recommend to everyone visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacMartin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Listen, I am not one for posting comments about hotels and places but I just have to say something about this hotel. For a small, low budget hotel this is exceptional. Clean, comfortable spacious rooms. Good breakfasts. Hotel location is good, many places of interest in easy walking distance. But what really sets this hotel apart from many others I have stayed in is the staff. I would like to mention all the boys and girls on the desk because they were friendly, cheerful, helpful, patient, just a real credit to themselves and all they represent. So a big thank you to Cathy, Sophie, Hue, Ly, Hieu and Ms Shara for making our all too short a stay such an enjoyable one. As you can imagine, we highly recommend it. David and Carol, England.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The rooms were clean although not exactly spacious even with a superior room. I was expecting to at least be able to walk around the bed, but well, what do you expect from a budget hotel? We stayed here for a couple of nights and the staff made up for the small space of our room. The breakfast was good and filling and the location is perfect and accessible -- probably why we chose it in the first place. We get access to the street right away and the city transportation. Our overall stay was satisfactory and maybe I will come back here when I'm alone, at least I won't feel bad about the room size.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is clean and conveniently located, and value-for-money. The room size is just appropriate, bearing in mind it is a budget hotel. Most importantly, the services provided by the hotel staff were excellent. They were friendly, helpful, proactive and fluent in English. Among these staff, Cathy and Ly were most impressed. Furthermore, food and fruit are fine in restaurant. There are a wide varities of dishes available for selection in breakfast menu and these are all included in the hotel price. I would highly recommend this hotel to those who are planning a trip to Hanoi.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be more open to city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevenchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#63 of 600 in Hanoi
1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
#110 of 600 in Hanoi
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#184 of 600 in Hanoi
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Glance Hotel
Hanoi Glance Hotel
#68 of 600 in Hanoi
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#69 of 600 in Hanoi
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#159 of 600 in Hanoi
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Villa Hotel

Address: 43A Bat Su Street | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $30 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel is located at the top corner of the historic Old Quarter, just along the edge of the Citadel and alongside thriving outdoor market just steps from our front door. Along our street you can find a pharmacy, cafes, an award-winning spa, and various shops and stores carrying clothing, handicrafts, and other amazing finds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rising Dragon Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing