We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet place and sweet staff for a golden coin.”
Review of Tonkin Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tonkin Hotel
Ranked #291 of 588 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweet place and sweet staff for a golden coin.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice people,nice place in the loveliest quarter of Hanoi.The rooms are clean and for five bucks,you get a free breakfast so really can't complain.Being in Hanoi can be very stressful and a shelter run by a family crew brings you an oasis of peace in the jungle of the city.You can trust them to keep you in touch with all kind of cool things to do and places to see.Go there,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YannDemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
11
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in total,its a cheap and friendly hostel in the best area to be in Hanoi.I booked a boat trip to ha long bay with the hostel and the staff were very helpful i would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazcoles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg District, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel deserves 3 stars while their travel agency merely 1 star - hence the average of 2 stars.

Here are the details:

Hotel pluses:
- very efficient A/C which is quite important in Hanoi
- nice location in the cluster of local & tourist places behind the catherdal
- OK room, hot water
- rate includes breakfast although very limited (a local baguette with some butter & jam + coffee)

Hotel minuses:
- bed could be cleaner
- I saw a rat in the storage room (which is also a place where breakfast supply is stored, not just tourist backpacks...)

Tour agency - well, they sold us a Halong Bay trip with was supposed to have A/C & hot water in the room, which it didn't have. I'd be fine with that but this means that they ripped us off for 40 USD lying in the face (as the lower standard boats are roughly 20 USD cheaper per person).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukasz555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

London
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The room was a good size for three however the bathroom was a little run down and the room was damp, the three of us woke up with colds, seeing as we got more for our money from a different hotel near the lake which was not damp and had a much better bathroom, the room could have been less than $5 each. The staff are friendly and I would recommend the Halong Bay trip which you can book through them, however the pictures that they show you do not match the actual boat!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

good location, breakfast included (very simple), rooms are clean but small. trips can be booked at reception, very friendly and helpful staff. a good place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonkin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonkin Hotel

Property: Tonkin Hotel
Address: 1 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 588 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonkin Hotel is located right in the heart of Hanoi's historic old quarter. Only 3 minutes walk to Hoan Kiem lake, a short walk away from main attractions, bar - restaurants, banking, shopping streets, diplomatic and public offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tonkin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing