We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Street Eats tour”

Hanoi Cooking Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Hanoi Chau Long Market Tour with Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hanoi Cooking Centre established in 2009, remains Hanoi's only purpose built cooking school and culinary centre. A variety of cooking classes and street food tours are available twice daily. All classes begin with welcome tea, while a chef gives a brief introduction to the local Chau Long market and Vietnamese market culture generally. After a 3 minute walk guests arrive at the market and are immediately submerged into the hustle, bustle and wonder of one of the last remaining wet markets in Hanoi. Our chef will explain the produce and offer various samples along the way. After returning to the centre you will then participate in a 'hands-on' cooking class and the morning / afternoon finishes in our air-conditioned restaurant where you and your class mates can enjoy the dishes you have prepared along with free flow drinks. All guests receive a complimentary and much sort after Hanoi Cooking Centre apron and recipe cards. Class + lunch = approximately 3.5hrs For guests preferring a more adventurous time, our 5 hour street food tour also includes the market tour and then takes guests to 5 of the best known (amongst the locals and our HCC staff) street food venues across Hanoi. The number 1 rule for this tour = come hungry! For guests with limited time try our Market Tour & Lunch or Dinner package for a truly authentic Hanoi culinary experience.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
outer Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Street Eats tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Being keen foodies, our second trip to Hanoi was based around food and the street eats tour was perfect for that.
We had a great, knowledgeable guide and a fun group of eight. The food was delicious and we went to places we wouldnt have tried on our own. Probably the most expensive thing we did in Vietnam, so its not for everyones budget, but we enjoyed it and thought it was close to value for money. It was well organised and fun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank louie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    36
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“An Interesting Culinary Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We met our guide at the Hanoi Cooking Centre, and were served a cup of local tea at the restaurant. After everyone gets ready, we headed across the street for wet market. The guide is very knowledgeable and did a very good job in explaining. She even show us how to select the best fish sauce or spring-role skin etc. We were shown where to get the fresh from farm vegetable and fruits, freshly catch seafood, etc. We also saw some exotic food i.e. worms, frogs, snails etc.
After the wet market tour, we went back to the classroom. It's a kitchen with a few working bench. 2 of us share a bench, share the utensil and a set of raw material. After the chef showed the steps, everyone of us has to go back to our working bench to prepare the food.
It is interesting to learn to cook the Vietnamese food as you would appreciate the local food more better later.
After the class, we went to the restaurant upstair for lunch. You eat what you cook :)
The wine/beer/juices/soft drinks are free flow so we had great time enjoying the food we prepared and chit chat in the nice environment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Street Eats & Market Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was the highlight of our time in Hanoi. We started the morning at the Hanoi Cooking Centre, where we met our guide and headed across the street for the best bowl of pho bo we had during our two weeks in Vietnam. Our guide was knowledgeable and engaging. From the pho restaurant, we went to a local market, where he pointed out various herbs and vegetables used in Vietnam cooking. The we went to a delicious Banh Cuon restaurant (we tried the cricket oil but weren't fans...we found it overpowered the more subtle flavors of the dipping sauce). Then we went to Bia Hoi Ha Noi, where I was the only female (the other customers all appeared to be local). We had a nice experience there. Our guide offered a plate of what he called dingo (dog in our Western eyes), but I declined. We then went to a large market where we had these fried pillowy dumplings that were delicious and stopped for a traditional Vietnamese dessert, Che. Our last stop was this tucked away café where we climbed a set of stairs to a third floor balcony overlooking Hoan Kiem Lake. We ordered iced cafe sua da (Vietnamese coffee with condensed milk). A delicious end to a delightful 4 hours in Hanoi. Highly, highly recommended if you enjoy Vietnamese food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must do when in Hanoi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent the morning on the Street Eats and Market tour. Well worth it! The only downside was there was so much food I couldn't eat it all...what a great way to see Hanoi and learn about the famous "street food scene".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Overseascowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Eat, Drink and be Merry (and then eat some more)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

One of the best things about Vietnam is their street food and a great way to dive into the scene is to do a food walking tour with a local.
We meet at the Hanoi Cooking School in the morning and were served a local tea in a beautiful courtyard.
Our guide was chef Ling; we started by having the most fragrant and delicious bowl of Pho and then it was off to the market and checked out different rices, meat and vegetables.
We then hopped in a cab and went to the old quarter where the food sampling started in earnest, steamed rice pancakes with a special condiment (you’ll have to do the tour to find out what it is), local beer, snail soup, Bánh xèo and Bún chả. The tour ended with fresh fruit and a trip to the oldest café in Hanoi.
Ling is an enigmatic, knowledgeable and friendly host.
The tour goes at an easy pace, Ling is Hanoi traffic controller extraordinaire and at several points during the tour a taxi magically appears and whisks one to another wonderful location.
The booking process is really easy and getting there is a cinch (just a few dollars and about 20 minutes from the Old Quarter)
We were deciding between this foods walking tour and another and our hotel suggested this one. While it is more expensive it’s a great tour to do, it’s well run, and you taste amazing, local food. Because the tour is hosted by a chef who is also local he is knowledgeable, enthusiastic and keen for you to have a good time.
You can choose to either do the street food tour or a cooking class. Next time we will do the cooking class – I hope Bánh xèo and Bún chả are on the menu!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CateHodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanoi Cooking Centre also viewed

 

Been to Hanoi Cooking Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing