We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible place”
Review of Mai Hotel Hanoi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai Hotel Hanoi
Ranked #166 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“horrible place”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

They selling rooms with window on Agoda and give you, with no chance to upgrade, a depressing room with no window upon arrival. Staff not effective at all, way over priced for that range. Not very clean, very noisy. Look somewhere else...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avrile v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    9
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
22
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 with my family and I must say that I was very happy with the staff's friendliness and hospitality. They were really helpful in flagging down reliable cabs whenever we requested for one and guided us in our selection for a day tour. Rooms are large and clean, felt pretty homely. Staff were always willing to top up food during breakfast as we usually came down at the later part of the breakfast hours, there was a good variety too. One of the best thing about this hotel is the location. Situated in the Old Quarters, we could walk around almost anywhere. An excellent choice of accommodation in Hanoi indeed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramaramaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We found the hotel via booking. com. With the booking, we asked for some help, planning a trip to Sa Pa. Ms. Lien, the hotel manager replied immediately with a proposal meeting exactly our demands. At a fair price. When we arrived, we got picked up at the airport. The hotel was as expected - good location, nice, clean rooms, good breakfast and friendly staff. No good views from the rooms (In our opinion not important, because we were in the city).
If there were any questions or desires - Ms Lien took care. As the tour to Sa Pa worked well, we had her plan another trip to Halong Bay. The busdriver and the tour guide were not good - what she could not know, but the ship was well chosen. She took our complains very serious and promised to keep an eye on it.
Another thing we really liked, is, that she let us have a room to shower and rest for a ouple of hours with no charge, when we came back from trips and had only little time before the next tour. In general - we got the feeling of beeing taken care of :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDH4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

First, location is in Old Quarter, in an walking distance of the city center( the lake).
Service, very friendly indeed.
Breakfast very good.
Rooms are large clean and nice furnished, like a 4 star hotel.
A plus is that we made great deal at the hotel, buying our trips to Sapa and Halong Bay ( Phoenix sail was great)
They kept our luggage, during our trips, and offer as free transport to the airport and upgraded our room.

Overall a pleasant stay there and a great deal as well.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Helios Legend Hotel
Helios Legend Hotel
#159 of 588 in Hanoi
123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Hotel Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Hotel Hanoi

Property: Mai Hotel Hanoi
Address: 2D Duong Thanh St | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mai Hotel Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing