We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Splendid Star Suite Hotel
Ranked #20 of 662 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel was centrally located and a great value. We are a family of four, with two children under four years old. Not only were the rooms large and spacious, but the hotel offered daily breakfast. The breakfast was delicious and filling (it was not a buffet, but you can order either Western or Vietnamese food from the menu which is then freshly prepared in their sister hotel access the street).
The staff was also hard working and friendly. Everyone always had a smile on their face. The staff was very knowledgable about the area and would give honest recommendations, book taxi or tours, or just sit and chat with their patrons. My little girls loved the hotel staff and the staff always took time to play with the girls and bring them fresh fruit and drinks after we returned from a long, hot day of sight-seeing. The staff made this hotel a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it to backpackers, travelers, and families.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 717 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

At first we reached hotel by hotel taxi we had got warm welcome with staffs and we had brilliant service.I love coffee here and breakfast as well.Spring roll tasty than some restaurant.We just had 3 nights here then we went to Halong Bay for 2 nights.We tried to book room here when we come back but room not available for us.
For the hotel location nearby Church one beautiful here and just 10 mints maximum to walking to Old quarter.We actually had dinner from lake area and we walked around the lake then walk back to hotel.You will never lost because you just find the church then you will found hotel.
Absolutely next time we will be here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nanpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've travelled all around the world but never met staff that have been this helpful, welcoming and generous. As soon as you arrive you realise that the staff will go out their way to make it a great stay. One of the girls on reception in particular is kind of gorgeous as well, ha, sorry, I couldn't help but comment.

The beds are really comfy, the bathroom was clean, spacious and stocked with good toiletries. The shower was a bit low if you're tall but that's common in SE Asia The only downsides are that there's no lift so a bit of a walk if on the top floor. Also, the air con system is very noisy, like there's a storm outside. Breakfast was excellent and served even if you missed the advertised close time by quite a distance. Balcony on top floor but not a great view. Tv had lots of channels and the rooms have both a dvd player and a computer with internet access even if the connectivity is mixed depending on what floor you're on. Good location near the church and the staff will help with tours and booking taxi to the airport. Great value, incredible staff and a top hotel overall. Simply stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crazy_Jim_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wedding anniversary trip to Hanoi and we booked the Honeymoon Suite, which cost less than 50dollars. Very spacious room and comes with a round bed. Location wise, it is just next to the Cathedral in the heart of Old Quarter.

If you are a light sleeper and do not want to wake early, ask for room number ending with 01. For room numbers ending with 02, it has balcony and you can rely on the hourly chime from the cathedral (even longer chimes at 7am on Saturday) to rise early and explore the town.

We had the luxury of staying in room 502 & 602, due to check-in / out for outbound trip to Halong Bay. Room 602 is the best but it comes with the exerience of having to climb 6 level of stairs. splendid Star suite is not suitable for elderly, however the other 2 Splendid Star properties (located just behind, connected by the back alley) has lifts. Both 502 & 602 has a samall balcony facing the cathedral.

Walking distance to Dong Xuan night market and the rest of Old Quarter. Behind the hotel, there are small street food stalls if you are game to try.

Breakfast available ala carte (if included in room package) and is cooked upon order. Free flow of juices and coffee / tea. Selection includes western from cereals, pancakes, sandwiches, to local delights such as pho, crab soup noodle, sticky rice and spring rolls. You can even order breakfast to have them in room.

Airport transfer can be arranged with the hotel. It is advisable to arrange for transfer if you arrive late in the afternoon as their evening sets in early (dark at 6+pm). To travel within the city during stay,hotel also assist to call for taxis and speak in local language with taxi driver to ensure that you get to the right destination.

Why we say that the hotel provides excellent service, they recommend places to eat, visit etc and upon arrival back at the property they never fail to give you a smile or have small chat to check if everything is ok. All staff within the property is the same, even the cleaners! It is a small cozy hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIASINGapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Our stay was brilliant and the hotel couldn't have been in a better location for the sites of the old town. Will definitely come back next time in Hanoi.
The family room is incredibly spacious and comfortable. The view over the cathedral is impressive.
The generosity of the wonderful staff extends to a fantastic breakfast option as good as any in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was a perfect location in the Old Quarter walking distance to night markets, the lake. Free wifi or computer in the room. Very friendly staff they couldn't do enough for you.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Only one small negative this one we stayed in did not have a lift and with one of us having had 2 knee replacements lucky we were only on 2nd floor. Although staff offered to accommodate us in another of their hotels but we elected to stay. Excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

All staffs are friendly and very helpful to suggest and guide in detail(with map) where should we visit upon arrival as well as fulfilled all our need from times to times. Free drinks available all day long *their fruit juices are fabulous.The hotel located very conveniently, just few minutes walk to Saint Joseph Cathedral, Hoan Kien Lake, Water Puppet theatre and etc. Additionally, there are also some nice and affordable restaurants,cafe and massage shop available next to the hotel. Highly recommend to all travellers who planning to visit Hanoi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stepyleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#44 of 603 in Hanoi
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eternity Hotel
Eternity Hotel
#343 of 603 in Hanoi
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#69 of 603 in Hanoi
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#42 of 603 in Hanoi
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Suite Hotel

Address: No 28 Au Trieu Street | Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 662 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $34 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splendid Star Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the newest star in our hotel group, located at one of the quietest streets in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, and it takes you only a few steps to reach the heart of Hanoi - Hoan Kiem Lake, as well as a lot of famous tourist spots, restaurants and other recreational places. Splendid Star Suite is the result from learning serving-client experiences at three of our prior hotels, aiming at satisfying customers best. Splendid Star Suite is an excellent blend of modern architecture and tasteful design; also all rooms come with a balcony or a large window with large space, so you can see a extremely beautiful panorama of the church as well as the life of Hanoians. Rooms are equipped with sound-proof glass so as to provide a quiet and relaxed space to escape from the hustle and bustle and hectic pace of life in Hanoi. A more special thing is the design of round bed room with a romantic and cozy atmosphere dedicated to couples, definitely promising to bring you sweet and memorable memories. Above all, Splendid Star Suite hotel is a really ideal place to stay with the staff trained under the standards of Splendid Star Hotel system who are enthusiastic, professional and always ready to welcome you and longing to contribute to your memorable vacation about Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Splendid Star Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing