We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Windy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Windy Hotel
Ranked #413 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was in Hanoi last week on a business trip and found the hotel very clean and comfortable with good wifi connection on the 4th floor and eating places/emergency grocery stores nearby. The pickup from and to the airport went smoothly and the general manager mr. Nguyen Dang Binh went out of his way to make my tour of hanoi (after the conference) a memorable and unforgettable experience! The staff are also friendly and helpful. While its not in the old quarter, taxis (make sure you get the hotel to call one run by the meter) are relatively cheap (at least in comparision with europe) and its easy (allowing for some rush hour traffic delays)to get to and from the quarter. I would certainly recommend the hotel to Hanoi visitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maheshgva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
4
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The service and assistance rendered during our visit was very good. We met with typhoons and plans were cancelled (avoid Aug and Sept) but Ms Thao Nguyen helped us alot in terms of getting day tours, giving us preferential rates for the rooms.

The room is ok, their room cleanliness is good. We stayed for 6 nights there and they do make us feel like home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuaYiEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I travel all over the world for my work, and it is really rare to find a hotel that is a home away from home. The Windy Hotel not only had one of the best and friendly staff I have ever seen. The Hotel Manager is also very friendly and helpful to all of his guest. Along with the great food and nice clean rooms, I will be telling all of my friends who travel to Hanoi about this hotel. Thank Windy Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikerbraden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Frankly this was not my hotel of choice. I bought a Groupon deal for its sister hotel, Hanoi Triumphal Hotel which is located near the Old Quarters where all the activities and happenings are but was informed a few days before my arrival that Hanoi Triumphal Hotel was closed for renovation and Hanoi Windy Hotel was offered to me as an alternative without any additional charges. It was too late for me to do anthing but to agree to the arrangement.

As part of the deal, the hotel has also arranged for a pick-up from the airport and to our disappointment, we could not find the driver when we came out of the arrival hall, though a couple of phone calls to the hotel after waiting for 20mins solved the problem (though we were really anxious at that point in time as it is the first time in Vietnam for our party of 3 girls). Unfortunately, the driver could not speak English so I was not sure what went wrong but I believe that the driver was waiting at the lobby B of the airport when we are at lobby A. The car we went into did not seem to belong to the hotel nor a taxi company which raised my eye-brow a little.

Nonetheless, we reached the hotel safely and were warmly greeted by Ms Thao Nguyen who apologised for the incident at the airport. She and the other hotel staff spoke good English and was able to take care of our needs, including booking a 2D1N trip to Halong Bay. Though Ms Thao did try to recommend to us their other travel packages for our remaining days in Vietnam, she was not pushy and was in fact very responsive over emails. Only thing was that they are not very flexible in aranging for the Halong trip. We were to stay in the hotel for 2 nights and our trip was arranged to be in between the 2 nights, ie, we had to check out of our room after our first night to go for the 2D1N Halong Bay trip before checking back into the hotel for another night. We tried to ask for our hotel stay to be 2 nights consecutively before going over to Halong Bay to avoid the hassle of checking in and out of the hotel room but was told that it is not possible unless we pay for another night at the Hotel (even though we will not be in Halong Bay).

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable even with 3 of us in the room. Usual amentities expected of a hotel room are provided. However, not sure whether this is a common problem in Vietnam but water pressure and temperature of the shower tends to fluctuate as you use though it was not really very disruptive.

Location-wise:
PROS - It is tucked in a small lane off the main roads and hence away from the noise of the traffic which helped ensure a good nights' sleep. There are a couple of local provisional stores down the lane which was helpful. It is also perfect for those who intend to visit the temple of literature, as it is just a 5 mins walk away. There is also a nice pho shop about a 2 mins walk from the hotel (walk toward the main road then turn right; would recommend the fried beef pho). KFC and Pizza Hut is also available at about 5 mins walk away from the hotel (walk towards the main road, turn left and cross the main road).
CONS - It is far from the Old Quarters where all the happenings and "touristy" places are. A good 20-30 mins walk under the hot sun is no joke, although taking a taxi would easily solve the problem. It cost about VND60k to get to the Old Quarters from the hotel, which is inexpensive. The issue is not knowing whether the taxi you are getting on is regulated as I understand that there is alot of private taxi companies in Vietnam but oh well, guess this got to be trial and error and is part of the joy of travelling.

Breakfast provided by the hotel is sufficient though not impressive. Staff are generally helpful and eager to make conversation. WIFI in our room at level 3 is almost non-existant.

All-in-all, this is a ok hotel to stay in for the good night's sleep, especially if you are on a business trip rather than leisure. Central location to the railway station and selected places of interest. For me, I would prefer to stay closer to the Old Quarters where there are also no lack of hotels at good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CausalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good location for the temple of literature, nice big clean room, friendly and helpful staff. However don't be fooled by the spa and sauna as it is a separate business next door to the hotel in a back alley. And the fitness centre advertised on agoda does not exist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Packhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice hotel with good facilities and very well located. Breakfast is rich and substantial and all the staff is willing to help you and make your stay really comfortable. Really pays the price of the rooms, which is acceptable. Have to highlight the main receptionist as she was so helpful with us, booked a nice boat for Halong bay, took care of train tickets to Sapa but mainly she was all the time extremely nice and careful with us. Thank you Miss Thao. Very friendly environment in the hotel, so friendly that we took a bottle of Port Wine to make a toast with Miss Thao and the manger Mr. Bin, also very nice person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Rooms were terrific, beds very comfortable, very clean and stylish. The breakfasts were very nice - good choice and plenty. Location was brilliant - rigth in the centre of Hanoi, near by Temple of Literature and Museum of Art. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, caring and welcoming. They helped us to arrange a numbers of trip and all were successful and enjoyed.
Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fong Lim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Emotion Hotel
Hanoi Emotion Hotel
#197 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eastin Easy GTC Hanoi
Eastin Easy GTC Hanoi
#200 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asean Hotel
Asean Hotel
#478 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#142 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Van Mieu 2 Hotel
Van Mieu 2 Hotel
#468 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angel Palace Hotel
Angel Palace Hotel
#70 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Windy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Windy Hotel

Property: Hanoi Windy Hotel
Address: 23 Thong Phong Alley | Ton Duc Thang Str, Dong Da dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hanoi Windy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presenting Asian charm and European hospitality, Windy hotel Hanoi is near by The Temple of Literature in central Hanoi. Offering modern rooms with free Wi-Fi access, it houses a spa, gym, a bar, restaurant, conference halls and karaoke facilities. Elegantly furnished, spacious air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Windy Hanoi are equipped with a satellite TV and fridge. En suite bathrooms come with a bathtub and shower facilities.Guests can recharge with a massage or relax at the sauna and Karaoke. Handmade gifts and bags are sold at the hotel's lobby, great for last minute souvenir shopping. Wi-Fi access is also available at the hotel's lobby and Portraits Bar.Ho Giam Restaurant serves international delights from breakfast through dinner, while the Bar and coffee open their doors at all day.Hanoi Windy Hotel is winthin couple of minute walk to Temple of Literature, Museum of Art, 5-minute walk to Ho Chi Minh Complex and 10 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and Dong Xuan Market. The Noi Bai International Airport is a 40-minute drive away. Free on-site parking is available.Staff at the 24-hour front desk can provide assistance with laundry, currency exchange and luggage storage services. Tours and day trips can also be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hanoi Windy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing