We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad we only ventured in on our last day.”
Review of Marilyn's Cafe

Marilyn's Cafe
Ranked #1,681 of 2,294 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Betty's Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“sad we only ventured in on our last day.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our hotel was just down the alley, and we walked past this place at least three times everyday
Finally went in on the last day, sat upstairs on the terrace balcony , with nice views of the church.
Had a superb meal , very affordable, and also our first bottle of Vietnamese wine, not bad either without breaking the bank .
If you staying in the old quarter, its just on the square opposite the cathedral
Do not be put off by the waitron outside trying to lure you in, ( which I find annoying at times ) its a clothing boutique on the lower floor, and restaurant on the next two levels .
Go and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    65
    46
    29
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go there for the view!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a second floor establishment with a little balcony sitting 2-3 tables depending on the no of people. Food is average. It's priced for tourist (mid priced) come to this cafe for the atmosphere and the view overlooking the little roundabout of the cathedral. The shade of the trees, the traffic passing below ....it's a good place to sit back with a glass of wine and soak in the atmosphere. I unfortunately was traveling with kids and could only let out a wishful sigh.
The interior is great too - high ceiling, large French windows, black and white tiles, fans. It's decorated in French colonial style.
I had the special - duck with orange sauce ..... Not good and it was the priciest item!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HuiBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colmurano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Close to the church”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Close to our hotel and a view of the church, service was great, presentation was above average, taste was average, no air conditioning, good wine selection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great view on the Balcony of St.Joseph Church”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After a long walking tour of Hanoi we stopped here for drinks on the Balcony until the St.Joseph Church opened.
The air-con. Inside was refreshing but we wanted a view of the streets so we opted for the Balcony which was lovely.
The Snow lemon was a delicious snow cone drink..my new favorite drink in Hanoi.
Menu prices were reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funnydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Thai Beef Salad is amazing”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is one of the best options in a very touristy strip.

The staff is very attentive. There is a rooftop which is perfect for cocktails with friends and a secnd floor dining room with a balcony. There are great people watching opportunities! Even if you can't sit right on the balcony ( it's tiny and only holds a few tables) the tables right next to the balcony are very nice too.

There are lots of dining choices both western and asian but I only get the Thai Beef Salad because it is PERFECT. The beef is tender and not overcooked, the vegetables are fresh, the herbs are perfect. I also liked the carrot cake alot. Prices are reasonable.

If you are with a few friends and want to hang out in this part of town you should try Marilyn or else the Hanoi Social Club which is a few blocks away. Marilyn is a more traditional though still hip space and it also has a teriffic view. The HSC is a more eclectic space and very homey. Both are very comfortable, both have rooftop seating. I probably wouldn't go to Marilyn during the day but it's a fantastic spot for evening and night time. HSC is good for daytime reading or studying and nighttime casual hangout.

Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marilyn's Cafe also viewed

Hanoi, Vietnam
 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Marilyn's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing