We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel recommended!”
Review of Gondola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gondola Hotel
Ranked #108 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The goods:
Great location, in the center of the city. Very spacious room. Very helpful staff (organized our tours before our arrival, cost us much less than tour companies we could find ourselves).

The challenges:
Noise audible from the hotel corridor (but not from the street). Despite the breakfast buffet having a large selection, food was just average. Not very good level of English (except one person, an evening receptionist).

Conclusion: We are a satisfied young couple :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkaisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 569 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Travelled independently and simply cannot say enough by way of thanks to Hien (Annie) for her assistance in organising and making our trip to Hanoi and Halong Bay terrific! Hotel itself is splendid and well located. We had a 7th floor suite with terrasse with view over the city to the lake. Complimentary New Years Eve drinks and buffet was very thoughtful and added to a lovely experience. Highly recommended. Wish you every success :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeBienvenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just to echo what others have said. Ideal location near to the Lake and Old Quarter. Close to shops, restaurants and located in a quiet side street. Rooms are generally small everywhere, but that's to do with the overall width of buildings being restricted due to tax charges (apparently). How long do you spend in a room anyway? Still, the rooms are well appointed, and have a kettle with tea and coffee, plus 2 small bottles of mineral water (complimentary each day). Nice roomy bathrooms and massive shower. Staff very friendly and helpful. Internet terminals (free) in the ground floor lounge. Breakfast is very good, reasonable selection to suit most people and the fresh omelettes were nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. Easy walk to the lake and in and around the old quarter. Hanoi is a very busy place, but on our 7th floor room we had quiet. Rooms are clean and comfortable, however do not expect a big room.
Friendly staff. Good choice of food for breakfast, and also a chef for omelettes.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ford_xy_gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We are 3 ladies & stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package,it is in a good location near Hoan Kiem Lake in the old quarter, it was rated 3 1/2 stars, but should be higher we received 5 star service. when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised how beautiful the hotel is, & the STAFF here are Amazing they could not do enough for us. They remembered who we were and greeted us every time they saw us. We were able to leave our luggage here while we went to visit other parts of Vietnam. The room was large as any 5 star hotel, bed, bathroom was all very clean, Breakfast had good choices, Highly recommend this hotel to everyone, we will definately stay here again if we get the chance to go back to Hanoi. Thank you Gondola Hotel your staff made our stay in Vietnam a very memorable one

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We are a family traveling with young children, and we had a lovely stay at the Gondola Hotel in the middle of Hanoi. Our stay was arranged by our tour service, "Holidays Vietnam" and we were very pleased with the quality of the hotel, the kind staff, the great breakfast, and the convenient location. We would definitely consider staying at the Gondola again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel was part of our tour package.

It's in a great central location in Hanoi. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfy, clean and a good size.

There is only one lift, so that can take some time if you are in a rush.

The breakfast buffet is really good but the food temp could be a bit warmer.

Lots of good pubs and restaurants in the area. The roof top bar is quite cute and has some yummy cocktails.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photogfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gondola Hotel H, Director of Front Office at Gondola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear photogfrog,

Thank you very much for your review at the Gondola Hotel.

Located right at the heart of the Old Quarter, just next to the Hoan Kiem lake, I am always proud of the “great central location” of the hotel. Happily, you also love the location of the hotel.

Moreover, I am very happy when knowing that the staff did show you their friendliness, enthusiasm.

For the food temp, due to the cold weather, the food lost its heat quicker than normal. I did ask the B&B team to control the heat better. Thank you very much for your value contribution.

Receiving such a helpful feedback like yours, we surely improve the service better and better.

Hope that at your next visit, we will receive the maximum point of 5 for the excellent hotel, not just 4 as now.

Wish you all the best.
Regards,

Jay

Director of Front Office
Hanoi Gondola Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
The Palmy Hotel & Spa
#91 of 599 in Hanoi
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#59 of 599 in Hanoi
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#111 of 599 in Hanoi
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#118 of 599 in Hanoi
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 599 in Hanoi
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondola Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Hanh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84 4, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $41 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gondola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondola Hotel in Hanoi is exquisite merging between Italian spirit and Hanoi culture. Right in the heart of Hanoi Ancient Quarters, steps away from Hoan Kiem Lake and all other major sights of the city, this romantic boutique hotel is perfect for leisure and business guests. At Gondola Hotel we provide 40 glamour & elegant rooms where you can retreat into the peace and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. Full fill your enjoyment by dining on delicious Vietnamese and European cuisine at our Gondola Restaurant or relaxing in the stylist roof-top bar while admiring the picturesque panorama of Hanoi. Welcome to Gondola Hotel and allow us serve you with all of our professionalism and enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gondola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing