We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location, excellent staff”
Review of Gondola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gondola Hotel
Ranked #113 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was booked in this hotel by Tonkin Travel (Excellent trip and plan and service) as part of my Vietnam trip at an extremely reasonable cost. I stayed here two nights at the beginning as well as 2 nights at the end of my trip. The rooms were large, comfortable, quiet and with good A/C. The bath room was modern and very well equipped. The breakfast spread was okay but you can get eggs made to order or good Pho.

The hotel is located on a quiet street, very close to the lake, and to some excellent restaurants.

But, the best part was the very helpful staff - at reception as well the breakfast.

I had a small diner after late arrival and a snack next day in the Cielo Bar on top of the hotel. The view is nice and food is okay, but the staff is very limited in English. Better places to eat nearby.

If I am in Hanoi again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: I had room 605 and 405 - nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njG-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 578 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet side street not far from the lake and most of Hanoi's sites. The rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable and compact. Room facilities are very good and the staff is excellent - very helpful in lots of situations. Breakfast offers an excellent variety of food. Internet access is available in the lobby.Mr. Hoang Van Hung went to the trouble of sorting out a problem we had with a tour company we hadn't booked through the hotel and with a taxi that tried to overcharge us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bligh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on March 2013 after booking online from Sydney Australia. The room was quiet, well appointed, large and very comfortable. We stayed for 3 nights and would have come back to stay after our Halong Bay excursion but was told there were no rooms available.
The staff were very courteous and helpful.
I would reccommend this hotel as a convenient and comforttable place to stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the Suite for a little extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Gondola Hotel opened in December 2011 and has 40 rooms (boutique). It is strategically located right in the heart of Hanoi Ancient Quarters, close to Hoan Kiem Lake and all other major sights of the city.

We had the executive room with two twin beds. The room was on the small side, but perfectly suited for our needs. All the amenities were nice, the bed was comfortable, the linens were lovely and the water temp and pressure was perfect; plus they provided two bottles of water daily! Wifi in the room was good and the international buffet breakfast was excellent.

The breakfast selection was really the best we had during our two weeks in Vietnam. I had pho every morning and ordered an omelet which I cut up and placed in the pho. Various condiments allowed me to spice it up a bit, as northern Vietnam food is blander than food found in the central and south parts. I added a mixture of hot chili sauce, ketchup and soy sauce.

The fruit was good (ripe) and the french bread had a perfect crust crunch with a soft interior. Lovely with butter and jam. Every meal ended with a yogurt (to keep probiotics in the system) and the coffee was strong with a hint of sweet. They also had fresh juices and a selection of veggie and rice dishes. Really, there was enough selection for even the most picky eater.

But, what made this hotel so incredible was the staff. Mr. Hoang Van Hung, Operations Manager, was on site, very friendly, helpful, and professional.

The front desk staff (Ms. Huyen, Ms. Hoa and Ms. Ha) were helpful and insightful with helping us navigate the city and by getting us into a great spa (SF Spa) for some pampering. Always with a smile upon their faces, they were willing to answer questions and help in any way possible. Very trustworthy.

The bellman, Mr. Tuyen was extremely considerate. He held our bags for a night when we went to Halong Bay. He was prompt with taxi help and simply opening the door for us was nice. He made us feel safe in and around the hotel.

I would highly recommend this hotel. Great staff, good rooms, quality food, centrally located, and on a side street so away from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gondola Hotel q, Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Warmly greeting from Gondola Hotel!

On be half of Gondola Hotel Team, We thank you very much to take time to give us the comments, so this will be the good chance for us to improve all the service for our customers continuously.
Once again, thank you very much to give us the chance to contact to you and we wish to welcome you back Hanoi

Best regards,

Hung Hoang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This small hotel is located about 300 meters from Hoan Kiem Lake in the old area of central Hanoi. The location is perfect for visiting major parts of the city on foot. The hotel has pleasant, clean rooms and the staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. It is on a side street, which is quiet, and the 9th floor bar/restaurant is a pleasant place to relax with a view. The food served in the restaurant is varied and generally good, while the breakfast is somewhat average. They have very good WiFi.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gondola Hotel q, Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Warmly greeting from Gondola Hotel!

On be half of Gondola Hotel Team, We thank you very much to take time to give us the comments, so this will be the good chance for us to improve all the service for our customers continuously.

Once again, thank you very much to give us the chance to contact to you and we wish to welcome you back Hanoi

Best regards,

Hung Hoang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very well appointed hotel with a very narrow street frontage. Recently renovated and very pleasant staff in reception. Fair Average Quality breakfast. Smallish but very comfortable room on 7th floor. Safe. Free wifi. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel for a trip to Halong Bay. On return had much bigger room on 2nd floor. Close to the lake and to the market areas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JhhDjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gondola Hotel q, Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Warmly greeting from Gondola Hotel!

On be half of Gondola Hotel Team, We thank you very much to take time to give us the comments, so this will be the good chance for us to improve all the service for our customers continuously.

Once again, thank you very much to give us the chance to contact to you and we wish to welcome you back Hanoi

Best regards,

Hung Hoang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great spot to get around as its near old town and lake and shopping rooms very clean and nice large bathrooms, Very friendly staff. Located in a Very cute lane where you get to see the locals go about everyday life and pick up some art.

Room Tip: Great spot for the lake and old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jnamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
Hanoi Morgans Hotel
#59 of 600 in Hanoi
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#53 of 600 in Hanoi
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
Hanoi Impressive Hotel
#43 of 600 in Hanoi
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#61 of 600 in Hanoi
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#26 of 600 in Hanoi
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gondola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondola Hotel

Address: 31 Hang Hanh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84 4, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $40 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gondola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gondola Hotel in Hanoi is exquisite merging between Italian spirit and Hanoi culture. Right in the heart of Hanoi Ancient Quarters, steps away from Hoan Kiem Lake and all other major sights of the city, this romantic boutique hotel is perfect for leisure and business guests. At Gondola Hotel we provide 40 glamour & elegant rooms where you can retreat into the peace and relaxation from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. Full fill your enjoyment by dining on delicious Vietnamese and European cuisine at our Gondola Restaurant or relaxing in the stylist roof-top bar while admiring the picturesque panorama of Hanoi. Welcome to Gondola Hotel and allow us serve you with all of our professionalism and enthusiasm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Gondola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing