We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gondola Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
275
259
61
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
259
61
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoan kiem lakegreat locationold quarterhalong bayrooftop baregg stationtop floorquiet streetbeautiful lakebathroom floorside streetstar hotelwalking distancewater puppet showair connorthern vietnamroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 610 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the Gondola from July 11-15, 2012. We find the hotel very clean and the staff super helpful. We missed our flight back to Manila and the staff helped us arrange for a phone call to the airline's call center in Manila to rebook the trip. A staff member even let me use her cell phone and refused to be paid for it. The hotel is in a great location in the Old Quater-close to the shopping markets,art gallery, good restaurants, the Water Puppet Theater, and Hoa Kiem lake. The hotel has its own restaurant and it makes it very convenient if you don't want to go out and eat. Food is reasonably priced. There is a bar/lounge on the top floor of the hotel which offers a good view of downtown Old Quarter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inday54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Gondola. All the staff were terrific and even those without good English tried very hard. The location in the Old Quarter, not far from the lake, is unbeatable. You wonder about the place when you see the funny little street it's in, but that's Hanoi for you. We were particularly lucky to have a front room with a little balcony, and the largest bed we have ever seen. The room and bathroom were spacious, beautifully appointed, and very clean. The restaurant and bar were excellent, and we had a great breakfast. Do yourself a favour - stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BribieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was recommended this Hotel by a Vietnamese friend. Staff are delightful and helpful. Rooms are great, bathroom great and large. Only downside is no aircon in corridors and small hotel in old quarter very close to Lake but no pool and Hanoi is hot n steamy. Bar/restaurant on top floor, lovely ambience and great food at good prices.

Ok, it isn't a 5 star hotel but it is a very, very well appointed and comfortable 3 star. Clean definitely and beds are so comfy. Truly recommend. We paid US$45 a night which we thought was very good. Oh, breakfast is interesting but also good. They will cook you a little omelette and help yourself buffet. Wifi all over plus free computers in back of lobby.

I booked trips to Nimh Binh and Halong Bay through reception. Unfortunately I chose APT Travel who are oK but only OK. Do try another agent. It's worth paying more to get better, as long as it is better.

Anyway, hotel fab.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

In the old quarter so very close to the lake. It was booked through our tour company. The staff was fabulous! They have a roof top bar and the food is great.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Have recently stayed at this hotel with my partner and have no hesitations in recommending it to anyone else. It is very cosy and well decorated. The staff speak fluent English and are very professional. I love the personal touch and the staff are so friendly. Newly opened it is clean and the bedding is very comfortable., What most impressed me though was the service - nothing was to much trouble and always done with a smile. I wish them well for a long and prosperous business.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews