We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find in Hanoi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Delice

Au Delice
Ranked #1,493 of 2,196 Restaurants in Hanoi
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find in Hanoi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We visited Au Delice for dinner on a Sunday night. The restaurant had a nice buzz and we were offered a seat in the front window, which proved to be a wonderful spot for people watching. Our waiter was a hotel and hospitality management intern and his English was impeccable. We ordered the garden salad as an appetizer and it was deliciously packed full of greens, tomatoes, carrots, cucumbers and crisp pears. For our main course, we ordered chicken cordon blue and pasta with shrimp. Both were flavorful and filling.

As an aside, I was thrilled to know that there is a small takeout shop connected to the restaurant offering sandwiches, deli meats and a wide selection of wine. They even have Pepperidge Farm cookies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodiegirlB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    9
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hanoi
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value in French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I went to Au Delice twice this month and had two excellent meals at very good prices. The first meal was onion soup and the local strip steak in creamy pepper sauce. The soup was good and the steak was excellent, and served with fresh vegetables and "frites". The girl poured very generous glasses of a tasty red french wine. It was all very reasonable. This time I had the hot chicken liver salad which was large and excellent and duck in green pepper cream sauce. Again the wine was generous and the meal very good and very good value. I will probably go again. The staff is young and some training in hospitality at the university. They are friendly and speak excellent English.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
183 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good, French and tasty with respectful adult service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had dinner here tonight at 6:30 and it was full. By the time we left at 8:30 there were three tables being used. It must be a business crowd, but it was Thursday night.

We had the smoked salmon and brie first. The salmon was soft, well smoked and came with capers, onion and a small salad with vinaigrette. Next was the pan roasted scallops and peppers. Intense fresh peppers taste with button sized scallops. Actually it was a very nice dish. Like a ratatouille with scallops. Then we had the pot au feu, or seafood plate and a lamb shank.

The fish/shellfish was excellent while the lamb shank was roasted at too high a temperature and wasn't broken down. Slower roasting would have done that. I enjoyed the flavor but learned that one less dish was enough for the two of us.

We had the Nero wine and liked it. Uncomplicated, but had good chewy tannins, good middle fruit and uncomplicated finish.

To end we had coffee each.

The bill was $88 including vat and tip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Upperny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Went to Au Delice last night for dinner. I had Chicken Cordon Bleu - was fabulous, with a lovely rich creamy sauce with fresh basil. Sauce was not over-powering, so you could savour the ham - so often you don't even taste the ham in this dish in restaurants. Full marks.

My husband had pork chops - a little bit dry.
Both dishes came with vegetables and chips.

The atmosphere is really great - we sat out on the upstairs verandah and watched the world go by.

The service was superb. The deli downstairs is also worth a visit - well stocked with some delicious products.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KerryCleary_1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super bien”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Very good food with affordable price in a french atmospere. Quality service. Nice small epicerie boutique. We will be back soon!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonMarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Delice also viewed

 

Been to Au Delice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing