We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Start!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #42 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What A Start!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

On arrival at this hotel you wonder if you will be able to escape from the chaos and the hustle, which is Hanoi: rest assured the transformation is incredible. From the moment you enter into the air conditioned foyer the transformation is complete.The staff are so nice, but without being overbearing, that you do not want to leave the hotel, you just want to stay and talk. Perhaps the answer is to take them out with you.
The hotel is in a great location with everything you need from the old quarter within walking distance. It is not a big hotel although you would not know that from the rooms which are spacious and wonderfully furnished, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a wide choice of western and eastern cuisine and varied each day.
The real selling point for this hotel is the staff who were magnificent in every department. Alice, who managed the reception managed to organise an over night trip to Halong Bay for three of us, a flight to Hue , a train journey from Hue to Hoi Ann, and change the time, as well as organise our hotel stay in Hue. All of this was part and parcel of their service, we were sorry to leave Alice behind.
The hotels we stayed at in Hue, Hoi Ann, Ho Chi Min and Phu Quoc were all nice but this was the best and a great start to our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saund0_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    139
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
153
530
95
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the best hotel we have stayed in ever.
Everything about it was perfect. I couldn't say anything negative!
The staff were amazing, the room spotlessly clean with an awesome bed.
Breakfast was the best. So much choice.
We really loved our stay and were very sad to leave.
Definatly our 1st choice hotel if we returm to Hanoi.
Thank you Meracus!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelle_suit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeracusHotels, General Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear our distinguished guest,

We cannot say enough to describe the pleasure we have when being nicely supported by you for not only staying with us recently, but also give us such compliments.

On behalf of the whole staff, we are grateful to you for the wonderful comment being presented here, which meaningfully encourages and supports us on our way of development. Reading yours, we know that we are doing the right things and our attentiveness has been well-recognized, and truly, we are touched by you.

In addition, we thank you for recommending Meracus Hotel to the upcoming guests. Your truthful review is valuable not only for us, but for the ones who are looking for a smart choice of accommodation in Hanoi as well.

Accordingly, we keep striving harder in order to improve both facilites and services to the best possible, and your patronage is important for us in deed.

Please feel free to contact us at any time, if you need any assistance for a Vietnam voyage. It’s always our pleasure to be your choice.

Wish you a joyful life with great sunshine!


Your in service,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We recently stayed at Meracus for 3 nights and were absolutely delighted with this hotel. It is in a great location in the Old Quarter, just a short walk from the lake with lots of good restaurants, bars and shops close by. The room was lovely, plenty big enough for a short stay, with a very comfortable bed, great bathroom and a safe in the room (no charge).
The hotel is spotlessly clean and well decorated.
Breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice of dishes freshly cooked.
The highlight however was the staff, who were all incredibly polite, cheerful and helpful.
I cannot fault this hotel and loved every minute of our stay there.
PS: there is also an ATM machine right outside the hotel entrance - very handy and felt safe.

Room Tip: Our room did not have an external window, but was very quiet. Rooms with a window onto the busy stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A lovely hotel in a fantastic location right in the middle of the old quarter.The room was small but beautifully decorated and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The buffet breakfast was excellent, too.

Room Tip: If you particularly want a street view you would need to upgrade, but we hardly spent any time in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Super staff who are incredibly polite, helpful and proud of their professional approach and of their hotel. They tell you not to miss breakfast as it is so good. And it is! Freshly cooked food according to your request in their tiny breakfast room. The decor throughout this boutique hotel is tasteful and the shower is the best. The hotel is ideally located in the lively old quarter close to the calm and beautiful lake, the red bridge and yet with good restaurants and bars nearby.

Room Tip: Note the hotel doesn't have a fitness centre or pool but I couldn't unclick the fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is amazing value. Even if it were twice the price I would still recommend it. Overly helpful and cheery staff, perfect location, great beds and simple clean rooms. Satisfactory breakfast included. Helped us booking a halong bay trip and train ticket without much of a markup. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Situated next to everything: the old quarter, the lake and a lot of restaurants, everything. The staffs are very helpful and gave us good recommendations for going around as well as the tips for local tours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#22 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#26 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing