We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Seasons on a backpacker budget” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #36 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Four Seasons on a backpacker budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Meracus Hotel is simply incredible! From the moment you walk into the hotel you are instantly put at ease - and treated with a glass of fresh watermelon juice!
Your room comes with extremely comfortable beds, a laptop, fresh fruit and some very powerful air con (a real life saver in August).
The breakfast is amazing and it changes daily so you always have something different to try. They do a great job of providing the Western favorites right along with the local Hanoi breakfast staples.
Aside from the beautiful hotel and the great breakfast, it is the staff who really make this place shine. After checking in everyone at the front desk knew our names and was happy to recommend local places for shopping and eating. Also, the location of the hotel really couldn’t be more perfect - we didn’t use a taxi once while we were staying there.
Overall, if you are looking for a fantastic hotel at a very reasonable price - this is the place for you - look no further!
Sending a HUGE thank you (cảm ơn bạn) to all of the staff - you guys are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HSimpson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    135
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
150
526
93
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed twice at this wonderful hotel (before and after a short trip to Halong Bay). Can only repeat/add to the many positives of previous reviews. A few highlights
- Well organized airport transfer
- Warm greeting with cold towels and welcome drinks
- City map highlighting places for sightseeing, restaurants and shopping
- Comfy and nicely decorated rooms
- Amazing shower!
- Delicious breakfast buffet with plenty of choice
- Fresh water bottles every day

The staff was amazing and truly exceptional - they went out of their way to make every moment of our stay special and memorable. Upon arrival our room was beautifully decorated with balloons, rose leaves, candles and a honeymoon cake! On our last evening, we received a lovely thank you card and some rice cakes. The staff always greeted us by name and was always happy to provide assistance - from bargaining tips, to coffee place and restaurant recommendations - whatever you could wish for. This will for sure be the place for us to stay for our next stay in Hanoi!

Room Tip: we stayed in two different rooms and both were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This is our last of 7 nights in the Meracus, and we have been so impressed by this hotel from the beginning. Here are some of the highlights:
-Two days before arrival, they emailed us to let us know that everything is confirmed and ask if they can be of assistance
-Airport pick up was seamless
-Upon arrival, they greeted us with welcome drinks and hot towels and check-in was very quick
-Breakfast is delicious and consists of both Western and Vietnamese food. Plenty of choice!
-the breakfast staff are wonderful: always checking whether we needed anything and helpfully offering filter coffee, bringing our toast when ready and making fresh pancakes
-we also had some really good chats with the staff who are super friendly and sweet and seem to genuinely want to do their best
-we arrived on our anniversary to find a delicious cake, and the whole room beautifully decorated
-you get two 0.5ml bottles of water daily
-the room is very comfortable with plenty of space and the shower has three settings
-you get a helpful map with highlights of the area, dining and sight-seeing suggestions
-on our last night, we returned to the room to find a hand-written 'thank you' card, together with some delicious green rice cakes!

Cannot believe that this is a 3 star hotel! The service is truly world-class!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savi6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Meracus is conveniently situated at a great location for shopping places, restaurants, central lake, and it’s so easy to go to different corners of Hanoi.
Our family room had a nice design with a high comfort and cleanliness. In terms of facilities, it was well equipped with personal laptop and free internet, TV with international channels, safety box and good amenities. Especially, we had complementary daily delivery of good quality of fruit.
Buffet breakfast was nice and delicious with Western style.
As well, the hotel provided a good transportation at reasonable fares from the airport to hotel and back.
The biggest impression to us was the staff’s hospitality. They were very friendly, respectful, helpful, enthusiastic, smiling and professional. At every time we needed, they were so efficient to provide good recommendations of various restaurants and pubs in Hanoi, which really amazed us.
Honestly, we have no hesitation to recommend everybody and anybody to stay at this hotel, you will never regret. Well done, Meracus Hotel team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia8758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is an amazing hotel, with fantastic staff who are extremely helpful and
friendly. We can't say enough positives about this small hotel, it is an absolute
gem of a place. My daughter spotted this hotel when we were staying in another hotel
and asked to change to this hotel. Without even being guests initially, the hotel
staff hospitality was incredible. We received complimentary snacks and refreshments
while they checked if they had a room. The staff all wear 'respect campaign' badges,
a sign that they are passionate about customer service. We travel a great deal, and
this is a superb hotel.

We stayed for our daughter's birthday, and a further two nights and the staff
decorated our room with lots of balloons, rose petals, elephants made from towels and left a birthday cake for our daughter. Their efforts were were outstanding and you could tell that the staff get a great deal of satisfaction and pride from making their visitors happy.

We have never stayed in such a friendly and welcoming hotel, they really do care. They are all such lovely people. Every member of staff greets you and treats you really well. The rooms are fantastic, there's a laptop in every room, the hotel is a lovely boutique hotel, and what's more,
breakfast is really good. It's just around the corner from the water theatre and the
lake.....it's also on shoe shop street ! Perfect.

John and Hermes are just absolutely wonderful, they and all the staff, go out of their way to ensure you really enjoy your stay, and their service is outstanding and second to none. Their customer care and friendliness made our stay in particular. We are very lucky to have found this hotel, it is the best hotel we stayed in in our 4 week stay, and outshines many many
we have stayed in around the world. Do not think twice about staying here, it is an absolute GEM !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhitleysNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice either side of a trip to Halong Bay. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the staff who couldn't do enough to help. We arrived way to early for check in. However, they had our room ready for us after 10 minutes or so, the short wait was made pleasurable by a very nice cold glass of watermelon juice!

Our room was small but functional, it was clean and had everything you would need. It looked out over a small courtyard. The shock for us was the fact that the room had been decorated with balloons, flowers, swans made from towels, and an amazingly tasty honeymoon cake. This was a really nice touch that sums up the hotel and made our trip to Hanoi.

Breakfast in the hotel is very nice. You are waited on hand and foot by the staff who cannot do enough to help with everything from bringing you a cup of green tea to delivering your freshly made omelette. Choice of food is great and caters for all tastes.

The location of the hotel is also great. You're right in the middle of the shoe area and near to lots of great restaurants and also a 2 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody who is traveling to Hanoi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnie1866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

It is fair to say that what this establishment values is the guest experience and from the instant you arrive to the moment you leave, they really do go the extra mile.

There are so many little touches that other hotels ignore or completely forget and due to those little touches, the Meracus is way ahead. Normally I would be writing about how a hotel dealt with queries; unnecessary here as they pre-empt travellers' needs. For example, the cold towel and welcome drink, the introduction to the room and working any devices, including the safe and in-room laptop. My favourite little extra would be the printed weather forecast for the next day.

Practically, the hotel is in the most central possible location at the top of the lake and in the heart of the old quarter. Any restaurant recommendations that you would normally ask the hotel for is bypassed by the hotel's map inclusive of restaurants, 'top sights', a walking tour and highlighted shopping areas, just superb!

In terms of the room, immaculate, the softest mattress during our time in Vietnam (aided by a comfortable mattress topper), a fantastic shower with multi-jets, and a black and white French boutique-style decor that appears to be carefully put together.

I only had breakfast once and that was a good experience, many many options, staff are happy to converse and practise their conversational English and you cannot help to feel compelled to try traditional dishes rather than bacon, sausage and eggs.

Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel, I find it hard to think of anywhere with a comparable welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#20 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#19 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi E Central Hotel
Hanoi E Central Hotel
#9 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing