We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #48 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We arrived at the Meracus Hotel early in the morning, massively jet-lagged and a bit shell-shocked after 12 hour flight with a 3-year-old. We were completely swept by the hotel staff's energy and solicitude. The room was very nice and clean and included a complimentary fruit basket and a laptop with internet access (no FB but I'm sure it could be arranged). The shower was pure bliss.

I cannot emphasize enough the quality of all of the staff. They went out of their way to help us and make our stay as pleasant as possible.

This was our first hotel in Vietnam and it was a great introduction to the country and its people.

Room Tip: If you arrive early and can afford it, book the room a night early so you can check in as soon as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    144
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
162
545
99
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Outstanding welcome, made to feel like VIP guests with welcome drink and cold towels. Lovely touches like rose petals in the basin. Junior suite was roomy and with rain shower and terrace. Five star service with three star prices. Location, right where you want to be, centre of old town, close to Lake and water puppet theatre. Breakfast choice excellent in smal breakfast room with incredibly attentive staff. Great airport pick up and accompanied visit to station to get on the train, at small extra cost. Wonderful service.

Room Tip: We had a 5 th flor junior suite, great value and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinvip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Picked solely from online reviews, my wife and I were initially surprised at the Hanoi Meracus' location in the heart of Hanoi's Old Quarter, literally a stone's throw away from picturesque Hoan Kiem Lake and a five-minute walk to the nearest Highlands Coffee joint that has a view of the city's busiest 6-way intersection, perfect to witness the orderly chaos that is Hanoi traffic.

We arrived in the middle of the night. After about an hour's drive from the airport (transfers arranged thru the hotel), we arrived at the Meracus, the only lighted place in a seemingly endless maze of dark alleys. Little did we know that during the day, this street called Hang Dzau is only one of many where vendors line their wares, from the ubiquitous Pho, to shoes, bags, hats, souvenirs, all the way to custom tailors.

It takes a couple of upward steps from the street to reach the hotel lobby, and before these stairs is a conveniently placed Citibank ATM across the umbrella depository. The lobby is conveniently air-conditioned and quiet, with an expansive waiting area at the back end just across the single elevator.

We requested for a queen size bed for our room, and though the sheets look like it was made for that size, we found out that the bed was actually two double beds put together, so the middle part was hard. It didn't bother us much though, as we could both easily fit on either side. The closet is average in size, and the bathroom is decently-sized. The shower is sort of high-tech in that you need to read the instructions at the back of the door to understand how it works. The room also has a complimentary fruit set (that they replenish daily) in addition to the standard two bottles of water. But get this: a laptop is also part of the room. This was one of the reasons why we didn't bring ours, and it is a convenience we both experienced for the first time. Their broadband internet was fast, and the laptop itself wasn't loaded with bloatware.

Breakfast was the biggest and most pleasant surprise. Despite the small dining area which seats no more than 18 people, the food was downright divine. My only requirement--that there be bacon--was met, and in addition to that, their cooking was top notch, with about 5-6 selections on the buffet table, plus salad and dessert. There are three types of juice, and you can ask for coffee--all part of the breakfast with no extra charge. Honestly, the best meals we had in Hanoi weren't even in the homegrown restaurants, but in the Meracus' breakfast room.

The room's main door is a bit difficult to lock, but is secure once it is. There are no door cards but instead a double-sided ornament which you hang on the door handle. If you do not place the do not disturb sign outside the door, definitely expect people to come in unannounced, whether to clean or replenish something in the room.

As for cleanliness, we didn't see anything unsightly throughout the hotel, and our toilet was sanitized every day (they place a strip of paper on it saying it was). Floors are spotless, walls are clean, sheets are odorless and pillows too (I think these were goose down ones).

The reception staff are very helpful, and most importantly, they understand moderate English. We learned the hard way in Hanoi: very few of the natives speak English, even at the basic level. For reference, the staff in a well-known apparel shop located in Hanoi's largest mall do not understand "please get us new stock of this item" or any other simplified version of that phrase.

I was particularly pleased when I had a gout attack which affected my elbow and foot. They directed me to the nearest pharmacy and constantly asked me how I was doing every time I pass by the lobby.

Overall my wife and I think that our decision to stay at the Meracus was a very good one, and when we do return to Hanoi, this would be the only place we would consider. At our budget (we are newlyweds), we believe that this hotel delivers international standards at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomPuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Meracus Hotel was in the perfect location for the Old Quarter, and Hoan Kiem Lake. As soon as we arrived at the hotel from the transfer they arranged for us, the service was 100%. They provide you with a great map, and also excellent advice on places to eat etc.
We had a family room for 3adults and it was really spacious and nicely done.
Not one of their staff members we could fault, and I think that overall made it an excellent place to stay. If I ever go back to Hanoi, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: We had a family room for husband and myself, and his brother as we stayed here two nights before hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gammie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, perfectly located in the old quarter, just around the corner from the puppet theatre and the lake.

The decor is lovely, clean, sparkly & welcoming.

We were given a free upgrade to a Deluxe room, which had a huge king size bed and a single, with a large bathroom. This hotel had the best shower we've ever found at a hotel, with shower heads coming out in all directions!

Upon finding out that we were on our honeymoon, the staff waited for us to return from our evening out, and promptly upon our return came up to our room with a Happy Honeymoon cake, and big cheers of congratulations! This was lovely and completely unexpected!

Unfortunately we had an early morning flight from Hanoi airport, (an hours drive away) so we missed out on breakfast, but we were given a huge breakfast bag to take with us in the taxi, containing ham & cheese toasty, baguette, salad, yoghurt, fruit, boiled egg & water. We were very happy with this.

We would have loved to have stayed longer at this hotel, as it was just perfect, and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaMulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HungMeracus, General Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear our distinguished guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing Meracus Hotel for your recent stay in Hanoi, and we are highly glad to know that your expectation has been exceeded.

On behalf of the whole staff, we are grateful to you for the wonderful comment being presented here, which meaningfully encourages and supports us on our way of development. Reading yours, we know that we are doing the right things and our attentiveness has been well-recognized, and truly, we are touched by you also.

Honestly, we try our best to feel the way you do, accordingly we would be able to understand what you need for your specific demands, and strive to exceed your satisfaction. Realizing that you had had a long and tiring journey by bus, we affirmed that a free upgrade to a comfortable and well-equipped room with extra space should be a present you deserved for your honeymoon. Cheerfully, you liked it and that makes us very happy to know.

You are so kind also when appreciating every little thing we have done for you, and in fact, it was a pity when you couldn’t stay longer with us, but we know you have had a short but unforgettable time at Meracus Hotel.

Our primary goal is fulfilling every guest’s satisfaction, however, we are not perfect, therefore we keep striving harder in order to improve both facilities and services to the best possible in order to achieve higher level of quality and professionalism. Please share with us everything and anything you suppose it would make us become better, we highly appreciate that.

All in all, we thank you for this incredible support, and are looking forward to welcoming you back not in a distant future.

Wish you true happiness and great life!

Yours in service,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The deluxe double room was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. Air-con was quiet and effectively cools the room in the summer heat. No traffic noise can be heard in the room. however every morning starting at 7:30 a.m. the government radio starts to broadcast loudly through speakers strategically located thru out Hanoi, government propaganda for 30 minutes, can wake you up.
Bathroom is very clean bathroom with complete toiletries, hair dryer, bathroom scale. Rain and jet shower with very good water pressure. There is a laptop computer in every room and free wifi thru out the hotel. Free coffee and tea making facility. Free two bottles of water and fresh fruit platter every day. In room safe and minibar. Same day laundry very reasonably priced.
Buffet breakfast was excellent for such a small hotel (21 or 22 rooms only). Different hot dishes, salads and fruits every day, except for the plain congee and crisp bacon and sausage. There is an egg station and Pho (noodle) station. Several selections of juices. There are five staffs attending to 5 tables only. They serve only breakfast, but one can make room-order for food, which they procure from outside caterers.
Elevator traffic is minimal and fast. They have a resting/waiting lounge and bathroom for people waiting for their departure flights after checkout.
An ATM is right by the hotel's doorstep. Right outside the hotel doorstep you are already immersed in the chaos, confusion and thrill of the Hanoi's way of life. Many places to explore within walking distance of the hotel.
They can help arrange city tour and Halong Bay day or overnight tours at reasonable prices. However private car hire with driver is more expensive than most other South East Asian countries I've visited. Got free one way airport transport for stay of three days or more and the return trip was priced at 18 US dollars.
Overall, staffs very helpful and accommodating, they will provide you with directions, recommendations and run errands. Grocery store and drug store close by, but ask for direction.
Very impressed with my stay. 5 star hotels should learn from them. Will definitely recommend to my friends and families.

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, avoid the superior rooms they don't have window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. Small but beautifully decorated and well kept. Very personal service, what can I say that hasn't been said before. From prompt email responses to questions and help with visa applications, excursions, etc....this is a fantastic hotel, in a wonderful location with an amazing Staff. We will stay there again......

Room Tip: Ask for any room with a view. Even watching the outside market area is good fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynSpecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 588 in Hanoi
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#27 of 588 in Hanoi
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#53 of 588 in Hanoi
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing