We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #53 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I had the great pleasure of staying at the Hotel Meracus for nine nights. As this was our first trip to Vietnam, we felt as though we had enjoyed the best of all possible worlds...the experience of the hectic and exciting daily life of Hanoi and, as well, the warm embrace of the lovely Hotel Meracus. When we returned each day from our long walks, or from our trips to the Perfume Pagoda and Ha Long Bay, we felt like we were coming home. The staff is truly incredible; at all times friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and unfailingly cheerful. The room accommodations were top notch; comfortable, well appointed and very clean. The buffet breakfast offered dishes to please all tastes and the food and beverage staff offered a cheerful "Meracus" start to each day. We sincerely thank everyone at Hotel Meracus for their part in making our visit to Hanoi both memorable and enjoyable. Certainly we will highly recommend Hotel Meracus to anyone traveling to Hanoi and hope that we will have the opportunity to make a return visit!

Toni and Doug
Oakland, California

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HungMeracus, General Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear our valued guests,

It is such an incredible feeling to achieve your beautiful compliments. Since not many guests stay with us for over a week constantly, you have left impressive memories in our minds, which we feel warm and happy whenever thinking of.

Sincerely, we are grateful for not only your choice of Meracus Hotel, but your courtesy and open-heartedness to all of us also. We are absolutely glad to know how satisfied you were and it is touching to hear that you found a home away from home in Hanoi.

Your constructive support is completely priceless and appreciated by every member of Meracus Hotel. Thanks to that, our working spirit is reinforced and we strongly believe that the whole team is able to do it better with the desired purpose of exceeding every guest’s expectation.

Many thanks to you for everything, and we wish you all the best for this year.

Happy Lunar New Year of Vietnam!

Your in service,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose Meracus because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and I'd say it was an excellent choice. I'd give them 5 thumbs up for their impeccable service and cosy room! I simply love their welcome ginger drink..especially in winter time, it's just perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cinteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is awesome!!! The best service I had throughout my whole trip as the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, they even have a laptop in each room to use. The location is excellent, very central to shopping and eating and water puppet show.. Will definitely book here again!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tank29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the time we arrived at Meracus, after being picked up at the airport by the pre-arranged driver, we really felt like VIP's! Bags carried for us and a lovely cup of ginger tea at reception. Our room, a Superior, was small but adequate, clean and with lovely touches like rose petals and a complimentary fruit platter. The bathroom was good too, with the most adavanced multi-nozzle shower I have ever seen.
Breakfast was a good balance of western and vietnamese dishes. I can have cereal any day at home, so enjoyed the pho and various dumplings on offer. On the last day, an omelette, very tasty.
The staff was always welcoming and helpful, and made us feel special every time. They organised our fabulous Halong Bay cruise, including an upgrade, which they did not tell us about and it was a lovely surprise.
The location, fabulous, Hang Dau could be renamed "Shoe Street"!
Only 1 little thing, is that guests in the stairwell that our window opened to, were sometimes inconsiderately noisy, but that is hardly the fault of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Meracus was considerably great and amazing. We stayed at Deluxe room, the room was surprisingly well-equipped, room with an open window where we could have an amazing city view from our room. Staffs spoke fluently English and methodically organzing a great trip to Halong Bay on A Class Opera Cruise. The location was dedinitely excellent in Hanoi center, we approximately spent 5 minutes for almost great attractions nearby. Great hotel and simply amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBUUTER F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We cannot rate the Meracus Hotel highly enough.. It was all perfect- friendly, efficient,warm staff. Rooms very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Food - great variety and delicious. The location of the hotel in Hanoi excellent, close to places of interest, eateries and shopping. Our stay at this hotel made our holiday experience a wonderful memory

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were very excited to stay at the Meracus after reading all the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. It was my partner's birthday and the staff decorated our room with balloons, rose petals and a cake! It was a lovely surprise. Staff were all very kind and helpful and spoke good English.

We loved the view from our balcony. It was generally quite noisy but that was to be expected given the hotel is located in the heart of the Old Quarter and very near to Hoan Kiem lake.

We appreciated the laptop and free wi-fi but the internet connection was quite slow. Bathroom was clean and shower was great. Breakfast was really good with great variety. Congee and pho were excellent.

Meracus Hotel is great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvbluey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HungMeracus, General Manager at Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear our valued guest,

It is truly amazing to read your feedback on this website, and we appreciate every single word you have written about us, both compliment and criticisim.

We are so thankful to you for spending time researching on Meracus Hotel, and we suppose that you have had a good choice for your visit in Hanoi. Not only trying our best to assist you during the stay, but have we cheerfully succeeded in bringing you a astonishment on your partner’s birthday also, as a little special touch to make your stay more memorable and meaningful.

Thoroughly, besides all the good characteristics, we comprehend that there are still certain disadvantages which need to be solved as soon as possible in order to achieve guests’ complete satisfaction. It’s important for our establishment when you share with us the truth!

All in all, we cannot say enough to thank you for your great support to Meracus Hotel, and from the bottom of our hearts, we bid you a warm welcome anytime you go back to Hanoi. It is always our pleasure to serve you at Meracus Hotel.

We wish you a New Year 2013 full of joys, success and prosperity!

Your in service,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#23 of 597 in Hanoi
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#24 of 597 in Hanoi
964 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Noble Boutique Hotel
Noble Boutique Hotel
#57 of 597 in Hanoi
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $37 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing