We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel,friendly staff .Sudden suprise of birthday cake on my bed when i return to hotel room on 27th,july.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Ranked #42 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel,friendly staff .Sudden suprise of birthday cake on my bed when i return to hotel room on 27th,july.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Excellent Hotel,friendly staff ,beautiful enviroment .Tip top recommend for all travellers.good budget rate with 5 star service .Breakfast is wonderful & delicious.location perfect nearby walking street for shopping & foods.hotel staff are so friendly & polite .
on july 27th,when i returned my room,out of sudden that i saw the Birthday cake on my bed .My family & i are so exciting .That why you can observe how good is the management & staff of Meracus hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    139
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
153
530
95
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff were fabulous and the location superb! Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and served our welcome drinks. During check-in, a map was given to us. This provided a recommended walking tour, places of interest as well as locations of recommended food. The staff were always ready to answer any questions be it giving directions to places on the map, recommended places to get titbits, or recommendations on places for meals, they even had the initiative to call our travel operator when we were waiting at the lobby beyond the stated time. Location was great too, just a couple of minutes from Hoan Kiem Lake, good choices of food within walking distance too. Upon booking, the hotel will send an email and arrange for pickup from airport (additional cost), making the transfer hassle-free. Wifi was available in the rooms, lobby and breakfast area, there was also cable TV. Only small grouse is the limited breakfast choice in the basement of the lobby, however, we were so close to alternative food outlets nearby so it wasn't much of a problem.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room as it may get a little noisy since it faces the street. However, quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

When Tripadvisor works, it really does work! We were seduced by the excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. In fact would be unfair to the hotel and the staff to simply say it met our expectations because it far exceeded them.
Our experiences in Vietnam were overwhelmingly positive and we found the service in particular to be outstanding. The Meracus topping our list is in no small way a testament to their polite, friendly and courteous staff who made our stay an absolute pleasure.
We arrived via prearranged transfer, set up by the hotel staff. Upon arrival, greeted warmly with welcome drinks and after a simple check-in process, shown to our lovely room.
It is worth noting that we paid a little extra to have one of the Delux rooms. This gave us a small balcony area with a view down through the trees to the hectic Hanoi streets. Although there was plenty of noise from the street, it didn't bother us in the slightest.
The room was clean and airy, with a huge and extremely comfortable bed.
The hotel is very well located on the edge of the Old Quarter and you can easily navigate toward the lake and beyond. In fact, we did all our sightseeing by foot. We were helped by the cracking little map provided by the hotel which lists restaurants (some excellent recommendations), tourist locations and museums, bars and pharmacies.
Breakfast, served once again by lovely staff, was a mix of continental, asian and western and more than met our needs.
In all, our only complaint was that we weren't staying for longer. This is a fantastic little hotel which offers excellent service, great value and great location. Ignore it at your peril!!

Room Tip: The Delux rooms at the front of the hotel are well worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimnKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed a few nights here earlier this month. I was very impressed with the standard of service delivered by the young and energetic staff. Everything about the hotel was first class including breakfast, the facilities and the very central location in the old quarter of Hanoi. My room was a little on the small size (as usual in most hotels in Vietnam) by was very well equipped and comfortable... I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

After a long flight we received a very warm welcome and nice cool drink on arrival. We stayed in a triple room which was spotless, spacious, had everything you could possibly need. Lovely bathroom. The breakfast was amazing a massive selection and great service.

They helped us with everything we needed, arranging and booking flights, tours and even helped us to the train station carrying all our backpacks onto the train as we left for Sapa arranged for one of the boys to sort out our tickets for us at the train station and the tour was not even booked through them. After our trip to Sapa, they welcomed us back and let us use their facilities including the shower for free even though we were not staying there that day.

Can not fault this hotel, have stayed in many 5* hotels and the service is nowhere as helpful as here. Everyone who works there is friendly and helpful they can't do enough for you. June on reception was wonderful and they all spoke great english.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jade p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was not by chance that we chose to stay at the Meracus in September/October 2012. Having read the overwhelmingly positive reviews of the hotel our expectations were high. Those expectations were too low, however! The hotel was excellent, and I use the word advisably! Every member of its (young) staff was enthusiastic, welcoming and efficient. The de-luxe room in which we stayed was of a very high order, modern, well maintained, and very comfortable. Located in the vibrant, old town and near to the lake at Hoan Kiem, the hotel was an elegant oasis of calm. Its travel desk served us well, helping us, as necessary, with our local transport requirements. They arranged our short, memorable trip to Sapa where our local guide was Ta May, a young (red Dao) lady; she was extraordinarily helpful in our endeavours to understand the reality of life in rural Viet Nam.
We very much hope that we will return to Hanoi and, if we do, our choice of hotel has already been made!

Room Tip: We stayed in De Luxe rooms 401 and 501 which were faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Meracus at the start of our trip around Vietnam and its been a struggle to find a hotel that matches its facilities, staff and location (despite having paid more at subsequent hotels). We were impressed by the friendly & helpful staff, beautiful presentation of the rooms and stylish decor. It'll be our first choice if we visit Hanoi again. Great value for money, can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 2
#22 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#20 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#26 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1

Property: Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Address: 11 Hang Dzau, Hoan Kiem Lake | Old Quarter, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Hang Dau (Hang Dau) street – the famous shoe-shopping street of Old Quarter Hanoi, Meracus Hotel is at convenient place where you just step out and feel the true life of the over-1000-year-old beautiful city. With graceful design of lobby, lounge, restaurant and rooms, Meracus Hotel is the most right place for your relax after hours of working or traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing