We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Time Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
171
61
12
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
61
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall baguettesmall receptionhalong baymassive bedroom was spacious and cleanhoan kiem lakeamazing staffstayed here for nightsold townno elevatorhot showerbooking tourseach morninga great stayfrench quarterlocation is greatvisiting hanoi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 249 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The staff at Golden Time Hostel was superb! Super helpful, always friendly. The location of the hostel is excellent: 7 minute walk to the Old Quarter, down the road from the lake, and close to many local restaurants. We also left our luggage there for two days while we went on the Ha Long Bay cruise, and it was no problem. Alice and May were also incredibly helpful getting us luggage we lost on the flight over here.

Thanks so much Golden Time. We'll miss you May, Tony, Alice, and Phong! Made our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Stayed at both Golden Time Hostel 1 and 2 - both locations have good rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked through booking.com and the hostel emailed us to acknowledge our booking and offer us an airport transfer/help with booking trips. We did not require these services but the emails seemed like a good start.

After returning from a 3 day Halong Bay trip we were dropped off at the hostel. We were welcomed into the lobby, offered drinks and fruit - which we didn't really want. The receptionist insisted we sit down, take off our bags, eat and drink. We had just finished a 4 hour journey and just wanted to have a shower and go out for dinner. We asked directly can we have the key, to be told, 'no because we don't have a room.' I was very unimpressed - particularly so as the moment we arrived at the hotel we weren't told of the error.

We were told not to worry and that we'd got a room in the sister hostel - Golden Time 2. We didn't know where this was or what the place was like, but were assured it was close and is a good place to stay. We asked to go and have a look and were told we couldn't because the room wasn't available until 8pm. At this point I was furious - 8pm was 2 1/2 hours away.

After making it clear that this was not good enough, a phone call or two later resulted in the room being available. We were then told to go singularly on the back of a motorbike to the sister hotel. 'Absolutely not' was my response - the roads are manic and I have a big backpack. A taxi was called for us and to give the sister hostel their due, they did pay for it - we had confirmed that we wouldn't be paying prior to getting in the taxi.

All in all, I am so disappointed that this happened. I take care in researching and finding places to stay that meet our wants and needs and not honouring a booking is just not on.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We only stayed 2 days, but they offered us breakfast, a shower, coffee and helped us with everything arranging our travels to Halong Bay and Sapa... Both times we came home from a trip, we could leave our things at Golden time... We've experienced a lot of great service in Vietnam, but this is without a doubt the best so far!!! Alice was very sweet and the best hostelworker we've come across!

I can definitly recommend this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Exceptional service - the staff (Alice, May, Thanh, Phong and Tony) were great, they helped us out of two particularly tricky situations (one involving overcharging street vendors and the other translating at the police station after a pickpocketing street incident). They were very helpful and friendly, a nice change from other places we have stayed. Really helpful in booking tours, doing laundry, recommending places to go/eat/etc. Great about leaving bags, free water, letting us check out late and have a shower before we leave at no extra charge. Room was clean and nice, as described. Location great, very close to a lot of things. Very good price.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and it had great wifi connection. Outside traffic noises, but you get used to it. A/C great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

we arrived at golden time hostel via the airport pick up which is in average cheap, 15 dollar. the airport pick up accidantly transferred us to the wrong hostel, golden time number 2, but after they found out about the mistake they took us and our backpacks to the right hotel for free. the two girls who were at the reception most of the time, alice and may, were really friendly and helpful all the time. even at the early morning, they would make you smile:) for us as late sleepers, breakfast was brought to the room even after 12am, including egg, bread, coffe or tea, jam and cheese, anything you asked for. the rooms are clean and your bed is made everyday. printing and computer usage is free as well. there was nothing left to wish for in this hotel-come here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews