We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Golden Time Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Time Hostel
Ranked #41 of 450 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

best staff ever.....very helpfull rooms are also very nice and location of hostel is great they can book tours at a good price and do everything for your comfort all the time you walk in the hotel they offer you coffee or tea i felt really comfortable there....back to hanoi back to golden times

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schnaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 244 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Golden Time Hostel for 5 nights, one night more than we wanted due to overnight sleeper trains being fully booked. Book in advance for sleeper trains!

Alice, the staff member who we saw the most during our stay, helped us with pretty much everything; from helping take care of my girlfriend whilst she was unwell, to bringing us food and recommending a company (Fantasea Adventures) for our Halong Bay trip, which turned out to be amazing. Our Halong Bay trip was 2 days, 1 night. We were not charged for the night at GT because we weren't there even though they allowed us to leave our large backpacks in reception until we got back, Alice and the GT staff went the extra mile to make sure we still had a room for when we came back!

There are two Golden Time Hostels, the other one is labelled Golden Time Hostel 2 which is just further down the same road. Don't fret because they are owned by the same company. We preferred number two because the rooms were bigger and there was more room to breath in the lobby.

Some added bonuses are the breakfast (only one choice, but can't complain much when it's free!) that's part of the fixed cost, refreshments including fruit, tea and coffee given as we returned after long days out and giving us a map and pointing out all the things to see in Hanoi.

Room Tip: Highly recommended place to stay for what you get. If you stay at 2, you'll have nice, big rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Alice is the best staff any hostel will want to have. Not only did she arrange things splendidly, she also taught me vietnamese (private language lesson!) and showed me around the city even after she had been off work. She also let me ride on her motobike (xe om) and that was the most exciting experience i had!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a double room for 2 nights. The room was spacious enough, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside was the very small bathroom which was a bit tatty, but you can't argue for the price.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Golden Time Hostel is an amazing value in Hanoi. My husband and I stayed their for three nights in March 2013.

The location is a real selling point. Set on a quiet square it's outside the crazy energy of the Old Town, but within easy walking distance.

The room was one of the most attractive and comfortable we've stayed at during our month-long trip in Vietnam, and one of the cheapest too! The bathroom was nice and extremely clean. The TV and AC worked well. The free breakfast was a real step up from most.

The service was great. Michael, the main concierge, was helpful. As is usually the case they can be pushy to try their tours, but we weren't bothered by it. When we didn't end up using any of them it wasn't a problem. Michael helped us with all of our requests and ended up helping us book our onward train ticket. He gave us a really great suggestion for bun cha (noodles & grilled pork), which I can highly recommend for lunch anytime.

Overall, a really nice stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillybjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

All the staff are really friendly and happy to help with all aspects of your stay. Good breakfast of omlette on a roll. We booked our Halong Bay trip with Peter on the Fantasea and it was a good boat with great staff and tour guide. Always greeted with a smile.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PENNAJ1255438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable and clean hostel in a central location near Hoan Kiem lake and close to the Opera House. The bathrooms were clean and running hot water was available anytime. The staff comprising Tony, David, Alice and Michael were friendly and helpful. Alice especially was kind and helpful and recommended some delicious local Vietnamese restaurants as well as gave us precise directions to the night market and other sights. Wifi strength was excellent in the room. The window doesn't have much of a view, but that is not at all a complaint considering how happy we were with Golden Time. They arranged a taxi to and fro the airport after we requested them to. We would go back to Golden Time if we are visiting Hanoi again and strongly recommend this place. Fantastic value! 

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetraveller5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Golden Time Hostel 3
Golden Time Hostel 3
#47 of 450 in Hanoi
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#99 of 605 in Hanoi
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
0.7 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Time Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Time Hostel

Address: 43 Ly Thai To Str | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 450 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: $20 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Time Hostel is brand new one located in the heart of the Old Quarter, at 43 Ly Thai To street, just by Hoan Kiem Lake, and close to major amenities such as Markets and Restaurants...The Golden Time Hostel is an ideal place to stay in Hanoi city!All our rooms are clean , comfortable and include an air conditioning units, private bathroom inside, cable television,wifi internet, and a refrigerator. We have single, double, twin and triple rooms to choose from. All our price includes breakfast. Our friendly staff can provide tourist assistance and travel services for your convenience.The choice is clear, come stay with us and have a great time in Hanoi. SERVICES:- SE Asian Visas and Visa Extensions.- Domestic and International Flights.- Train and Bus Tickets.- Vietnam Tours (Halong Bay & Sapa).- Motorcycle Rentals.- Airport Pick-up and Take- away.- Restaurant with breakfast.- Internet 24hours for free.- Foreign exchange.FEATURES:- Computers with free high-speed Internet access.- A restaurant providing Western and Vietnamese food delived.- Tour desk with all the information on everything you want to see or do while touring Vietnam. Especially Hanoi and the Hanoi Old Quarter. Our very friendly staff is always happy to book these tours for you.- Laundry service ($1.5 / kilo)FACILITIES:.24 Hour Reception .Internet Access . Mini Bar .Tours Desk .Free Web Access in Lobby .Free Web Access in Room .Free WiFi in Room .Free WiFi in Lobby .Breakfast Accommodation Information All our rooms are clean , comfortable and include an air conditioning units, private bathroom inside, cable television,wifi internet, and a refrigerator. We have single, double, twin and triple rooms to choose from. All our price includes breakfast.Location Information Golden Time Hostel is brand new one located in the heart of the Old Quarter, at 43 Ly Thai To street, just by Hoan Kiem Lake, and close to major amenities such as Markets and Restaurants... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Time Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing